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©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part. 1 ©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part. Online and Mobile Advertising

Online and Mobile Advertising

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Online and Mobile Advertising. Chapter Objectives. After reading this chapter you should be able to: Appreciate the magnitude, nature, and potential for online and mobile advertising. Describe how the online advertising process works. - PowerPoint PPT Presentation

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Page 1: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

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©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Online and Mobile Advertising

Page 2: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Chapter Objectives

After reading this chapter you should be able to:1. Appreciate the magnitude, nature, and potential for

online and mobile advertising.2. Describe how the online advertising process works.3. Understand the various forms of online advertising:

search engine advertising, display or banner ads, rich media, websites and sponsorships, blogs and podcasts, e-mail advertising, mobile advertising, and advertising via behavioral targeting.

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Page 3: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Chapter Objectives (cont’d)

4. Describe the nature of mobile advertising: its forms (e.g., short message services, location-based services), benefits and costs, and strategies.

5. Understand the issues associated with privacy and online behavioral targeting.

6. Appreciate the importance of measuring online advertising effectiveness and the various metrics used for this purpose.

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Page 4: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Mobile Headache: The Excitement and Challenges of Mobile Advertising

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• Mobile ad spending is expected to grow to $2.5 billion by 2014 • Versatile: Moving from SMS texts -> Web -> apps -> games -> social media• Excellent international platform for growth

• Yet…. More apps (e.g., “Angry Birds”) don’t always equal better apps• Fit with company? strategy?• Not IT driven (rather, short 30-day program cycles driven by consumers)• May have to make tough decisions in moving ad spending from traditional

media

Page 5: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Mass Online Advertising

• Internet is not a replacement, but a key element of IMC programs

• Dating back only to 1994, the “Web” has become an important medium for Internet advertising.

• Online advertising spending amounted to over $9.6 billion in 2004 (~4% of all advertising), $29 billion in 2012 (~17% of all advertising), and is estimated to grow to $40 billion by 2014.

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Page 6: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Many Options for Placing Ads and Promotions Online

• Company Websites (e.g., www.nick.com) • Banner ads (click-through rates only .3%; B2B>B2C; brand familiarity; yet

attention?)• Sponsorships and Microsites (small area paid for by external co.)• Rich Media: Interstitials/Superstitials/pop-ups/ online video ads• Browser ads (viewer is paid to watch ads)• Alliances and affiliate programs (e.g., AOL and Amazon; www.there.com)• Push technology (e.g., Real Video; Infogate/AOL)• Search engine advertising (keywords/targeted content; 40% of online ads), blogs (

www.blogpulse.com), podcasts (audio blogs; www.podnova.com ) (Nielsen/McKinsey NMIncite tracks/ analyzes blogs)

• E-mail ads (opt-in versus opt-out; e-zines; wireless; mobile phone/ text messaging)• Mobile Advertising (Google Goggles)• Social Media: Facebook, MySpace, Twitter, YouTube, Second Life, LinkedIn,

Pinterest, Flickr... (www.comscore.com; www.compete.com; www.radian6.com; tracks/analyzes)

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Page 7: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Online Advertising: Benefits and Costs

IndividualizationInteractivityImmediate publishingCost efficiency

User distractionToo many choicesInternational coordinationRapid changeShort lead times

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Page 8: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Figure 13.1: The Online Ad Process

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Page 9: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Purchasing Keywords and Selecting Content-Oriented Websites

Keyword Matching Advertising

Prospective advertisers bid for keywords by indicating how much they are willing to pay each time an Internet shopper clicks on their

website as a result of a search (cost per click). (Google Ad Words: www.adwords.google.com)

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Page 10: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Content-Targeted Advertising

•AdSense: sponsored by Google, this program enables advertisers to run ads on sites other than Google’s own site.

•www.google.com/adsense•Google then acts as an ad agency placing ads and

receiving a commission (e.g., 20%).•Recently expanded to mobile content and RSS

(Really Simple Syndication) feeds used for publication (e.g., a blog entry).

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Page 11: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Types and Sizes of Internet Marketing Units (IMUs)

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Page 12: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Rich Media: Pop-Ups, Interstitials, Superstitials, and Video Ads• Pop-Ups: Ads that appear in a separate

window. • Interstitials: Ads that appear between two

content Web pages.• Superstitials: short, animated ads that play

over or on top of a Web page. • Online video ads: audio-video ads that are

similar to 30-second TV commercials, but are shortened to 10-15 seconds and compressed.

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Page 13: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Websites(advantage: sought by consumer versus stumbled upon)

•Uses for Websites• As an advertisement for the company• As a venue for generating and transacting exchanges

between organizations and their customers• As a link to other integrated marcom communications

•Well-Designed Websites• Are easy to navigate• Provide useful information• Are visually attractive• Offer entertainment value• Are perceived as trustworthy

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Page 14: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Mobile Advertising2015: 4.9 billion phones worldwide; 2014: U.S. ad spending doubles to $2.55 billion

Google Goggles

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Page 15: Online and Mobile Advertising

©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Measuring Internet Ad Effectiveness

(1) How many visited

a particular Web site?

(2) How many people

clicked through a particular web ad?

(3) What are the demographic

characteristics of these people?

(4) What actions were taken following

click-throughs? (and cost per action,

e.g., registration, purchase)

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©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Measures of Effectiveness for Internet Advertising

•Viewers (stay on site/page): number of viewers to a site (and unique viewers)• Ad views/page views/impressions: the number of times viewers see a

Web page with an ad. (Used to calculate cost per thousand or CPM).

•Hits (leave the site or home page): number of times a specific component of a site is requested/clicked on.• Clicks/click throughs: the number of visitors to a site that click on an

ad to retrieve information.• Click through rate: % of ad views that result in an ad click. (Cost per

click (CPC) can be calculated)

•Cost per thousand (CPM) example for “go.com”:• CPM = $10,000 per mo. x 1000 / 500,000 views per mo. = $20

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©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.©2013 Cengage Learning. All Rights Reserved. May not be scanned, copied or duplicated, or posted to a publicly accessible website, in whole or in part.

Internet and E-Mail Advertising Problems• Privacy and Behavioral Targeting (online profiling via

cookies and marriage of online and offline data: Double Click; Children’s Online Privacy Protection Rule)

• Opt-in and opt-out battles• SPAM (unsolicited commercial e-mail: 2/3 of all

commercial e-mail)• Phishing and international fraud (credit card #s, social

security #s, ATM #s)• Click fraud with search engine advertising

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