SXSW Jamie Turner on Social Media ROI

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Jamie Turner, co-author of "How to Make Money with Social Media" presented these slides at SXSW in March of 2011. If you're looking for more information on social media case studies, social media ROI or social media best practices, you'll find it here.

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How to Make Money with Social Media

Jamie TurnerCo-author, “How to Make Money with Social Media”

Chief Content Officer, BKV’s 60 Second Marketer

Hash Tag: #SocialROI

Introductions: Jamie Turner

• Co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media available at fine bookstores (and a few crappy ones, too)

• Worked with AT&T, CNN, The Coca-Cola Company, Cartoon Network and other major brands

• Chief Content Officer of BKV’s 60 Second Marketer

• Regular contributor on Mashable

Hash Tag: #SocialROI

Why People Buy Stuff

Why People Buy Stuff

How People Buy Stuff

Female Brain Male Brain

How the Fortune 500 Make Money with Social Media

Social Media Business Models

E-Commerce: Drive prospects to an e-commerce landing page and convert those prospects to customers

Social Media Business Models

Research: Use social media as a research tool to generate customer input and feedback

Social Media Business Models

Customer Retention: Use social media as a customer retention tool to reduce churn

Social Media Business ModelsLead Generation: Drive leads to a website and re-market to those leads, ultimately converting them to customers

E-Newsletter Email MarketingYouTube Channel

Speeches

Live Events

Virtual Events

Webinars

eBooks

Twitter

Forums

Mobile Apps Blog Postings

Your Company

The Social Media ROI Cycle

The Social Media ROI Cycle

Source: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer

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The 3 Stages of the Social Media ROI Cycle Setting up, running and optimizing an effective social media campaign happens in three stages:•Stage 1: Launch•Stage 2: Management•Stage 3: Optimization

The Social Media ROI Cycle

Source: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer

Launching the Big 4

Stage 1: Launch•Approach: Executional•Focus: Short-Term•Objective: To Have a Social Media Presence•Results: Negligible

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The Social Media ROI Cycle

Source: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer

Stage 2: Management•Approach: Tactical•Focus: Mid-Term•Objective: Customer Engagement•Results: Increased Traffic

Big 4 plus More

Creative

Quant.

Qual.

New initiatives

The Social Media ROI Cycle

Source: Jamie Turner, co-author of How to Make Money with Social Media and Chief Content Office of BKVʼs 60 Second Marketer

Stage 3: Optimization•Approach: Strategic•Focus: Long-Term•Objective: Social Media ROI•Results: Revenue Growth

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New initiatives

Big 4 plus More

Creative

Quant.Qual.

Conversion/ Optimization

ROI

Where is Your Company?

Stage 1: LaunchStage 2: Management Stage 3: Optimization

How to Measure the ROI of a Social Media Campaign

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value

The revenue generated by a customer during his or her lifetime with your brand.

CLV for Scott’s Lawn Care:

$80 per month x 12 months x 3.0 years

CLV = $2,880

Allowable Cost Per Sale:

$2,880 x 10% = $288

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value

Scott’s Direct Mail:

200 pieces x 0.5% = 1 new customer

$1.44 per piece x 200 = $288

Allowable Cost Per Sale = $288

1 customer for every $288 spent

Scott’s Annual Direct Mail Spend:

$2.8 million = 2 million pieces x 0.5% = 10,000 new customers per year

Calculating Customer Lifetime Value

Testing Direct Mail vs. Social Media

$2.8 million x 10% = $280,000 to test a social media campaign

Social media campaign costs:Labor: $140,000

Production: $100,000 Miscellaneous: $ 40,000

Total: $ 280,000

Social media success:

$280,000 spent in direct mail = 1,000 new customers$280,000 spent in social media = ?

What’s Next?

To Learn More, Google “Jamie Turner”

How to Make Money with Social Media now available at fine bookstores (and a few crappy ones, too).

Follow me here:

60SecondMarketer.com/blog

@60SecondTweets

Contact me:

Jamie.Turner@60SecondMarketer.com