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searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Opening New Business
Goal: Get people in store
One Month Later:
124K Ad Impressions
300+ Qualified Visitors
to Site
Cost - $185
Why I Love PPC
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Why I Love PPC
Shows only to these
people !!!!
This Simple Ad…
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Investment in PPC ads is measurable & scalable.
Why I Love PPC
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Why I Love PPC
PPC Allows You More Control over Messaging
Get going quickly.
Discover what words convert (in a “not provided” SEO world).
Manage risk of algorithm changes.
Predictable, dependable flow of traffic.
You write the ads that appear.
You determine what pages visitors first see.
Shows you what keywords convert !!!
PPC and SEO are Complementary
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
•Reach Audiences Worldwide • Any Country • Any Language
• 20+ Billion searches/mo.worldwide
• 67% of all U.S. searchesare powered by Google
World’s Favorite Search Engine
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Google search powers many web properties
Google is default search engine- AOL- Ask- Google Maps- Internet Service Providers (ISPs)such as Xfinity, Earthlink, Verizon, & others.
Where ever Google provides search results, they can also place ads.
More than just Google.com
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
More than just Text Ads
Google places banner and rich media ads across the internet.
• Internet users spend 95% of their timebrowsing /reading website content.
• Google’s display ad network reaches 2 Million+ websites, videos, & mobile appsaround the world.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
A Powerful, Global Online Advertising Platform
Puts full controlin your hands!
• Creating Ads
• Budgeting
• Scheduling
• Targeting
• Reporting
Google AdWords
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Microsoft & Yahoo! Formed a Search Alliance (Jul-09)
The Yahoo! Bing Network
Microsoft’s Bing Search
Powers Bing and Yahoo! natural and paid search results
Microsoft’s Bing Ads
Unified ad serving platform to manage campaigns on Yahoo! and Bing.
** Display ads not included in the alliance.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Huge Search Market
Unique Searchers
Unique searchers on the
Yahoo! Bing Network.
Yahoo! Bing Network
unique searchers that
don’t use Google.
In the U.S.5.6 Billion searches monthly;
roughly 1/3 of all U.S. searches.
163 Million unique searchers
54 Million searchers who are not
using Google
Wordwide489 Million unique searchers
94 Million who do not use Google!
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Puts Full Control into Hands of Advertisers!
• Creating Ads
• Budgeting
• Scheduling
• Geo-Targeting
• Reporting
• Plus….
Easy Import from Google AdWords
Bing Ads
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Paid Search Overview
Keywords:
Ads:
Words & phrases that trigger ads to show
Really, really, short sales pitches in text or images.
Landing Page: The first page people see after they click your ad.
Optimization: Active daily management for all of the above.
Testing & tracking results, increasing conversions,
revenues, and returns on ad spend.
Bids: How much you are willing to pay to show your
ads, get clicks & conversions.
Conversions: Actions taken by your visitors that you want to track
such as leads, orders, downloads, phone calls.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Geographic
Time of Day / Day of Week
Demographic
Device Types & Browsers
Behavioral
Targeting Options
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Where you have an advantage…exploit it!
Improve Ad Position & ROI
Bid By Time zone
Target Areas by Language
Choose Your Battle zones
Geographic Targeting
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Time & Day Targeting
Note: Ad scheduling works differently on Google AdWords vs Bing Ads.
Bing Ads: Scheduling times based on where users see the ad.
Google AdWords: Schedule based on your AdWords account location.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Demographic Targeting
With Bing Ads, you can bid more for your best demographic segments.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
How Do Paid Search Engines Really Work?
● How does an ad get selected?
● Does the highest bid always get the top spot?
● How much does it cost to show my ad?
● What is the best ad position?
Paid Search Auctions
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
How Search Engines Work
You
Search
EngineSchumann Dichterliebe
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
How Search Engines Work
YouSearch
Engine AdvertisersSchumann Dichterliebe CD
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
What is Best Ad Position?
In general, the higher your ads appear, the more
clicks you get and the more you pay.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Your Keywords & Max Bids
User Search Query:
Blue Widgets
Red Widgets $.10
Blue Widgets $.10
Blue Green Widgets $.10
Blue WidgetsBuy blue widgets today.
Free next-day shipping.
www.widgetworld.com/bluewidget
In Your Perfect World...
You're a Winner!!!
CPC = $.10 or less!
Your Ad
Your Site:
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
…this would be a great set of answers.
Ads Competing
Against Each Other
On a search for the color blue…
What Search Engines Want
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
$ 3$ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25$10
$ .30 $ 6
If highest bid determined ad display…
What Advertisers Want
Ads Competing
Against Each Other
on Bid Price
…results may not be quite as relevant.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Quality Score, Bids and Ad Ranking
● Relevancy:
Relationship of Keywords Ads Landing page
The nature of the click
● Historical Performance (CTR):
Keywords
Keywords + Ads in combination
Ad groups, campaigns, account
● Max Bid Price
A Hybrid Solution – Quality Scoring
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Who Wins the Top Spot?
$ .30
$ 3$ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25$6
$ 5
.95
.90
.30
.30
.10
.25 .80
.95
Lets Say Quality
Scores look like this
AD RANK =
QS x Max Bid1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
What Do They Pay?
$ 3$ 1
$ 2 $ 4
$.25$6
$ .30 $ 5
.95
.90
.30
.30
.15
.25 .80
.95
Lets Say Quality
Scores look like this
AD RANK =
QS x MAX Bid1.8 1.21.5 .95 .90
$ .10
$ .96
$3.18
$4.81
$1.68
Lesson:
Write relevant ads and select
relevant keywords.
Bid reasonably.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Getting Started
What is the primary goal of your campaign? ● Leads, sales, brand building?
How do you define success?
● Online vs. offline sales conversions.
● Steps on the path towards sales conversion.
Measure real world actions, not just CTR or CPC!
How do you measure success?● AdWords and Bing Ads conversion tracking.
● Web analytics (Google Analytics, Omniture, Coremetrics, etc).
● How much the phones are ringing.
● Total company sales and profits increasing.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Campaign
Ad Group
Ad 1
keywords
keyword1
keyword2
keyword3
keyword4
.
.
Ad 2
Landing Page
Structure of a PPC Account
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Getting Semantics Straight
Keywords are not Search Queries
Keywords = what you bid on
Search Queries = what users type into a search box
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Keyword Match Types
Match types control how closely your keywords match with a
user’s search query:
Broad Match: Very loose matching = tons of traffic
Broad Match Modifier: Loose, more control = lots of traffic
Phrase Match: Tighter matching = less traffic
Exact Match: Tightest matching = least traffic
Negative Match: Prevents matches, restricts traffic
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Exact Match
Match Type Exact
Syntax [word1 word2]
What it matches to: Queries with only those words
Queries with exact word order
Optionally: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings
(such as wedded, wedding & weddings) abbreviations,
and accents.
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake [wedding cake] YES
wedding cakes [wedding cake] YES
white wedding cake [wedding cake] NO
wedding cup cake [wedding cake] NO
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Phrase Match
Match Type Phrase
Syntax “word1 word2 word3”
What it matches to: Queries with those words together
Queries in that word order
Also matches to: Misspellings, singular & plurals, acronyms, stemmings (such
as wedding & weddings) abbreviations, and accents.
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake “wedding cake” YES
Chelsea wedding cakes bakery “wedding cakes” YES
gluten-free cakes, weddings “wedding cakes” NO
wedding cupcake “wedding cakes” NO
weeding cake “wedding cakes” MAYBE
bride’s cake “wedding cakes” NO
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Broad Match
Match Type Broad Match (DEFAULT)
Syntax word1 word2 word3
What it matches to: Queries with words in any order
Synonyms search engines believe could be relevant
Session-based matches
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Can it Match?
wedding cake wedding cake YES
cakes wedding cake MAYBE
pictures of wedding cakes wedding cake YES
wedding cup cakes wedding cake YES
yellow cake wmd wedding cake YES
hemarroid cream wedding cake YES
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Broad Match Modifier
Match Type Broad Match
Keyword Syntax +word1 +word2 word3
What it matches to: Queries containing those words in any order
Queries must contain word(s) with the + sign
Optionally: Plurals, close variants
User Search Query: Your keyword is: Will it Match?
wedding cake +wedding +cake YES
birthday cakes +wedding +cake NO
pictures of wedding cakes +wedding +cake YES
weeding cup cakes +wedding +cake YES
cakes +wedding +cake NO
hemarroid cream +wedding +cake NO
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Negative Match
Match Type Negative Match
Keyword Syntax -word, or –word1 word2 word3
What it excludes: Search queries containing that literal word
If you want to exclude plurals, add them explicitly.
Optionally: There are Exact, Phrase and Broad match negatives
available (AdWords).
User Search Query: Your negative keywords
are:
Will it prevent the
match
wedding cake -wedding YES
birthday cakes -wedding NO
pictures of wedding cakes -wedding YES
weeding cup cakes -wedding NO
cakes -wedding NO
hemorrhoid cream -wedding NO
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Building Keyword Lists
Start with your own brain
● What words / phrases describe what you are promoting?
● What words do other people use?
● Synonyms, misspellings.
● Words that will bring the wrong people to you.
● Start with keywords that contain 2 or 3 words (aka
terms, tokens)
● Absolutely use your own brand names.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Create Keyword Lists
shepherds
german shepherds
shepherd dogs
pure-bred shepherds
labrador puppies
labradors
black lab puppies
black labs
golden lab
chocolate labrador
brown labradors
black lab puppies
black labs
retreivers
pug dogs
puppies
small pet dogs
lassie dogs
collies
poodles
toy poodles
shitzo
mutts
weiner dogs
irish retriever
sheep herding dogs
pure bred dobermans
pit bulls
vietnamese pot belly pigs
dalmations
dalmation puppies
dalmation pups
golden retrievers
golden retriever
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Organize Keyword Lists
Pull them into smaller, tighter groups:
Labradorslabrador puppies
labradors
black labs
golden lab
chocolate labrador
brown labradors
black lab puppies
black labs
Shepherdsshepherds
german shepherds
shepherd dogs
pure-bred shepherds
Retrieversgolden retrievers
golden retriever
retreivers
Pugspug dogs
pug dog
pugs
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Keyword Tools
Search Engine Tools
Google: Search Based Keyword Tool
Microsoft: Microsoft Advertising Intelligence
Competitive Analysis Tools – Ads & KeywordsAdGooroo SpyFu
Keyword Spy WordTracker
Ispionage
Keyword Manipulation Tools
Rapid Keyword Permutator
WordStream Microsoft Excel
SEOBook Acquisio Broad Match Modifier Generator
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Rapid Keyword Software
This tool will save you hours in text manipulations
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Write Great Ads
Note the Variety of Copy Styles:
1st Person story.
Trusted Authority – “Uses Quotes”
Price Appeal
Convenience - Call 800 #
Get Information – Medical Alert Guide
We’re different from “Them”
Which of these is the best ad?
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Who are you selling to?
Who are you talking to?
Who buys?
Who influences?
Who is it actually for?
What motivates them?
Speak directly to one of these people.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Features:
Timer, Easy to Use, Discount, Affordable
Free Shipping
Benefits:
Organize pills better
Take charge of your health
Keep parents well connected
Are you selling what they're buying?
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Stress Benefits, Not Features
Feature
Benefit
Creative
Benefit
Vibrating Watch Alarm
Get pill reminders even if
you have trouble hearing.
Vibrating pill reminder. Works even
when Mom’s TV is blaring away.
Vibrating pill reminder works even
if Dad’s hearing aid is off.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Tips for Writing Great Ads
Switch from your Left Brain to you Right Brain
Go for a walk Sing a song
Laugh Doodle
· Do not start writing ads in Excel spreadsheets!
· Start with story-telling. Talk out loud.
· Try a “non-verbal zero draft”
· Go listen to your sales team at work.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Writing Great Ads
Headlines
Use keywords in the headline when possible.
Write dozens of headlines, till you find ones you like.
Key Headline Concepts
Save You Money.
Save You Time.
Improve Your Life.
Great Words to Use in HeadlinesFind. Compare. Save.
New. Improved. Easiest. Top-Rated.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Writing Great Ads
@mvanwagner
Ad Copy
Use your keywords in the body copy, too, but don’t stuff.
Same Key Concepts as Headlines
Save You Money.
Save You Time.
Improve Your Life.
Try full sentences.
Use idioms only when appropriate
Avoid gimmicks and overly-idiomatic expressions.
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Ads Designed to Filter Clicks
- Many words have more than one meaning (homonyms).
- You need to clearly identify purpose and intent of your ad.
- You will have fewer clicks, and lower CTR, but you’ll get
more of the right clicks.
Home Care for Elders
Need help with in-home care for
an elderly loved one? Call us.
www.home-care.com
California
Home Care
Experienced with all aspects of
home care. Call us Today!
www.home-care.com
California
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Evaluating Ad Performance
Which of these Ads is performing better?
Lessons: Be wary of small samples sizes.
Measure against conversions, not just click-through rates (CTR).
Conversion Rate: 10.5% Conversion Rate: 2.5%
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Banner and Image Visual Ads
Image Ads Video Ads
Mobile Ads
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Bidding & Budgeting Options
Bidding
Cost Per Click (CPC)
Cost Per Conversion (CPA)
aka cost per action/acquisition
Cost Per Thousand Impressions (CPM)
Budgeting
Daily, Weekly or by Campaign
@mvanwagner
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
How Much is a Click Worth?
How much is a Visitor (click) worth?
What is your site conversion rate now?
What is your offline close ratio?
How does that translate to revenues?
Clicks 20
Conversion % 5%
Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
How Much is a Click Worth?
How much can you afford to pay for each click?
Cost per Click (CPC) $ .25
Clicks 20
Conversion % 5%
Cost Per Conversion (CPA) $ 5.00
Target MAX Bid CPC = CPA / Clicks
= $5.00 / 20
= .$25
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Bid Modifiers
Not every click has the same value.Bid modifiers allow you to bid up or down, depending on:
Device
Location
Time of Day
Retargeting Audiences
Placements, topics, and keywords (GDN).
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Landing Pages
Lobster Bisque?
Master the basics.
Get fancy later.
Any page can be a landing page
Use properly built webpages:
Include Title, Description, Alt Tags, and
spider-able body copy.
Get users quickly to what they
want: no more than 1 - 2 clicks.
@mvanwagner
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Process Creates Sustainable AdvantageIts not just about keywords, ads, bids
Plan on working in a disciplined manner
Use Systems-Level ThinkingAlign campaign goals with larger company goals.
Increase sales, not visitors
Track Performance and Make AdjustmentsBe methodical, measure and test everything you can
Don’t react too quickly, but don’t get analysis-paralysis
Set Good Goals and work towards them
Better PPC Every Day
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Stay Fresh & Keep Learning!
• Books– Advanced Google AdWords 3rd Edition
by Brad Geddes
– http://www.advancedadwordsbook.com/
• Blogs, News Sites
– www.SearchEngineLand.com
– www.MarketingLand.com
– www.thesempost.com
– www.ppchero.com
searchmarketingexpo.com@mvanwagner
#SMX #13D
Resources
• Books
– Winning Results with Google Adwords
by Andrew Goodman
– Pay-Per-Click Search Engine Marketing
in an Hour A Day
by David Szetela & Joe Kerschbaum
with Michael Flores