48
State of the Industry: Mobile Survey Presented April 22, 2010 eMarketer Conference

State of the Industry: Mobile Survey Presented April 22, 2010 eMarketer Conference

  • View
    216

  • Download
    2

Embed Size (px)

Citation preview

State of the Industry: Mobile SurveyPresented April 22, 2010eMarketer Conference

Purpose:Check current vital signs

Look inside the brains of the industry

Help the industry see what’s aheadSo they can plan accordingly

Nearly 1000 RespondentsTotal Respondents

Agencies/ MarketersPublishersTechnologistsAdvertisers/ Brands

341 Agencies, Marketers

115 Brands

194 Technologists

308 Publishers

MOBILE SPENDING TO CONTINUE AT A HEALTHY RATE

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=140 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

33% increase on average25% said greater than 50%10% said greater than 100%21% said 10%

Subtracting those who said 0-1%, only 6% of total respondents are decreasing their mobile budget.

Agencies: By What Percent Will Your Mobile Business Change in 2010?

94% of agency respondents say their mobile ad spend is increasing.

dave gwozdz
Mobile Will Continue to explode94% of mobile markets/agencies will increase their business (need to understand what “increase their business’ means”)

Agency Outlook on Mobile Spending

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=90/118 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

• Agencies reported a 2009 average of$143K.

• 2010 Spend jumped 80% to $260K.

dave gwozdz
i dont understand this

BRANDS SEE IT COMING

Brands: Mobile transactions are just beginning. Less than 10% now

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=34 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

But20% of respondents say more than half their customer interactions are mobile

Brands: Mobile interactions are just beginning. Less than 10% now

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=34 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

But20% of respondents say more than half their customer interactions are mobile

Why Will Brands Increase Spending?

• “We simply want to be where are customers are, and more and more are mobile in both the consumer space and the b-to-b space, so we’ll be building out that mobile presence—in 2010 the focus in on making a compelling mobile Web experience in almost 200 countries worldwide.”

- Jay Dark, worldwide manager of mobile marketing, Hewlett-Packard, Palo Alto, CA

Vast Majority of Brands Predict Rise in Mobile Customer Interactions

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=33 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Higher by an average of 64%

Fewer by an average of 16%

BRANDS• Will Spend to capture potential mobile

customers

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Look for 2010 Mobile Brand Budgets to Double in Aggregate

2009 ($)

2010 ($)

0 100,000 200,000 300,000 400,000 500,000 600,000 700,000 800,000

Q1 Brand Spending Est.

$268,999

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=20 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

$679,744

Where is the spending coming from?

• So…..

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

More than 20% will spend more than 10% on Mobile this year!

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Non-Mobile Marketers N=69 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Non-Mobile Content

Mostly Incremental Spending, But Online Will Decrease for 26%

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=89 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

But online is most likely to give ground to fund mobile marketing.

Newbies

What about applications?

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

More Than Half Developed Apps for Clients

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=136 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Engagement, Branding Lead as APP Deliverables

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=80 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Key Questions Going Forward

• What are my marketing goals and how can mobile help?

• How much do I need to spend to accomplish those goals?

• How do I tie mobile into a 360 marketing plan?

PUBLISHERS:HOW DO WE MONETIZE ALL OF THIS GREAT NEW MOBILE CONTENT?

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Publishers: Mobile Platforms Used

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=127 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Most Mobile Revenue is Ad Supported

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=121 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

dave gwozdz
the next few slides need to prove thatmost content is ad supported.. and most of the inventory is unsold.heavey reliance on ad nets, yet ad netsarent fulfilling the promise yet.. or publisher may not know how to use multiple ad nets effeciently or effectively. better tools are needed

Mobile Most Often Sold Separately

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=94 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

But almost as often it’s bundled or a “value add”

CPM Most Frequent Charging Scheme

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=104 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Pricing Varies Widely

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=67 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

• CPC $.05-$.50• CPA $5-$50• CPM $3-$30• Sponsorship $6-100k/month

Publishers: Seek More Revenue

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=107 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Only 25% of MOBILE Publishers sell out more than half their inventory

MOBILE PUBLISHERS ASKING:

WHAT DO YOU WANT FROM ME?

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=143 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

…demographics received the most “most important” votes.

Suggested: Precision, Measurability, and Timeliness

For Agencies, Context/Content Leads Choice of Most Important Factors in Mobile Media Buy

But How is Success Measured? CPA, CTR Received Most Top Rankings From Agencies;

Engagement Higher on Average

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=143 Agencies Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Agencies: Most Conversions Tracked In-House

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=137 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Others: Unique coupon codes, SMS, Comscore

CPA/CPL Leads in Buying Preference

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Agencies N=135 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

CPC Heavily favored write-in

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Brands N=33 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Content Leads as “Most Important” with Reach Ahead in the #2 Ranking

Brands: What’s MOSTImportant in Your Mobile Media Buy?

For Brands: Content Quality is the Differentiator

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Brands N=27 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Though measuring conversions is buyers’ major pain point, reporting metrics doesn’t factor in selecting a mobile campaign facilitator

dave gwozdz
Brands say the same thing as agencies ( slides 18-24)want top content...yet want to paay CPA and track via CTR!

But Brands Also Track Conversions Via CTR

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Brands N=30 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

THE ROLE OF MOBILE AD NETWORKS

Participate in a Mobile Ad Network

Agencies

Brands

Publishers

0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80

% Yes

% Yes

58.1%

71%

47.9%

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=117, 31, 144 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

If You Use a Mobile Network, How Many?

Agencies

Publishers

Brands

0 5 10 15 20 25 30 35 40

>ThreeThreeTwoOne

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=26, 71, 82 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Ad Nets Account for Nearly 60% of Publisher’s Mobile Ad Sales

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=100 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

But would prefer to sell more through internal sales team….

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=94 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

71.3% Say ROI is higher from internal sales

18.1% say comparable

10.6% say network ROI is higher

PAIN POINTS

Agencies: Metrics Represents Biggest Pain Point, Handset Jungle Not Far Behind

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=131 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

dave gwozdz
Agencies struggle and are conflicted:Say thay want context..great publisher content and demograpics...yetstruggle with ROI conversion tracking and prefert o buy on a CPL CPA

Brands Agree: Mobile MetricsA Leading “Pain Point”

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=30 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Wanted by Agencies: Better Metrics

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 N=136 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Brands’ Wish List: Metrics and Penetration

MOBI SURVEY3/8/10 Brands N=29 Copyright © DM2PRO 2010

Conclusions• Mobile advertising will see healthy spending

increases• Publisher traffic will still continue to out pace

spend• Rich Media and App Sponsorships will help

publishers engage their internal sales• Ad networks will remain critical in food chain

with continued increases in traffic• Better reporting tools, ad units and targeting will

help fuel brands/agencies adoption

What’s next…..• Online brands, networks and players entering the

space quickly• Continued and significant smart phone growth

– Especially Android…..• Uniformed metrics and buy side tools• Better reporting tools, ad units and targeting will

help fuel brands/agencies adoption• Mobile commerce, ticketing and couponing

Thanks!