51
© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016 Jan Zimmerman, Author Web Marketing for Dummies Social Media Marketing All-in-One for Dummies Facebook Marketing All-in-One for Dummies Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing [email protected] 505-344-4230

Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

  • Upload
    others

  • View
    2

  • Download
    0

Embed Size (px)

Citation preview

Page 1: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1

Big Time Marketing on Little Money

Albuquerque SCORE

June 23, 2016 Jan Zimmerman, Author

Web Marketing for Dummies Social Media Marketing All-in-One for Dummies

Facebook Marketing All-in-One for Dummies Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing

[email protected] 505-344-4230

Page 2: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 2

Offline

Old-school

Direct Mail

Sales

Advertising

TV

Radio

Brochure

Online

New-school

Email

Social Media

SEO & PPC

Video

Podcast

Website

PART A: THE MARKETING PLAN Traditional vs. Digital

Page 3: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 3

Let’s Take Our Own Poll How Many Already Have...

• Web site/blog

• Mobile-friendly site

• Press releases

• E-newsletter

• PPC ads

• Paid Banners

• Video & Images

• Marketing collateral (print)

• Direct mail

• Flyers

• Classified ads

• Print display ads

• Radio, TV, other

Page 4: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 4

• What are you trying to achieve?

• leads, repeat customers, sales, visitors offline?

• What objectives can you specify?

• How will you measure success?

• What is your budget?

• How long will it take you to recover your investment?

A Quick Review of Similarities: Marketing Goals & Objectives

Page 5: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 5

• Who will do the work?

• When will they do it?

• Use google.com/calendar or calendar.yahoo.com

• What tools will you deploy?

• What performance metrics will you gather and when?

Marketing Plan Implementation

Page 6: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 6

• Who is your target market (demographics)?

• What media do they use?

• What skills, staff, and other resources do you have available?

• How much time will you allocate to marketing - estimate 2 hours/tactic/week!

• What channels will you use? Try to do only 1-2 major channels at a time.

Strategy & Tactics

Page 7: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 7

New Tools, Old Rules Know Your Target Market

http://www.junctionsolutions.com

Page 8: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 8

Target Your Audience

• by interest area

• by geographical region

• by demographics

• by contextual reference

• by behavior

Page 9: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 9

New Tools, Old Rules: Fish Where Your Fish Are...

Page 10: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 10

The 4 P’s of Marketing

• Product or Service

• Price

• Position or Place (distribution)

• Promotion

Page 11: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 11

Product or Service

• Physical product(s) or service(s) being sold

• Includes packaging, associated services, e.g., tech support

• Use surveys

Page 12: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 12

Price

• Price point for product or service

• Includes discounts, special offers, warranties

• Compare to competitors

Page 13: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 13 13

Position or Place • Where distributed

• When distributed

• B2B vs. B2C

• How customers buy

• Where

• When

• How (catalog, phone, online, in-store)

Page 14: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 14

Promotion • Advertising

• Promotion

• Publicity

• Marketing collateral

Page 15: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 15

What an Integrated Marketing Mix Might Look Like

Social

Media

mobile/website

with landing pages

E-news

letter

Press Releases

Paid Ads

Direct Mail

SEO

Networking

Page 16: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 16

Making Integration Work • Have an overall strategy

• Strong calls-to-action and relevant offer

• Drive prospects to respond online (e.g. QR codes)

• Tie offline to specific landing pages that fulfill the promise of the promotion

• Maintain clear visual connection between channels

• Measure activity to specific landing pages

• Use shortened links or tracking links to see offline results in online analytics

Page 17: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 17

• Expect to invest as much for each new customer as they will spend in the first year

• Costs 7X as much to get a new customer as to sell to an existing one

• Compare using CPM (cost per thousand impressions) or cost per sale

What to Expect for Costs

Page 18: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 18

• Cost Per Thousand Impressions

• e.g., ad costs $500 for 10,000 impressions; CPM = $500/10 = $50

• Allows you to compare costs of different media

• The narrower the target market, the higher the CPM

CPM Lets You Compare All Media

Page 19: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 19

Cost of Customer Acquisition

Page 20: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 20

The Conversion Funnel

People Who See Your Marketing (Impressions)

Visits to Site (5% of Impressions)

2- 4% of

Visits

Prospects

Qualified Leads

Buyers

Page 21: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 21

• Differentiate

• department numbers

• phone extensions

• who to call

• URLs

• Ask how customers heard of you

• Track coupons and sales

Tracking Results

Page 22: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 22

Assessing Success: Google Analytics

Page 23: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 23

Part B: Online Marketing Tactics

Page 24: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 24

Cost of Customer Acquisition Online

Page 25: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 25

No Matter What Tactic: Benefits vs. Features

Features Stack 4 cartons Holds up to 300 lb 6’ x 2’ Heavy duty wheels

Benefits

Save Time!

Save Your Back!

Page 26: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 26

The Biggest 3-Letter Word in Marketing

Page 27: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 27

The Offer: A 4-Letter Word That Begins with

Page 28: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 28

Website > Mobile Site

Page 29: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 29

google.com/webmasters/tools/mobilefriendly

Website > Mobile Site

Page 30: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 30

Must Have: Google.com/mybusiness

Page 31: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 31

• Testimonials > Product Review

• Events > Calendars

• Business Networks > Social Media

Word of Mouth > Word of Web

Page 32: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 32

Testimonials: Yelp Review Site

Page 33: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 33

Events > Online Calendars

Page 34: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 34

Biz Networks: LinkedIn

Page 35: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 35

Biz Networks: MeetUp

Page 36: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 36

Direct Mail… A Few Stats

•78% of ONLINE consumers have provided a company with mailing address information to receive direct mail messages •75% of 25 to 34-year-olds have made a purchase resulting from direct mail.

•42% of direct mail recipients prefer to respond online

•25% of direct mail recipients will only respond online

Page 37: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 37

Direct Mail > Email

Page 38: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 38

Direct Mail >E-Newsletters

Page 39: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 39

Press Releases > Online

Page 40: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 40

• Cast a wider net

• Branding & Loyalty

• Build relationships

• Improve business processes

• Improve search engine ranking

• Sell when opportunity arises

• Mostly free (except for labor)

• Now offer targeted advertising

Pros of Using Social Media

Page 41: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 41

• Requires time (2

hr/wk/channel)

• Difficult to gain visibility

• Not as good for sales yet

• Advertising on social media has lower CTR than other online ads

Cons of Using Social Media

Page 42: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 42

Usage of Social Media

Page 43: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 43

Facebook

Page 44: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 44

Instagram (mobile)

Page 45: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 45

Twitter

Page 46: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 46

Yellow Pages > Directories

Page 47: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 47

Yellow Pages > Maps

Page 48: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 48

TV > YouTube

Page 49: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 49

What You Can Accomplish With Low-Cost Promotion

• Reach a targeted audience

• Integrate with and enhance other promotion

• offline: use your domain name and landing pages on radio, print, tv, packaging

• online: drive traffic to your website, blog, or social media presence with SEO, links

• Achieve synergy with other activities (web, social media, blog, newsletters, flyers)

Page 50: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 50

Exercise • Break into teams of four

• Review the marketing problem

• Define your target audience

• Select 4 offline and 4 online tactics for your marketing mix

• 15” for discussion with your team

• Report results to group 15” total

Page 51: Big Time Marketing on Little Money - Watermelon Web Marketing€¦ · © 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 1 Big Time Marketing on Little Money Albuquerque SCORE June 23, 2016

© 2016 Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing 51

Jan Zimmerman

Watermelon Mountain Web Marketing

[email protected]

(505) 344-4230

watermelonweb.com/resources

Downloads