Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

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Your online presence (whether a website, a fan page, or a content channel) is a strategic way to connect with your audience. The ability to measure interactions, know where your audience comes from and what their preferences are is a key capability if you want to thrive online.Google Analytics helps you achieve a deep understanding of your audience and aids you in developing strategies and tactics to improve your sales, revenues, leads, or whatever you want to achieve online.Once you achieve a good understanding of your site and audience, it's time to drive the right traffic and implement your strategies with a larger audience, using Google AdWords.

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Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online

MarketerElias Dabbas

Abu Dhabi - November 16, 2011

Moving from Offline to Online Marketing

• 5-10 reports

• Sample Size < 3%

•Research = what people say or feel

• Fixed messages changeable every edition

•Unlimited reports

• Sample Size > 80%

•Research = what people are actually doing

•Messages changeable when needed

Offline Online

“Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted”

Albert Einstein

Top-Down Approach

Objectives

KPIs

Metrics / Reports

Example

Objective:

Loose 7kg in 6 months

KPIs:Eating habits

Exercising frequencyExercise progress

Metrics:

Minutes joggedWeights lifted

Chocolate bars enjoyedetc

Types of Websites (Actions)

What do I want

my users to DO?

Media / Content

Articles, videos, photos, news, etc...Usually free content, ad supportedMain goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors

Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value

eCommerce / Transactional

Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate)Qualified leads who contact you become customersMain goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead

Lead Generation

Users create content and share it, you provide the platformCreated content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business modelMain goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing

User-Generated Content / Interactivity

Other Types

Directories Search engines Support websitesClassified Ads

Key Performance Indicators

6 - 10 to be manageableDifferent KPIs for different peopleDifferent KPIs in different frequenciesShown in trends over timeShould be linked to things you can do

KPIs

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Main Online Measures / Metrics

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

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Page Views

Number of times a page was served / “viewed”

heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page

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Number of times an ad was served “viewed”Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)

Ad Impressions

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Visits & Unique Visitors

•Visits:

•Unique Visitors:

Number of times a “session” is started at a site

Number of people (computers) that visited your site

I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor

Example:

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Pages / Visit

Average page views per visitTotal page views ÷ total visits

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Bounce Rate

•Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)

•1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate

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Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

•Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)

•Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR

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Visits per Visitor

• Average times a visitor comes to the site within a certain period of time

• Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor

• Important measure of loyalty

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CPx

• CPC: cost per click

• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions

• CPL: cost per lead

• CPA: cost per action (acquisition)

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Conversions

• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc

• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate

Conversions

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Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

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Campaign Lifecycle

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• Total Spend: $10,000

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR• Conversion Rate• CPM • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

38

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

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Brand

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“Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiencesserved-up by the organization.

The brand is the experience.”

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Who you want to beVs.

What people conceive you to be

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“Discover” Your Brand

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MyCoolTrips.com

mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews

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Content Traffic

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mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews

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ContentTraffic

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5.1B pages of content1 page of search

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Search and Search Partners

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Search Partners

• Search engines using Google technology• Sites having a custom search powered by Google

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• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site

• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…

Content (Display) Network

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Content (Display) Network

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Types of Ads

•Text•Image•Display Ad Builder•Video•Mobile (web)•Mobile (call)

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Text Ads

• Headline: 25 characters• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters• Display URL: 35 characters• Destination URL: 1,024 characters

–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same 5

7

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Image Ads

Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf

Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper

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Display Ad Builder

• Customize your own ad online59

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• Automatic resizing for all available sizes

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Video Ads (Click to Play)

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Mobile Ads – Smart Phones

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WAP Text Ads

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WAP Image Ads

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Account Structure

•Campaigns•Ad groups•Ads •Keywords •Destination URLs•Bids

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AdWords Account Structure

Website1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza

Bids Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

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Account

•One Google account

•Accessible / manageable by several accounts

•Different access levels•Admin

•Standard

•Read Only

•Email Only

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Campaign (Settings)

• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function–Language–Network(s)–Geography–Daily Budget–Device–Scheduling

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Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses

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Geographical Targeting

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Time of the Day / Day of the Week

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Campaign Best Practices

• Use a consistent naming convention–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible

E.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search

EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search

EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display

• Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles

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Ad Groups

• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords

Keywords: used carsbuy used carsused cars for sale used car dealers

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Ad Group Best Practices

• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible

• Always test more than one ad• Make sure you have a good relevant landing page(s) for each ad group

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Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact

string of characters is searched for

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before

or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans,

get coffee beans77

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Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations,

synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop,

coffee shop78

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Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have

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Writing Effective Ads

Ads relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages

Ads Relevant to Keywords

Each ad group should be focused on a topic

Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords

BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for

the userThey are what users care about

Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…

Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefits

Specific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation

Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…

Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users

Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…

AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match

typeTime of day / Day

of week Search / search

partnersContent: automatic

and managedDevicesDemographics

Effective AdsAds relevant to specific

keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in

adsTest different

landing pages

MeasurmentCTRCost per conversionAnalytics Post-click performance

86

Thank You

Elias Dabbaselias@media-supermarket.com+971 55 953 18 26

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