86
Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online Marketer Elias Dabbas Abu Dhabi - November 16, 2011

Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

Your online presence (whether a website, a fan page, or a content channel) is a strategic way to connect with your audience. The ability to measure interactions, know where your audience comes from and what their preferences are is a key capability if you want to thrive online.Google Analytics helps you achieve a deep understanding of your audience and aids you in developing strategies and tactics to improve your sales, revenues, leads, or whatever you want to achieve online.Once you achieve a good understanding of your site and audience, it's time to drive the right traffic and implement your strategies with a larger audience, using Google AdWords.

Citation preview

Page 1: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Google Analytics and Google Adwords for the Online

MarketerElias Dabbas

Abu Dhabi - November 16, 2011

Page 2: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer
Page 3: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Moving from Offline to Online Marketing

• 5-10 reports

• Sample Size < 3%

•Research = what people say or feel

• Fixed messages changeable every edition

•Unlimited reports

• Sample Size > 80%

•Research = what people are actually doing

•Messages changeable when needed

Offline Online

Page 4: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

“Not everything that can be counted counts, and not everything that counts can be counted”

Albert Einstein

Page 5: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Top-Down Approach

Objectives

KPIs

Metrics / Reports

Page 6: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Example

Objective:

Loose 7kg in 6 months

KPIs:Eating habits

Exercising frequencyExercise progress

Metrics:

Minutes joggedWeights lifted

Chocolate bars enjoyedetc

Page 7: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Types of Websites (Actions)

What do I want

my users to DO?

Page 8: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Media / Content

Articles, videos, photos, news, etc...Usually free content, ad supportedMain goal: maximize time spent on site, increase number of visitors

Page 9: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Products, services, subscriptions, etc... Selling products is the main revenue source Main goal: maximize sales, avg. order value

eCommerce / Transactional

Page 10: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Services / products that can’t be sold on a website (architecture, consulting, real estate)Qualified leads who contact you become customersMain goal: maximize leads, minimize cost per lead

Lead Generation

Page 11: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Users create content and share it, you provide the platformCreated content generates traffic, which makes money depending on your business modelMain goal: maximize content generated, viral marketing

User-Generated Content / Interactivity

Page 12: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Other Types

Directories Search engines Support websitesClassified Ads

Page 13: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Key Performance Indicators

Page 14: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

6 - 10 to be manageableDifferent KPIs for different peopleDifferent KPIs in different frequenciesShown in trends over timeShould be linked to things you can do

KPIs

Page 15: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

15

Page 16: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

16

Main Online Measures / Metrics

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

Page 17: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

17

Page Views

Number of times a page was served / “viewed”

heat map, showing the eye fixations on the page

17

Page 18: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

18

Number of times an ad was served “viewed”Same as page views, usually used for ads (usually >1 impression per page)

Ad Impressions

Page 19: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

19

Visits & Unique Visitors

•Visits:

•Unique Visitors:

Number of times a “session” is started at a site

Number of people (computers) that visited your site

I might visit you 3 times this week, but I’m 1 unique visitor

Example:

Page 20: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

20

Pages / Visit

Average page views per visitTotal page views ÷ total visits

Page 21: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

21

Bounce Rate

•Number of single-page visits (visits with 1 page view)

•1-page visits ÷ Total visits = Bounce Rate

Page 22: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

22

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

•Number of clicks on a banner / text ad / link etc. compared to total views (impressions)

•Clicks ÷ Impressions = CTR

Page 23: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

23

Visits per Visitor

• Average times a visitor comes to the site within a certain period of time

• Total visits ÷ Unique Visitors = Visits per Visitor

• Important measure of loyalty

Page 24: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

24

CPx

• CPC: cost per click

• CPM: cost per 1,000 impressions

• CPL: cost per lead

• CPA: cost per action (acquisition)

Page 25: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

25

Conversions

• Conversions: actions you want people to complete on your site. Example: purchases, registrations, download a file, contact us, etc

• Conversions ÷ Visits (or UVs) = Conversion Rate

Conversions

25

Page 26: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

26

Visits

CPA

CPCCPM

Click-Through Ratio (CTR)

Ad Impressions

Unique Visitors

Conversions

Bounce Rate

Page Views

Page 27: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

27

Campaign Lifecycle

Page 28: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

28

• Total Spend: $10,000

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 29: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

29

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR• Conversion Rate• CPM • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 30: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

30

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 31: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

31

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 32: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

32

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 33: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

33

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM• CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 34: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

34

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 35: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

35

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 36: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

36

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 37: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

37

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 38: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

38

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 39: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

39

• Total Spend: $10,000• CTR: 20,000 / 1,000,000 = 2%• Conversion Rate: 400 / 20,000 = 2%• CPM: $10,000 / 1,000,000 / 1,000 = $10 • CPC: $10,000 / 20,000 = $0.5• CPA: $10,000 / 400 = $25

1,000,000 impressions

20,000 clicks

400conversions

Page 40: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

40

Brand

40

Page 41: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

41

“Brand is purely and simply the sum-total of all customer experiencesserved-up by the organization.

The brand is the experience.”

Page 42: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

42

Who you want to beVs.

What people conceive you to be

Page 43: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

43

“Discover” Your Brand

Page 44: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

44

MyCoolTrips.com

mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews

Page 45: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

45

Content Traffic

Page 46: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

46

mycooltrips.com/france: 90,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/spain: 10,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/madrid: 1,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/seville: 1,000 pageviews

mycooltrips.com/cordoba:1,000 pageviews

Page 47: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

47

ContentTraffic

Page 48: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

48

5.1B pages of content1 page of search

Page 49: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

49

Page 50: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

50

Search and Search Partners

Page 51: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

51

Search Partners

• Search engines using Google technology• Sites having a custom search powered by Google

51

Page 52: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

52

• Automated way for publishers to “sell” advertising on their site

• Publishers place a piece of code on pages and Google automates the process of bidding, placement, pricing, payments, etc…

Content (Display) Network

52

Page 53: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

53

Content (Display) Network

Page 54: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

54

Page 55: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

55

Page 56: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

56

Types of Ads

•Text•Image•Display Ad Builder•Video•Mobile (web)•Mobile (call)

56

Page 57: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

57

Text Ads

• Headline: 25 characters• Description Line 1 & 2: 35 characters• Display URL: 35 characters• Destination URL: 1,024 characters

–Destination and display URLs can be different, but the domain has to be the same 5

7

Page 58: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

58

Image Ads

Formats: gif, jpg, png, swf

Sizes: 468 x 60 Banner 728 x 90 Leaderboard 250 x 250 Square 200 x 200 Small square 336 x 280 Large rectangle 300 x 250 Inline rectangle 120 x 600 Skyscraper 160 x 600 Wide skyscraper

58

Page 59: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

59

Display Ad Builder

• Customize your own ad online59

Page 60: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

60

Page 61: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

61

• Automatic resizing for all available sizes

61

Page 62: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

62

Video Ads (Click to Play)

Page 63: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

63

Page 64: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

64

Mobile Ads – Smart Phones

Page 65: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

65

WAP Text Ads

Page 66: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

66

WAP Image Ads

Page 67: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

67

Account Structure

•Campaigns•Ad groups•Ads •Keywords •Destination URLs•Bids

67

Page 68: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

68

AdWords Account Structure

Website1.com

Restaurants

Order Online

Great Deals from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Unbeatable Prices from great restaurants. Order nowWebsite.com/orders

Order foodFood onlineOrder pizza

Bids Destination URLs

Information

Concerts

Rock Concerts

Account

Campaigns

Ad Groups

Ads & Keywords

Page 69: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

69

Account

•One Google account

•Accessible / manageable by several accounts

•Different access levels•Admin

•Standard

•Read Only

•Email Only

69

Page 70: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

70

Campaign (Settings)

• Parameters under which ads/keywords/ad groups function–Language–Network(s)–Geography–Daily Budget–Device–Scheduling

70

Page 71: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

71

Language Targeting

Make sure you only target people who will be able to read your content, watch out for languages that use similar scriptsKeywords may have different meanings (e.g. British vs. American English)Ad text can produce different responses

71

Page 72: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

72

Geographical Targeting

Page 73: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

73

Time of the Day / Day of the Week

73

Page 74: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

74

Campaign Best Practices

• Use a consistent naming convention–Make sure campaign name includes as many useful parameters as possible

E.g. AR-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search

EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Search

EN-Mob-GCC-Used Cars Display

• Separate search and content (display) • Separate PCs and mobiles

74

Page 75: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

75

Ad Groups

• Groups of ads that appear to any of a group of keywords

Keywords: used carsbuy used carsused cars for sale used car dealers

75

Page 76: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

76

Ad Group Best Practices

• Keywords as closely related to each other as possible

• Always test more than one ad• Make sure you have a good relevant landing page(s) for each ad group

76

Page 77: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

77

Keyword Match Types

Exact: [coffee beans]Will only show ads if and only if the exact

string of characters is searched for

Phrase match: ‘coffee beans’Exact string with other keywords before

or after Coffee beans shop, buy coffee beans,

get coffee beans77

Page 78: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

78

Keyword Match Types

Modified Broad Match: coffee +brewSimilar keywords using the same stemBrewing, brewer, brewery, breweries

Broad match: coffee beansSimilar keywords, plurals, variations,

synonymsCoffee bean, great coffee bean shop,

coffee shop78

Page 79: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

79

Negative: -cappuccino Helps make sure you are eliminating content you don’t have

79

Page 80: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Writing Effective Ads

Ads relevant to specific keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in adsTest different landing pages

Page 81: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Ads Relevant to Keywords

Each ad group should be focused on a topic

Ads should communicate messages specifically according to keywords

Page 82: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

BenefitsMain point of interestThey are what your product achieves for

the userThey are what users care about

Examples: feeling good about themselves (loosing 10kg), feeling safe on the road (air bags), securing a good future for your kids (good ROI on investment plan), etc…

Page 83: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Features

How your product helps me achieve the benefits

Specific evidence about your productPoints of differentiation

Examples: 32” screen, 8MP camera, ABS breaks, real leather shoes, etc…

Page 84: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

Calls to Action

Leads user to a specific thing to doGenerates enthusiasm in the momentFilters users

Examples: register now, buy immediately, signup for our newsletter, share with your friends, join the community, etc…

Page 85: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

AdWords Campaign Strategies (summary)

TargetingKeywords GeographyLanguage Keyword match

typeTime of day / Day

of week Search / search

partnersContent: automatic

and managedDevicesDemographics

Effective AdsAds relevant to specific

keywordsFeaturesBenefits Calls to actionUsing keywords in

adsTest different

landing pages

MeasurmentCTRCost per conversionAnalytics Post-click performance

Page 86: Google Analytics and Google AdWords for the Online Marketer

86

Thank You

Elias [email protected]+971 55 953 18 26