The Sacraments The Seven Sacraments (or Mysteries) Definition of a church sacrament Sacraments are the best medicine Some sacraments cannot be repeated

  • Published on

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)


  • Slide 1
  • The Sacraments The Seven Sacraments (or Mysteries) Definition of a church sacrament Sacraments are the best medicine Some sacraments cannot be repeated and are unnecessary for salvation
  • Slide 2
  • The seven sacraments The seven sacraments are the channels where we receive the graces and blessings of the Holy Spirit The seven sacraments are: 1. Sacrament of Baptism 2. Sacrament of Confirmation 3. Sacrament of Repentance/Confession 4. Sacrament of Eucharist 5. Sacrament of Unction of Sick 6. Sacrament of Matrimony 7. Sacrament of Priesthood
  • Slide 3
  • Each Sacrament has been directly instituted by the Lord Christ 1. Sacrament of Baptism Most assuredly I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God Most assuredly, I say to you, unless one is born of water and the Spirit, he cannot enter the kingdom of God (Jn 3) 2. Sacrament of Confirmation If anyone thirsts let him come to Me and drink. He who believes in Me, as the Scripture has said, out of his heart will flow rivers of living water. But this He spoke concerning the Spirit whom those believing in Him would receive; for the Holy Spirit was not yet given, because Jesus was not yet glorified (Jn 7: 37-39)
  • Slide 4
  • Now when the Apostles who were at Jerusalem heard that Samaria had received the Word of God, they sent Peter and John to them, who, when they had come down, prayed for them that they might receive the Holy Spirit. For as yet He had fallen upon none of them. They had only been baptised in the name of the Lord Jesus. Then they laid hands on them, and they received the Holy Spirit (Acts 8:14-17)
  • Slide 5
  • The Holy Spirit was received by the laying of hands, but when the number of believers increased, the Apostles were unable to keep track of each individual to lay upon them their hands in order to receive the Holy Spirit. So they made the Myron out of certain oils mixed with spices for priests to anoint the newly baptised.
  • Slide 6
  • 3. The Sacrament of repentance/confession The time is fulfilled, and the kingdom of God is at hand. Repent, and believe in the gospel (Mk 1:15) If you forgive the sins of any, they are forgiven them, if you retain the sins of any, they are retained (Jn 20: 21-22) 4. The Sacrament of the Eucharist Take eat, this is My Body. Then He took the cup, and when He had given thanks He gave it to them, and they all drank from it and He said to them This is My Blood of the new covenant which is shed for many (Mk 14:22-24)
  • Slide 7
  • 5. The Sacrament of the Unction of the Sick - He said to His disciples, Heal the sick, cleanse the lepers (Matthew 10:8), and, Whatever city you enterheal the sick who are there (Lk 10:8). - Js 5:14-15 6. The Sacrament of the Holy Matrimony - Jesus blessed the Sacrament of Matrimony by attending the wedding of Cana of Galilee, where, He manifested His glory and His disciples believed in Him (Jn 2:1-11) - St Paul spoke at length concerning marriage
  • Slide 8
  • 7. The Sacrament of Priesthood - The Lord Jesus Christ chose His twelve disciples and apostles (after prayer). He said to them, I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit, and that your fruit should remain (Jn 15:16) - Matt 18:18 Whatever - Jn 2:23 If you forgive
  • Slide 9
  • Definition of a Church Sacrament The Church Sacrament is an invisible grace we receive by practicing a visible rite, and a visible sign or substance performed by a priest. 1. In baptism water is used to receive the second birth 2. In confirmation oil (Myron) is used to receive the Holy Spirit 3. In confession the confessing person prays the absolution to gain forgiveness of sins
  • Slide 10
  • 4. In Communion, bread and wine are used to eat the holy body and drink the holy blood. (Invocation) 5. In the Unction of the Sick, oil is used to receive physical and psychological remedy. 6. In Matrimony, the bride and groom receive prayers so the Holy Spirit dwells upon them and unites them in body and spirit. 7. In priesthood, the priest accepts the laying of the hands to gain the grace for starting church services communion, confession
  • Slide 11
  • Sacraments are the best medicine! Sacraments provide physical medicine, preventative medicine (Myron - evil, Matrimony- adultery), curative (Baptism original sin, unction of the sick)
  • Slide 12
  • Some sacraments cannot be repeated and are unnecessary for salvation - Which three sacraments are unperishable, i.e. they cannot be repeated? - Which three sacraments are unnecessary for eternal life?
  • Slide 13
  • The three sacraments that cannot be repeated are: - Baptism - Confirmation - Priesthood The three sacraments that are not necessary for eternal life are: - Marriage - Unction of the Sick - Priesthood


View more >