52
KILLINEY ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA 1 Killiney Proposed Architectural Conservation Area Character Appraisal and Recommendations December 2010

Killiney Proposed Architectural Conservation Area · KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA 2 1) INTRODUCTION Many of the towns and villages of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown contain

  • Upload
    others

  • View
    5

  • Download
    0

Embed Size (px)

Citation preview

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

1

Killiney Proposed Architectural

Conservation Area

Character Appraisal and Recommendations

December 2010

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

2

1) INTRODUCTION Many of the towns and villages of Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown contain areas which exhibit a

distinct character and intrinsic qualities, based on their historic built form and layout. This

character is often derived from the cumulative impact of the area‟s buildings, their setting,

landscape and other locally important features developed gradually over time. These

areas are an expression of our culture and our identity and contribute significantly to the

quality of our lives. These areas will continue to develop and change but their special

character is of great value and worthy of protection.

The Planning and Development Act, 2000 for the first time provided the legislative basis

for the protection of such areas, known as Architectural Conservation Areas, or ACAs.

Under Part IV of this ACT, an ACA is defined as a place, area, group of structures or

townscape, taking account of building lines and heights, that :

is of special architectural, historical, archaeological, artistic, cultural, social or

technical interest or value, or,

contributes to the appreciation of protected structures.

A wide variety of areas can be considered for designation as an ACA. For example, an

ACA could be centered on an individual building, or a terrace of houses and it may be rural

or urban. ACA designation forms the basis for policies to preserve or enhance an area and

provides an element of control over the external appearance of buildings, which make a

positive contribution to the character of the area. Planning controls are more extensive

with exempted development limited. Any works that in the opinion of the Planning

Authority would have a material effect on the character of an ACA require planning

permission.

Retaining the special character of an area is best achieved by managing and guiding

change on a wider scale than the individual structure. Hence, the objective of the ACA

designation is to guide change within an area and ensure that future development is

carried out in a manner sympathetic to its special character.

It should be noted that the ACA designation is distinct from protected structures

designation, although protected structures may be located within the ACA area. Protected

Structures are subject to separate procedures and requirements under the 2000 Planning

and Development Act (as amended).

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

2

2) AIM OF STUDY The Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Development Plan 2010-2016, Section 11.3.13

Policy AR10 on Candidate Architectural Conservation Areas states:

“A number of Conservation Areas were identified in the previous County Development

Plan. The Council is committed to assessing these areas to determine if they meet the

requirements and criteria for re-designation as Architectural Conservation Areas.”i

The initiation of the Killiney study arises from the „Second Programme of ACA Formation‟

approved by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council on the 24th May 2007.

Proposals for the designation of Killiney ACA were first put on display as Draft Variation

No. 14 of the County Development Plan 2004-2010, from 20th April to 28th May 2009. The

Managers Report was brought to Council on 6th July 2009 and following discussion it was

agreed to not adopt the Manager‟s Report and to start the public consultation again to

include an extended area of land bounded by Military Road, Seafield Road and Killiney Hill

Road.

The Department of Environment, Heritage and Local Government guidelines for planning

authorities produced in 2004 entitled „Architectural Heritage Protection Guidelines for

Planning Authorities‟ sets out the recommended approach in designating an ACA. These

guidelines, in conjunction with the policy set out by Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County

Council, were employed during the setting out of the study aims and objectives.

The primary aim of this study is to:

• identify the special character of Killiney ACA.

• to set out conservation and planning policies which protect its special character

and which will guide future development,

• to inform owners/occupiers and developers of the type of work that would require

planning permission.

The Killiney area has been deemed to have special interest. Accordingly it is proposed to

re-evaluate the existing Conservation Area within its existing boundary to determine the

extent of additions and/or omissions that might be deemed necessary to reconstitute it as

an ACA and, to establish a more comprehensive designation. It is also proposed to

examine the areas adjoining the existing Candidate Architectural Conservation Area to

determine the extent to which it is necessary to make omissions and additions in order to

establish the final boundary.

This report presents the re-evaluation as required by the various legislative enactments

and proposal for its re-adoption as an ACA. It has been prepared by a multidisciplinary

team from the Conservation Division of the Architect‟s Department, and the Economic

Development and Planning Department.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

3

3) THE STUDY AREA From the outset it must be understood that there are two distinct „Killineys‟, one to the

north of the Hill and one to the south. This study area is of the existing Candidate

Architectural Conservation Area and its environs, and the extended area between Military

Road and Seafield Road. The area is located 13.5 km southeast of Dublin City Centre

and 3.7 km south of Dún Laoghaire. It lies to both sides of Killiney Hill Road and is

contained by Victoria Road to the north and the Irish Sea along its eastern boundary with

Seafield Road to the south. Its western boundary runs along back garden boundaries and

generally includes the housing areas around St Georges Avenue, Killiney Avenue, part of

Glenalua Road and Killiney Heath. Significantly the Candidate Architectural Conservation

Area excludes Shanganagh Terrace.

Killiney is a residential area that has an undisputed reputation as being amongst the most

exclusive in the state, with high‐end property values underpinning this exclusivity. The

appeal of the area is certainly the unique architectural and landscape character that

evolved over the last 200 years, notably large classical villas, built mainly in the Victorian

period, set in heavily wooded gardens.

Existing Candidate Architectural Conservation Area

The existing Candidate Architectural Conservation Area boundary is shown in County

Development Plan 2010-2016 Maps 7 & 10, accompanying the Plan and is shown in

Appendix 1 of this report.

Proposed Architectural Conservation Area

The proposed Architectural Conservation Area (ACA) boundary (shown in Appendix 2)

contains a large portion of the present Killiney Townland and smaller parts of the Mount

Mapas and Roches Hill Townlands. The Townland boundary differs from the Parish

boundary. Whereas the existing Candidate Architectural Conservation Area boundary

adequately contains most of the architecture of the nineteenth century that establishes the

essential character of the Killiney Hill area, it is considered essential to include the Killiney

village area which was inextricably linked with activities lower down the hill over its

formative years. Equally the inclusion of Shanganagh Terrace in this ACA, an entity that

makes a direct contribution to the character of the area, is essential. The area between

Military Road and Seafield Road is also now included. However, it is not considered

appropriate to have Killiney Heath included within the ACA, (being a twentieth century

development).

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

4

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

4) PROTECTED STRUCTURES & RECORDED MONUMENTS

Many structures located within the proposed ACA are included on Dun Laoghaire‐

Rathdown County Council‟s „Record of Protected Structures‟, contained in Appendix C-

Schedule 1 of the County Development Plan 2010-21016. The inclusion of these

structures on the record, affords these structures protection under the Planning and

Development Act 2000 (as amended). Under this Act, the obligation to preserve a

protected structure applies to the structure and any element of that structure which

contributes to its special architectural, historical, archaeological, artistic, cultural, scientific,

social or technical interest.

Record of Protected Structures Location Structure Name Description RPS No.

Killiney Hill Road 1-7 Killiney Hill Cottages House Terrace 1647-1652

Fernside House 1669

Cliff House House 1668

Ilerton (The Neale) House 1664

The Grove Nursing Home* (incorrectly listed in Schedule 1 as being on Strathmore Road

House 1672

Hamp House House 1766

Stonehurst House 1760

Rose Cottage House 1713

Druid Lodge House 1692

Killiney House House and Outbuildings

1661

Templeville House 1890

Martello Tower Tower 1703

Killiney Avenue Clonard Lodge and Entrance Gates

Gate Lodge Entrance Gates

1699

Carrig Brae (formerly Killiney Town Hall)

House 1698

Druid Hill House 1694

Steeplewood House House 1702

Kilmore Avenue Kilmore House House 1685

Marino Avenue East Eirene House 1709

Galleen House 1707

Kildoon House 1718

Killeen House 1721

Saint Leonard House 1716

Summerhill House 1701

Winterslow House 1723

Marino Avenue West Abbeylea (Australian Embassy, formerly Marino)

House 1714

Ard Einin House 1710

Lucca (formerly The Chalet)

House 1706

Military Road Ash Hurst House House 1749

Kilmarnock (formerly The Cenacle)

House 1750

Killacoona (Society of Holy Child Convent)

Original Building 1745

1 Marine Terrace - Lotherien

House Terrace 1736

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

5

2 Marine Terrace - Eversley

House Terrace 1735

3 Marine Terrace – Aghern or Roseneath

House Terrace 1734

Mentone House 1737

Abbeylands -Rosscahill House Terrace 1725

Middle Abbeylands House Terrace 1724

Abbeylands East House Terrace 1722

Church Avenue Saint Alphonsus & Saint Columba‟s Church

Church, Presbytery and Ballybrack Old National School

1719

Seafield Road Avonmore House 1759

Seacroft House 1764

The Red House House 1763

Shanganagh Terrace

1 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1742

2 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1741

3 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1740

4 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1739

5 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1738

8 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1733

9 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1732

10 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1731

11 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1728

12 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1727

13 Shanganagh Terrace House Terrace 1726

Station Road Victorian Villa, The Court Hotel

Original Building 1697

Strathmore Road Undercliff House 1681

Saint George‟s Avenue Carrigrenane House 1665

Kenah Hill House 1670

Saint George‟s House 1663

Victoria Road Camelot Gate Lodge (Note: Arch also a Protected Structure)

1646

Ayesha Castle Castle 1659

Vico Road Mount Eagle House and Outbuildings

1644

Protected Structures within the proposed ACA are indicated in solid orange on the County

Development Plan Maps 4, 7 & 10, however, this does not define the full extent of the

protected site. By definition, a protected structure includes the land lying within the

curtilage of the protected structure and other structures within that curtilage and their

interiors. The notion of curtilage is not specifically defined by legislation, but is understood

to be the parcel of land immediately associated with that structure, the landscape setting

within which the structure stands and which contributes to the structures essential

character.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

6

Killiney has a modest archaeological heritage represented by those structures listed in the

table below. These structures are protected under the National Monuments Acts. A

number of structures included in Schedule 2, are also defined as Protected Structures.

These structures are protected under both the National Monuments Acts and the Planning

Acts.

The following table is taken from Appendix C- Schedule 2 Record of Monuments and

Places of the Dún Laoghaire Rathdown County Development Plan 2010‐2016.

Note: The RMP is accompanied by a set of maps on which monuments are designated

by a relevant reference number and denoted by a circle defining a Zone of

Archaeological Potential. ii

Record of Monuments & Places

Map Location RMP No. Classification

May Contain Protected Structure

07 Killiney Hill Road DU026‐011 Martello Tower Yes

07 Killiney Heath DU026‐010 Megalithic Structure Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013001 Church Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013002 Graveyard Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013003 Inscribed Stone

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013004 Holy Tree Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013005 Font Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013006 Cross Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013007 Cross Yes

07 Marino Ave West DU026‐013008 Ecclesiastical

Enclosure

07 Strathmore Road DU026‐012 Battery Yes

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

7

5) SOCIAL DEVELOPMENT As the fundamental objective of the proposed ACA, is to seek to protect the unique

character and special historic values of the designated area; it is therefore necessary to

first determine the historic basis for its selection and the significance of the special

character. An historic review of any area must therefore recollect briefly on the earliest

historic periods as commitments in the landscape, which will invariably have had some

residual effects on the later and more important historic periods.

Ecclesiastical origins

There is archaeological evidence of pre‐

Christian activities in the area, with the

discovery of some ancient artifacts but no

conclusive evidence to their actual origins.

Stone coffins and urns of baked clay were

excavated in the grounds north of Killiney

House, in approximately 1784. A stone

circle on the high ground near the Martello

tower known as The Druids chair is said to

have it origins in a Neolithic portal tomb

later to become a pagan temple, and there

is a suggestion that a ringfort existed near

the old church on Marino Ave West.

However the earliest tangible remains are the ancient church on Marino Ave West.

Whereas the ruins have been dated from the eleventh century, the site is reputed to have

been occupied from the sixth century as a religious settlement dedicated to the Daughters

of Lenin. The name Killiney is derived from the Irish, Cill‐Inion‐Leinin, which translates as

“the church of the daughter of Lenin”. (Lenin was the patron Saint of this site in the 6th

Century). The church site, located on a significant

landscape feature at the junction of the wild

territory to the north and the more fertile

lands to the south, would have been an

ideal habitation site with views over the

Shanganagh Vale to the south and the Irish

Sea to the east. However, the geographical

area the site commanded would not be

considered wealthy in agricultural terms,

with the topography of the Killiney area

behind being wild and stoney.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

8

The circular topographical features surrounding the church are noted as being typical of a

small ecclesiastical enclosure that would certainly have had its origins in an earlier ringfort

type settlement. It is likely that there were clusters of the rudimentary dwellings occupied

by the indigenous people (associated with the religious site) in close proximity, this being

part of the territory of the people of Cualann. It certainly was a feature of sufficient local

importance that it was attached to the Priory of the Holy Trinity (commonly called

Christchurch) with a considerable amount of the surrounding territory nominated to it.

“Before the English invasion, the lands of Killiney had been given to the Priory of

the Holy Trinity, and subsequently they were confirmed to it, with those of Kill‐of‐

the‐ Grange, by the ecclesiastical and lay authorities.”iii

The Medieval Period The Church of St. Lenin, remained in use until the seventeenth century when it became a

ruin, however for in excess of 800 years, it existed as a significant influence on this

locality. Its connection with the Priory of the Holy Trinity (commonly called Christchurch),

endured for that period surviving the 1169 Cambro‐Norman invasion of Ireland that

brought new social and political organisation and the imposition of the feudal system on

the territory subjugated by the invaders. This was a period of much change particularly as

the east coast lands were seized by the invaders and redistributed to subjects of the

crown. The church had a special position where its bishops held land as equals to the

lords of the realm.

“In 1178 the church and town of Killiney were confirmed to the parish of the Church

of the Holy Trinity, by Archbishop O’Toole”.iv

The Priory of the Holy Trinity was endowed with considerable land holdings that included

not only those at Killiney but extended over to Murphystown as far as the foothills of Three

Rock Mountain. The Priory farm was at Kill‐of‐the Grange and was a centre of local

administration and employment.

Referring to the Killiney lands, Ball notes that:

“They were included in the Manor of Kill‐of the‐Grange, and, in spite of their rocky

and sterile character, they were inhabited, in the fourteenth century, by John Milis,

and many cottagers, who were bound to do "divers works" on the home farm of the

Priory, and who contributed fifteen reapers at harvest time.”v

After 1218 Talbot de Malahide became secular overlords of much of south county Dublin,

excepting the lands specifically granted to the Priory. The lands of to the north of Killiney

Hill were in the Parish of Kill and were subsequently let to the Mapas family who

established their main residence at Rochestown House while the lands south of the hill,

excepting the church lands, were granted to the Goodman family, English settlers, who set

up home at Loughlinstown Castle. The significance of this is that this study area lies

entirely within these church lands excepting for the inclusion of a fringe of Mapas land to

the north.

A small settlement existed at the current Killiney village. Its residents would have

supported themselves by seeking casual work from not only the Priory but also the

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

9

Goodman and Mapas estates. Residents would have supplemented their incomes by

fishing off the beach at the bottom of the hill. There is no evidence remaining of any

dwellings associated with the ecclesiastical Killiney Church lands further to the south.

Post Medieval consolidation The final acts of integrating Ireland into a British state, the military subjugation and the

displacement of the native elite by a protestant and British landed class, was the catalyst

for a dramatic social and economic change. By the end of the 17th century and during the

mid years of the 18th century a new age of peace and prosperity emerged. The defensive

architecture of the Tower house gradually gave way to lavish and palatial houses in

planned landscape settings, prompted by the Reformation that was transforming Europe.

With repeal of the penal laws and the emergence of a burgeoning professional class The

Hill at Killiney, a wild and wonderful landscape (and being so near to Dublin), was an

obvious target for those wealthy merchants who aspired to the grandeur of such a

picturesque setting. The topography played a significant role in determining the future

landscape.

The direct road from Dalkey to the south traversed the pass between Killiney and Roches

Hill. The road follows the contours along a high ridge as it eases its way past the steeply

falling ground to the south. The first investments of this new age for Killiney were “Lodges”

built on the elevated west side of the road where they could achieve ease of access and at

the same time enjoy the magnificent views over Killiney Bay.

19th Century development The end of the eighteenth century saw a few notable new dwellings established. Samuel

Lewis, in 1837, in his “Topographical Dictionary of Ireland” notes that:

“Killiney and its vicinity are favourite places of residence, and several pretty villas

and rustic cottages have been erected for such as may take up their abode here.”vi

In addition to the principal dwellings, associated with the estate lands to the north and

west of the church lands, were Loftus Hill, (Killiney Castle) Laughlinstown House, and

Ballinclea.

Lewis lists eight significant dwellings on or in the vicinity of the church lands including

Killiney House. These houses would be expected to reflect the architecture of the late

Georgian period and would certainly have elements of structure from eighteenth century

buildings. The following are the houses that represent this early period that are in the

larger geographical area covered by this study. Some are outside the recommended ACA:

Killiney Park, This house was sold for development in 1965 and demolished,

its lands approximate to the present Killiney Heath Estate.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

10

Killiney House – Killiney

Hill Road.

This is possibly the most significant

dwelling on the southern side of the hill.

There is evidence held by the Gaynor

family who were in possession of this

property before the end of the

eighteenth century that suggestes it

was the residence of the principal

landowners of the parish. The house

came into the Gaynor family through

the marriage in 1819 of Anna Maria

Sherwood to Col Bryan Gaynor. Anna

Marie‟s father was a John Sherwood,

probably son of Thomas Sherwood,

who had married Anna Marie Domville,

daughter of Sir Compton Domville in

1787. This must be the same house

that is mentioned in her dowry as

Killiney Manor House with:

“252 acres of townland in Killiney

including the Killiney Manor

House, three villages, castle ruins

and two parish churches”vii

These are most likely the church lands

to the south of the Mapas estate that

are noted by Sherrard in 1787 as being

held by a Mrs Domville, together with

Ballybrack, Shanganagh and Killiney

Villages.

Photographic records show the house

in its evolutionary stages, the earliest

taken from a sepia print in the late

nineteenth century and before the

current façade was built probably

around the turn of the century. There is

a suggestion that this could have been

a coaching house in its early days.

Original House 18th

century Remodelled House 19th century

20th century house

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

11

Kilmarnock House, on Military Road, called Haldene Grange in 1897,

Pearson notes:

“situated originally on about nine acres. Dating from about 1830, the original house

was greatly enlarged around I860 by the Right Hon. David Fitzgerald, when a whole

new series of spacious rooms and a grandiose Italianate facade to the front were

added. The hipped roof with its bracketed eaves, projecting porch with its balcony, and

all the stucco enrichments are typical of the work of architect Charles Geoghegan, who

designed the additions. Kilmarnock belonged to the Talbot Crosby family of Ardfert

Abbey, County Kerry, until the 1940s. More recently it was known as the Cenacle

Retreat House, during which period a large residential block was built to the rear"viii.

Druid Cottage – Killiney Hill Road.

Druid Cottage, on Killiney Hill Road, is a bit of a mystery as that name has disappeared

today but was likely the forerunner of one of the present houses near the Druid Circle.

Name changes were often made to reflect the improved circumstances of the structure, a

cottage becoming a house or villa. The most likely candidates for this, are Druid Lodge or

its neighbour Templeville, both of whom are shown to exist prior to 1810 in the vicinity of

the Druid Circle.

Martello Farm, Millitary Road.

Later called Martello House (1837 OS). Whereas this structure started life as a farm

building type enclosure, that was shown on the Roques map in a generally similar position.

The name Martello suggests that it became a significant residence around the time of the

construction of the adjacent military facility (acquiring a related name).

Ballybrack Grove (now Ballybrack House), Millitary Road, and Saintbury,

Kilmore Avenue.

Saintbury is now semi-detached property with Lynwood to its east. Lynwood is

contigouous with the building shown on the 1837 OS map and noted as being Saintbury,

suggesting a name transfer. Ballybrack House is illustrated below.

Ballybrack House Saintbury

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

12

Marino (now called Abbey Lea), Killiney Hill Road Lower.

A predecessor of the current house was built around the same time as the Martello Tower,

which is higher up the hill. It was noted on the Tower drawings as „The New Marino‟.

Referring to the present house Pearson notes that:

“A plaque on the wall records the fact that

it was largely rebuilt “this house was built

by Lawrence A. Waldron 1909”. Arts and

Crafts'‐style house with wide‐mullioned

windows which have small leaded panes of

glass. It is roofed with small slates and has

dormer windows. The entrance has

elaborately carved brackets and is built in

the form of a projecting bow. In the garden

there is an attractive octagonal gazebo

with round‐headed windows of coloured

glass. It is now the residence of the

Australian ambassador. The original house

was occupied by a Joshua Cheator, or Abbey Lea

Chaytor, who owned a substantial amount

of land in Killiney.”ix

Killiney Hill Road remained the only north‐south thoroughfare until the Vico Road was

extended in the 19th century and a network of other roads built to improve permeability as

more building sites were opened up. From the middle of the nineteenth century and for the

next fifty years there was an explosion of development works on the Hill. A map analysis in

the following chapter demonstrates how this late 19th century development boom laid

down the landscape pattern that exists today and that is much valued.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

13

6) PHYSICAL DEVELOPMENT Any commitment in respect to the development of the physical landscape is invariably

recorded on maps. Killiney Hill is well represented with a series of records starting from

John Roques Map of 1757, the estate maps of the Deans of Christchurch and the

Mapas Estate through to the series of Ordinance Surveys from 1837 to the modern

1/1000 series. This analysis follows each map of relevance to this study starting from the

earliest, Roques 1757.

JOHN ROQUES MAP – 1757

John Roque‟s map of 1757 shows Killiney as a place largely unchanged since medieval times. The map shows the road that follows the line of the present Killiney Hill Road carrying through to Ballybrack, noted as “Brackens Town” and passing “Killynee” church. There is a property shown to the north of Killiney Hill noted as “Capt Malpas”. There is an obelisk shown on Killiney Hill noted as “Roche‟s Town Obelisk”. A Bath House is shown on the site of the present derelict Tea Rooms on the beach. The map graphically illustratesthe

contrast of landscape character ‐between arable and wilderness (the latter category applying to the totality of the study area). Two buildings are shown a short distance down the hill road from Killiney village. The building to the west approximates the current position of Killiney House, however the other building further down to the east, has no counterpart on the 1837 Ordnance survey map, other than Saintbury which is proportionately much further down the hill. These buildings are not shown on the later Taylor map (1787). It is likely that these buildings are workers cabins that have disappeared over time.

Roques map is misleading in that the Hill Road is shown running directly through

Ballybrack to Loughlinstown. It was well known that this road runs directly to the river ford

at Shanganagh Castle which is confirmed by the arrangement of early walling and field

boundaries.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

14

MATHEWS MAP – 1767

This map was surveyed by T Mathews, the City Surveyor, for the Dean of Christchurch, in

1767. This map provides little information other than confirming the size and boundary of

the church holding that stretched from Hackettsland in the south northward to Roches Hill.

Only one significant building is described, the ancient ruined church.

TAYLOR AND SKINNER MAP – 1787 The Taylor and Skinner map surveyed in 1777 and published in 1787 shows the main road

from Dalkey to Bray as traversing the pass between Loftus Hill and Roches Hill heading

south. This route passes by a house called Mount Druid that is nominated to a Mr Wilson.

This is certainly the same Peter Wilson, mentioned by Ball, as having retired from

business in Dalkey and built "a neat lodge" near the ruined church and in 1785, discovered

stone remains and burying‐place. The site for this house must surely have been near the

Druids circle, however the house named Mount Druid in the 1987 OS map, now called

Calezar, (located opposite the Martello Tower on Killiney Hill Road), does not show on

either the 1810 Longfield Map or the 1837 OS map. This could be of course the result of a

name transfer from an earlier structure further up the hill to the present 19th century house.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

15

THE SHERRARD MAP 1787 (South East part)

The Thomas Sherrard map of 1787, an inventory of the tenancies on the Mapas estate of

the time, is a remarkably accurate record for this period, for the territory north of the

Killiney parish lands. The Mapas family who were the proprietors of Rochestown House for

a number of centuries, built a house on the north western slope of the Hill and called it

Mount Mapas in 1740. This was obviously a speculative venture as it was on the rental

market within a short time. A text in Falkiner‟s “Dublin Journal”, offered:

“Roxborough, formerly called Mount Mapas, containing 150 acres of land enclosed

by a stone wall and a new well‐furnished house of six rooms and two large closets on a floor with offices.”x

The house, which was to eventually evolve into the present Killiney Castle, appears to

have been occupied in 1755 by a Capt Maunsell who before his death in 1765 assigned

his interest to the then Colonel the Hon. Henry Loftus, M.P. for Bannow who, on his

accession to become right Hon. Henry, Lord Viscount Loftus of Ely with interests

elsewhere disposed of the Loftus Hill lease.

In 1778 Killiney Castle was occupied by a Mr. Medlicott, and subsequently by a Mr.

Minchin. The Hill was, in 1790, taken by Lord Clonmell, who built a Deerpark, the southern

boundary of which appears to coincide with that of the former Victoria Castle, (within the

study site).

The Sherrard map shows the site of the present Killiney Village site as divided into

tenanted plots. Plot 50 with four „cabyns‟, a garden shed and meadow, let to Andrew

Mullin. Adjacent, to the north, Widow Curran has Plot 48 with two cabyns and a field while

to the south and lower down the hill, Plot 56 includes the site of the present Killiney

House and was let to Joseph Sherwood with House, offices and fields.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

16

LONGFIELD MAPS ‐ 1810

1 2

These maps are a more detailed version of the Mathews map (made 43 years previous).

The first map is more in the form of field notes while the second is the final presentation

version. These documents can be considered to be highly reliable in that many of its

features such as entrances to houses on the Hill Road are arranged exactly as they are

today. Structures of significance confirmed by this map includes Killiney House, Killiney

Lodge (now demolished) and replaced by Ballycarbery, Merton Lodge, also demolished,

Glenfield probably the forerunner of The Grove, Templeville House, Druid Lodge,

Marino, and Rose Cottage. Other structures appear in the vicinity of Laragh, Clonard

Lodge and Susquevannagh Mews however there is no trace of these on the 1837 survey

and cannot be confirmed as still existing today.

In respect to Templeville, Pearson notes

that:

“This is one of Killiney's few Georgian‐style

houses, and is historically interesting for

once having been used as a church.

Indeed, a curious feature of its chimney

stack is a small, arched opening which may

once have housed a bell. Church services

were held here until the opening of St

Matthias Church, Ballybrack, in 1835. The

house is a five bay, two storey, non‐basement residence with dormer windows.

The interior exhibits typical late georgian

features such as a narrow cornice and six‐paneled doors.”xi

Its next door neighbour Druid Lodge is

certainly of similar vintage and the rear wing

displays all the same Georgian features

internally.

Templeville

Druid Lodge

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

17

The Military Road and the defensive features of the Martello Tower (No 7) noted as being

on Tarrong Hillxii, and the Battery (No 8) on the Strand, noted as being near the Lime Kiln,

were completed in 1805.

Martello Tower from Road 19th Century site map

The Taylor Map 1816

The Taylor map of 1816 indicates only significant features such as the military defenses

added in 1803‐5, Killiney Hill Martello Tower and the Strand Road Battery, with the new

Military Road to the south. Also it shows the new Deerpark enclosing most of Killiney Hill

and attributed to the works of John Scott, Lord Clonmel, who leased Killiney Hill in 1790. A

cluster of buildings, the homes of the local workers, are shown in the hollow between the

latter and Rochestown Hill to the west. A further group of buildings are shown at the

intersection of Killiney Hill Road and Military Road and in particular Martello Farm is

shown to the south of Military Road. This was later to develop into the Martello House that

appears on the first edition OS, 1837. The name Carrigmuleen appears, though no

building is marked. A house of this name appears on later maps in the same location.

There would certainly have been more domestic buildings on the middle section of the Hill

Road at this time than are shown on this map.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

18

FIRST EDITION ORDINANCE SURVEY MAP ‐ 1837 Whereas the Roques and Taylor maps can only be relied upon to give an approximate

indication of conditions at the time of surveys, the 1837 Ordinance Survey (OS) first

edition maps provided an exceptionally accurate view of the local landscape as it existed

at that time. These maps and their successors are therefore given precedence over other

records.

Significant about this map and its predecessors is that all development follows the Hill

Road. None of the additional road infrastructure that we have today is present except the

Vico Road. There is no railway at this point, nor any development of the lands adjacent to

the sea. Field boundaries are shown between the road and the sea that appear to indicate

some form of organized agricultural activity. As the land is not really suitable for tillage it is

probable that these features were for the containment of livestock as this was generally

still open country. The record of the death of the Duke of Dorset in 1815 in a hunting

accident is testament to this.

“During the first part of the nineteenth century Killiney was still open country, as the

fatal accident, in 1815, to the Duke of Dorset—the stepson of Lord Whitworth, the

Viceroy of the time—while hunting on its lands,”xiii

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

19

All maps agree on the site of the ancient burial ground on Marino Avenue. There is no

dispute either with regard to the early origins and position of Killiney village in the pass

between Killiney and Rochestown Hills. While the OS map indicates the presence of a

Pagan Temple there is no earlier cartographic evidence of the presence of this, however if

it had been an ancient passage grave as alleged, it would have not been given any

importance in earlier survey records.

This first edition Ordinance Survey in 1837 provides information of other significant

residencies that have appeared up to the time of that survey, that straddled the turn of the

century. These are additional dwellings to those mentioned by Lewis, and the foregoing

text. Most significant are:

• Buildings in the Killiney-Ballybrack townlands lower down the Hill includes

Desmond enlarged and now called Padua, Percy Lodge, Rathleigh, Saintville,

Rosetta, including its gate lodge - Martello Cottage, and Marchington now

Evergreen Lodge.

• Buildings in Mount Mapas-Rocheshill townland, in the enlarged study area to

include Killiney village, includes St Helena later called The Peak, Killiney

Cottage, successor to the structures on the Widow Currans plot in 1787, called

Plasnewyyd. Willmount, Ivy Cottage, and Woodbine Cottage, are all built on the

plot that was let to Andrew Mullen and identified in the Sherwood 1787 map.

• Buildings outside the Killiney townland but within the original Conservation Area

includes Victoria Castle, and Mount Eagle. Mount Mapus Cottage, and the

Gate Lodge now Camelot and finally, Derrynane Lodge, later called Glenalua

Lodge, is on the south side of Roches Hill.

The foregoing evidence certainly suggests that the dwelling houses shown on the 1837

map represent the first phase of the transition of the study site into a highly desirable

residential area.

The origins of the first wave of dwelling construction commenced in the study site early in

the second half of the eighteenth century undoubtedly inspired by the high amenity value

of the rugged and picturesque landscape and southern aspect with magnificent views over

the Irish Sea. This metamorphosis was augmented by improved transportation

infrastructure, in particular the new railway that opened up access to the wealthy merchant

classes now emerging from Dublin City, looking for lifestyle improvements.

There is little doubt that this new interest enhanced development values on what was

previously marginal agricultural land that in turn inspired a second wave of development

with the earlier lease holders taking profits by making subdivisions. This has been the

trend up to the present day.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

20

ORDNANCE SURVEY MAP – 1897 (red line boundary refers to the original Candidate

Conservation Area Boundary) During the period between the 1837 and the 1897 surveys, the Killiney Hill landscape

experienced its most dramatic changes. The road pattern that we have today was laid

down and in excess of seventy substantial houses were erected.

Aside from the arrival of the railway, the presence of Robert Warren as the owner of

Killiney Hill estate (at the beginning of the 19th century), is possibly the defining moment

for the development of this whole area. An unprecedented plan to develop the entire

eighteenth century Deerpark was drawn up for him by architects Hoskin & Son around

1840.

Hoskin & Son, drawing

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

21

The development proposal subdivided the Deerpark into a variety of terraces and single

dwelling numbering about 160 plots. The proposal would have been a feat of civil

engineering considering the difficult terrain however the project was abandoned when the

lands were sold into public ownership. The only elements of that plan that survive today

are the Victoria Castle, Mount Mapas Cottage and Mount Eagle that were in‐situ before

the plans publication. A fine arch structure was built as part of the gate lodge, now known

as Camelot, on the entrance avenue to these three properties in 1853. This subsequently

linked up with the Vico Road that was constructed parallel to the new railway line.

This extension of the Dun Laoghaire to Dublin railway made the Hill even more accessible

and thereby facilitated further development.

The substantial building period established the architectural character that defines present

day Killiney, a character that is valued and the reason that its protection is considered

important. Rather than examine these dwellings in isolation it is now proposed to continue

this study in respect to the contribution these dwellings give collectively to the character of

the area.

Ayesha Castle 21st C view Ayesha Castle 19th C view

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

22

7) CHARACTER APPRAISAL The primary objective of the formation of an ACA is to protect the architecture and

landscape character of an area, because, its distinct character and intrinsic qualities based

on the historic built form and layout is perceived to be of value culturally. The study so far

has provided the basis for making an informed assessment. It gives us a detailed

knowledge of the physical and social evolution of the study area and thereby reveals the

character differentials of the component parts, and permits us to define them as separate

character areas (map of Character Areas shown in Appendix 3)

The final part of the study is to look at each character area and determine the value its

contribution makes to the objectives of the ACA and to conclude if the area should be

included or excluded from the ACA. A study of architectural character requires an

appraisal of the different types of buildings within their setting that helps to build up a

picture of its character identifying the prevailing scale, design and materials of its

buildings. The public realm, and the roadways, present an additional and unique visual

experience that is much valued, that falls into the landscape category rather than

architectural.

The instant impression of Killiney is a place of roads flanked by individual properties in

large heavily wooded gardens surrounded by high stone walls. Killiney is a very private

place with the majority of the most significant buildings within gated enclosures where,

there are very clear boundaries between the public and private areas. This first impression

conceals important architectural characteristics from public view.

There are two obviously distinct territorial

divisions, The Village at the top of the

Hill Road and the general residential

areas lower down. However the study

reveals that there are less obvious

character differentials within these two

main divisions. These are listed and

studied hereafter:

• Killiney Village, • The South East slope • South Village Extension • North Village extension • Glenalua Road • Marino Avenue East • Killiney Heath, • Shanganagh Terrace • Station Road 10. South-East Slope Extension 11-13 20th Century Infill

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

23

1. KILLINEY VILLAGE Killiney village lies at the highest point of the Hill Road in the hollow between Killiney and

Roches Hills. Whereas it is not included in the present CACA there is little argument that it

forms an identifiable visual and focal point for the ACA and should therefore be included. It is

the meeting point of a number of communication lines, a place where, besides being at a

roads junction a number of walking routes converge. The pedestrian link through Claremount

Road connecting the two hills, though not well flagged, is particularly important.

The village though unique and distinctive is modest with one shop and one pub. The latter

The Druids Chair, formerly The Victoria Hotel, while being a well known landmark is a rather

modest two storey edifice that has lost most of its 18th century past through suffering

piecemeal modifications to its architectural features.

The village is more extensive than that part visible from the Hill Road. The fine grain that

establishes its essential character extends upwards and to the west along Talbot Road

towards Glenalua Road and Claremont Road. A network of pedestrianised laneways exist to

give an attractive permeability that has its origins in the 18th century, when the site was

subdivided into small plots for the cabins that housed the workers serving the local land

owners. This is a classic estate village setting where the houses of the estate workers cluster

outside the high wall of the grounds of the main house, in this instance Mount Mapas estate,

now Killiney Hill Park.

This character was reinforced during the mid to late 19th century with the construction of the

artisans cottages on the east side of the Hill Road that certainly represented an upturn in the

villages fortunes and economic wellbeing. These redbrick cottages are a most notable and

attractive feature whose visual appeal is threatened by haphazard alteration.

The dominance of traffic and parking submerge any potential of the village to be a most

attractive place. Policies have been recommended in order to safeguard the historic and

aesthetic value of the Village core and the sympathetic replacement of insensitive additions

will be a core policy objective. This area has been recommended for inclusion within the ACA.

2. THE SOUTH EAST SLOPE Central to the ACA are the various large villas and other detached dwellings in large

landscaped gardens that lie on the south east slope of the hill and constitutes the entire

central zone. There is little argument as to the contribution of this group to the establishment

of the ACA.

The overriding character of this area and its visual appeal comes from its physical diversity, a

result of over two centuries of organic growth. There are no formal building lines, no set rules

with regard to plot size, layout or architectural style. The area up to the middle of the twentieth

century was self regulating and the result is a visual expression of the cultural values of the

people whose lives revolved around the immediate area. This area has been recommended

for inclusion within the ACA.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

24

An analysis of the development trends to the present time illustrates the following

observations:

A. The area is exclusively residential,

B. There are a range of plot sizes, that can be classified as follows

i. The largest, Strathmore at 3.5 hectares, (8.85 acres).

ii. A small group of about ten plots, between 1 to 2 hectares, (2.5 to 5 acres), that

includes for example, Mount Eagle, Ayesha Castle, to the north, Summerhill

and Bramblings in the middle and Kilmarnock and Ashurst at the Military

Road end to the south.

iii. A substantial group occupy plots between 0.5 and 1 hectares, (1 to 2.5 acres).

This group includes Mount Mapas House and Gorse Hill at the north,

Carrickmoleen and Fortlands in the middle and Rathleigh and Mentone

again along the Military Road.

iv. There is another substantial group between 0.1 and 0.5 hectares, (0.25 to 1

acres), examples being, Curlews and Kinvarra to the North, Druid Lodge and

Templeville in the middle and Rose Cottage and Winterslow House to the

south.

v. A final group of small dwellings are on plots of less than 0.1 hectares, less than

0.25 acres. Examples being, Woodmancote and Fernside Mews to north,

Padua and Oakdene in the middle, while Lucca and Abbey Lodge lie to the

south.

C. There is a variety of architectural styles, excluding the 6th century church ruins:

i. Georgian,the prime example being Templeville House.

ii. Victorian, there are a wide range of revivalist styles, in particular the Italianate

and Gothic expressions, best examples each being, Illerton and St Georges.

iii. Arts and Crafts, this category is centered on the group of eight houses on

MarinoAve East with other isolated examples such as Druid Lodge on Kiliney

Ave and Carrigreine on St Georges Avenue.

iv. Contemporary, building continues today and recent examples include

PaddockWood and Hendre.

This all demonstrates the diversity of distribution in terms of size and style and the random

nature of site selection, the underlying determinant of both the architectural and landscape

character. It should be noted that some of these sites are outside the recommended ACA.

The spatial quality of the public realm is established by the relatively narrow and winding

nature of the road network with a predominance of high stone boundary walls. Intermittent

and random openings afford glimpses of the landscapes beyond, invariably composed of

roofscapes set amongst a dominating canopy of mature trees. These roads show certain

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

25

distinguishing features that are worth separate mention.

Killiney Hill Road Central to the SE slope is the Killiney Hill Road, the original spine that facilitated

communication between Dalkey and Bray. It is a narrow steep winding country road that has

not changed much over many years. The overall visual character is sylvan in nature

punctuated by low density development in a well defined road corridor contained for most of

its length by random stone walling. While some of this walling is of modern construction long

stretches that date back to the 18th century can be identified.

While its overall architectural character is 19th century, this road has a number of earlier

dwellings, mentioned previously, representing the Georgian period that were improved and

restyled with Victorian features. This road certainly represents one of the older historic

landscapes in the county.

With only about two exceptions all the new mid to late 19th century houses happened on the

east of this road built mainly on what was meadow land, while the earlier dwellings stood to

the west, taking advantage of the higher ground achieving spectacular views to the south and

towards the sea. The building types on this road are mixed generally detached villas in a wide

variety of size and forms, in their own grounds. They vary in style from hybrid classical or

Italianate to polychromatic neo‐gothic.

Most notable of these are Illerton, on Killiney Hill Road, (which lies to the south of the old

Deerpark walls, which still retain its importance as a strong feature of the area). Illerton was

built in 1863 for William Bewley. In 1861 The Dublin Builder announced that the architects

Deane and Woodward were designing six new dwelling houses, including Illerton, Alloa,

Undercliff, Cliff House and Fernside.

Other important dwellings include Green Hill, Palermo, South Hill, Sunnybank, Hillside

House, Ashton, The Hall, while Merton Lodge is long gone and replaced by Ballycarbery,

a redbrick late 20th century dwelling in a mock Georgian style. St Annes, a Victorian house

with terraced gardens, occupied in 1860’s by the Du Bedat familyxiv.

Southill St Annes The Hall Ballycarbery

Vico Road The Vico Road traverses the lower slope of what was formerly the 18th Century Deerpark

attached to the Mount Loftus (now Killiney Castle) and was formally opened in 1889. It

connected to the eastern end of the Victoria Road and provided for the first time a circular

route around the Hill. An extension from its junction with Victoria Road meets the midpoint of

Strathmore Road.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

26

Its historic landscape is like much of the road network elsewhere on the hill. It is contained by

stone walls with a woodland canopy beyond affording glimpses of dwellings standing in large

landscaped gardens. A major characteristic is the massive stone buttress wall supporting the

Mapas Cottage where the new road severed it from its gardens lower down the hill and

necessitated the construction of a connecting tunnel beneath.

On the sea side is Temple Hill, designed by George Wilkinson during the Victorian period, a

large house with classical features. Later subdivisions have seen the insertion of Gorse Hill,

Curlews and recently constructed (1990‟s) Mount Eagle Lodge (a linear residential art

gallery). Again, the only real visible interventions are the gateway features that have been

done with reasonable sensitivity to the existing palette of materials.

Temple Hill Gorse Hill Curlews

Victoria Road The Victoria Road started out as a private access to the Robert Warren developments of

Victoria Castle (now Ayesha Castle) and Coburg Lodge (now Mount Eagle) 1830 and 1837

respectively and Mount Mapas Cottage circa 1840. Its historic landscape has been altered in

recent times by the insertion of new gateways, however these have been done reasonably

sensitively.

Contained by a high stone wall on its south and east sides this road is separated from the

Killiney Hill Park by a softer edge of vegetation spilling over a low wall and through railings.

The parks woodland rising to the north is however its dominating landscape feature and sets

this road aside from others on the Hill. In particular, the imposing stone arch that was built as

a gate lodge defines the end of this road and the entrance to the village.

Mapas House Mount Eagle Victoria House East Grove

Strathmore Road Strathmore Road provides a specific purpose that is to connect the top of the hill to the

bottom. Its winding route, has a sharp turn at mid point where it meets the most southerly

point of the Vico Road. It was certainly designed to ease it across the steeply falling ground at

this particular location probably circa 1860‐65 when all the adjacent lands were being

developed. It is strongly contained by stone walls on both sides with virtually the full length of

the south and west sides, that form the boundary to Strathmore, ‐ built for William Henry, a

retired wine merchant, in about 1865xv, now the Canadian Embassy residence, regrettably

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

27

much altered with a resulting loss of its original historic values. The eucalyptus plantation on

the Strathmore lands, adjacent to the lower stretch, are a special and significant landscape

element worthy of protection.

The entrances off this road are few. Other than a few back gates to houses further up the hill,

there are only two on the upper half, Belfort (formerly Ardkill) and Archacon. Strathmore

and Templehill are at the junction with The Vico Road, and at the bottom is Frazerbank, The

Anchorage and Undercliff, the latter characterized by its Victorian Gothic features circular

towers and conical roofs in the romantic style practiced by Deane and Woodward, its

architects.

Fraserbank Archacon Undercliffe Strathmore

St Georges Avenue

A steep winding 300 meter long cul‐de‐sac, Georges Avenue is lined on both sides by stone walls covered by untamed hedgerows. This road would have been constructed in place of an old footpath that connected Roches Hill down to the beach. Another overgrown path remains connecting it to the Hill Road beside the entrance to The Grove.

Most notable is Saint Georges, a large Victorian gothic revival style mansion designed and

built by George Ashlin in 1882. Kenah Hill originally called Frankfort, is perched at the top of

the hill among Scots pine trees. It is a very large Italianate house set in an extensive

landscaped garden. Near this is Hendre, Woodbank and Carrigrennane, the latter nominally

of the Arts and Crafts style, dated 1882.

Carrigrennane Kilda Lodge Stone Leigh Woodbank

Marino Avenue West

This cul‐de‐sac is again on the line of what would have been an ancient footpath that afforded access to the old church and beyond it to the footpath connecting down to the beach. A high stone wall contains the south side and a dense hedge along the north side gives almost total obscurity to the dwellings on each side. The only exception is Marino Lodge, a three bay 19th century single storey over basement house with classical features that directly addresses the

road.

At the termination of this road are two of the largest houses in the area, Campanella and

Summerhill, both mid 19th century of Victorian classical style. Also the house that gave its

name to the area, Marino, stood on the site of the current Abbey Lea in 1837. The name

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

28

appears to have been transferred to the Greek Embassy at the other side of the avenue when

it was built and the old house was rebuilt in 1909 in the Arts and Crafts style and renamed. To

confuse matters more the 19th century map of the Martello Tower names the adjacent land to

the south east as belonging to the “New Marino” built around the same time as the Martello

Tower. Ardmore (now Weisford) and Abbeylands are other notable 19th century additions

adjacent to Marino Avenue West.

Abbey Lodge Marino Lodge Campanella Lucca

Kilmore Avenue formerly Saintbury Avenue. This is a private road that was originally the avenues to Saintbury and presumably ran

through lands attached to that house. The name obviously changed with the construction of

Kilmore House when it became the dominant dwelling on the avenue. This land was

subsequently subdivided into a range of plots with Kilmore House, Mon Abri, and the semi

detached pair of Lecarrow and Lisnamara being built before the end of the 19th century.

The main characteristics of Kilmore Avenue are like elsewhere in this area, being narrow and

winding with an adjacent woodland canopy through which there are glimpses of dwellings

standing in large landscaped gardens (with some properties fronting directly onto the road).

(Even though there is full public access there is no through traffic, as it is used almost entirely

for access to adjacent dwellings).

Glenmalure Oakdene Kilmore House Liscarrow

Despite the number of 20th century subdivisions and the addition of new entrances the

character of the historic landscape of this area has probably not changed much since the end

19th century. Its soft landscape has obviously densified with the passage of time and is the

most dominant characteristic.

Military Road The Military Road presents a strong linear feature that contrasts with the undulating character

of other roads further up the hill. This layout is a direct result of the need to provide the most

direct link between the existing road network and the shore to aid the construction of

defensive facilities in 1804. It followed the easiest and most direct route from Ballybrack

village, crossing gently falling former meadowland and was the best solution at the time. It is

likely that an earlier track existed on this line to Martello Farm (later Martello House), the farm

settlement that was most likely to have been the centre for agricultural activities for the

immediate area at the turn of the 18th century. This road presented the opportunity to open up

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

29

new dwelling sites and shortly after its construction Rathleigh, a plain, five‐bay, two storey

house and Rosetta (later Salerno) were built. These houses were modified late in the 19th

century when they were given their present Victorian facades.

This road is relatively narrow and is still flanked on both sides by long sections of the original

stone walls. As land subdivisions occurred over the following years this wall was breached for

new entrances and sections were removed. Setting aside the linear characteristic, the

appearance of this road differs little from the roads higher up the hill. A hard edge of high

stone walls, (entrances to substantial dwelling sites) and glimpses of these dwellings through

heavily landscaped gardens with a strong mature tree canopy, is its character.

Ballybrack House, Marchington and Kilmarnock were probably present at the new

crossroad with the Hill Road when the Military Road was built. Other significant buildings on

this road includes Killacoona House, a Victorian Tudor styled dwelling now incorporated into

the Holy Child Convent School. Across the road is Mentone, another classic house of the

Victorian period. Ashurst was built in 1861. It was designed by W. H. Lynn in the Victorian

Gothic manner, a time when there was building activity all over the hill.

Kilmarnock Rathleigh Killacoona House Salerno

Killiney Avenue Killiney Avenue is another road that was built in the middle of the 19th Century. It was initially

built as the approach road to a new formal entrance to Killiney Park House. Clustered around

this entrance are Stonehenge, Cloneevin and Druid Hill, the latter built in 1902 in the Art

and Crafts period. This road was probably extended to the south as part of the same

operation that facilitated the construction of Laragh and Clonard, two late victorian classical

styled villas.

Killiney Urban District Council built its new headquarters in 1889, now a private house called

Carrickbrae. This was certainly in response to the establishment of a new sanitary authority

for the area under “the Local Government Board (Ireland) Act, 1872”. Carricmoleen, and St

Maurice were built during this period also. Of interest is the long overgrown avenue that lies

adjacent to Carrigmoleen and runs past Montebello to meet Church Avenue at the south. This

looks as if it was the intended line of a new road to open up further backland development

that never happened. This is a possibility that still exists that needs to be considered with care

not to reverse the current arcadian landscape that lies adjacent.

Carrickbrae Clonard Laragh Stonehenge

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

30

3. THE SOUTH VILLAGE EXTENSION This area represents a transition between the dense village centre and the less dense SE

Slope. It is an area with more modest detached housing mainly of 20th century origin that lies

along the Glenalua Road extension and the cul‐de–sac to the north of Killiney House.

Whereas this housing is set on a mixture of plot sizes all are invariably visible from the public

road and are not protected from view by high walls as are those on the SE slope area. With

heavily wooded and landscaped gardens they present a stronger architectural presence to

the public realm. This area has been recommended for inclusion within the ACA.

Glenalua Lodge Reenavanna Blue Ridge Wilmount

This area is dominated by Glenalua Lodge set on an elevated site over Glenalua Road. This

and Wilmount are, the only significant dwellings in this sector remaining with probable origins

in late 18th century. A number of other large dwellings were built in the 20th century, of

particular interest being Reenavanna representing the Modern Movement and the recently

completed Blue Ridge and Knockbo.

4. THE NORTH VILLAGE EXTENSION This area plays a similar role and has a similar character as described for the South Village

Extension with a significant collection of moderately sized plots with 20th century detached

dwellings, heavily landscaped. There are two dwellings present that have possible origins in

the 18th century, The Peak and Stone Cottage, though these are now much modified.

Unfortunately, a further 18th century dwelling of some significance, Plasnewyd, has been

demolished to facilitate a modern housing development. Some elements of the garden enclosures

of this house remain, in particular the walled orchard. These elements contribute to the historic

landscape to a sufficient extent that warrants a degree of protection and inclusion in the ACA.

Another significant building, Mount Prospect is in a derelict state and is worthy for additional

protection. This area has been recommended for inclusion within the ACA.

The Peak Claremont Mount Prospect Stone Cottage

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

31

5. GLENALUA ROAD The use of the central section of Glenalua Road to provide social housing sets it apart in the

area. Whereas there are earlier examples of subsidized housing types such as the Hill

Cottages this group has a significantly dominant presence to warrant separate mention. This

area has been recommended for inclusion within the ACA.

Glenalua Terrace represents one of the earliest investment in social housing by the local

authority, built early in the 20th century. The housing at the other side represents a further

phase built in the second half of the century. This housing type adds to and reinforces the fine

grained character of the village. Set centrally between the areas that establish the historic

landscape of the proposed ACA the architecture of this element makes its own unique historic

statement and is an essential ingredient in maintaining the integrity of the whole ACA.

Glenalua Terrace south Glenalua Terrace north

6. MARINO AVENUE EAST While this area displays many of the overall landscape characteristics of the main SE slope

area it was felt that it had enough unique features to be catagorised separately. Built circa

1880 the group relies heavily on the Arts and Crafts style that was much favoured at the end

of the 19th century. This area has been recommended for inclusion within the ACA. The

group consists of Winterslow House, Kildoon, Eirene, St Leonards, Killeen and Mirimar.

Eierne is known to have been designed by Thomas Deane, the possibility follows that he was

also the architect for the whole group.

Eirene Kildoon Galleen Winterslow House

7. KILLINEY HEATH This area lies entirely on the lands that once formed the grounds of Killiney Park House. The

house which certainly had its origins in the group of buildings shown on the 1887 Longfield

map, was demolished in 1965 to facilitate the redevelopment of the lands to become the

Killiney Heath estate. The architecture typology of this estate is widespread throughout the

suburbs of all our towns and cities. It has no unique architectural or landscape features that

that give sufficient reason for it to be included in an ACA. It is recommended therefore that it

should not be included.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

32

No 8 Silvermere No 11 Ronella No 18 Heatherly No 27 San Aida

8. SHANGANAGH TERRACE INCLUDING CHURCH ROAD BEHIND

Shanganagh Terrace is an unusual anomaly in this area. A long terrace of 16 mid Victorian

dwellings presents a strong unique architectural feature that is in complete contrast to the

surrounding hill area. Though it is accessed off the Hill Road this terrace relates better as an

architectural grouping with the church buildings behind and Ballybrack Village. Whereas the

terrace designation comes from the connected form of the buildings these are in fact a series

of separate building projects separated with a single detached dwelling in the centre. This

dwelling, number 8 is reputed to be where Mr Byrne, the developer of the terrace lived in

1845 when work commenced. The initial development consisted of two pairs of modest three

bay semi detached two storey dwellings on the inner side (9‐10 & 12‐14) and the terrace (1‐5)

of single floor over basement storey dwellings at the entrance. A series of infils were then

done with Number 6 followed by the redbrick houses that are of a later gothic style. An

interesting feature are the front gardens severed from their related properties by the road, a

significant and important characteristic. This area has been recommended for inclusion within

the ACA.

Nos 11‐12 No 8 No 7 No 1

The success and appeal of this terrace is in the selection of a site on slightly elevated ground

that gives a southern aspect with views out over the Shanganagh valley. This would have

been quite dramatic at a time before the woodlands in front matured to reduce this impact

somewhat.

Religious establishment played an important role in the activities in this area with a whole strip

of church owned property extending from Ballybrack to the sea. This includes virtually the

whole south side of Military Road, containing Kilmarnock, Ash Hurst and Killacoona House.

Off church Road is Saint Alphonsus & Columba Church which was built in the 1850`s with

its Gothic spire added in about 1870 to the design of George Ashlin. There is also a fine cut

stone gothic style single storey over basement parochial house and parochial hall on the

grounds. Behind is St Columbas, a mid Victorian house from 1857, with classical features

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

33

that provides for functions of the RC church. This house is in a particularly remote setting that

gives it an almost rural character.

St Columbas House St Columbas The Lodge Parochial House Church

9. STATION ROAD The architectural character of this area is dominated by the large apartment block that

embraces the original gothic style villa of the former Court Hotel, which was designed in 1865,

by the architect T.N.Deane. The latter is a protected structure and has been recently restored.

This area has little to contribute to the historic landscape of the hill in general other than

the fact that it is situated between the dwellings further up the hill and the sea, and

therefore intrudes into the foreground of the south east aspect of their sites. This aspect

is an important and valuable component of the southeast slope that should be protected.

It is therefore recommended that this area remain within the proposed ACA, in order that

any future development proposals are considered within the context of what the ACA is

aiming to protect. This area has been recommended for inclusion within the ACA.

Court-na-farraige

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

34

10. South-East Slope Extension This area contains a number of 19th century dwellings in large landscape gardens of similar

character to the South East Slope area. An analysis of the historic maps shows that the only

structures that existed prior to 1830 were Kilmarnock House and the Martello House and

Cottage. Martello House has been demolished while the cottage still exists intact as Kilmuir.

Kilmarnock exists intact and is a protected structure.

1830 Ordnance Survey Map

1897 Ordnance Survey Map

By the end of the 19th century 9 new houses were developed. They included seven on

Seafield Road - Seacroft, Avonmore Hall, Killiney Lodge, Rathleigh, Red House, Aughnacloy

Inveruisk (now Dun Muire) and 2 on Military Road – Ashurst and Killacoona.

Stonehurst

Avonmore Hall

Ashurst

Killiney Lodge

Aughnacloy

Red House

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

35

11-13 20th Century Infill

These three areas contain typical detached modern estate development with moderate sized plots. The predominance of 20th century development that effectively severs the 19th century sites adjacent to Seafield Road from the area of similar character to the north reduces the case in favour of including the whole area in the Killiney ACA. However they are included due to their location and not as a result of their architectural significance.

Bayshore Lane

SE corner

Ash Hurst

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

36

8) Architectural Features

1. BUILDING TYPOLOGIES The main characteristic that gives Killiney its special interest is without question the rich

mixture of dwelling types and styles resulting from over two centuries of organic growth. The

main domestic architectural styles from the Georgian period to the present day is represented

in a range of dwellings from the smallest artisans cottages to the larger villas of the

professional and merchant classes. As there is no doubt that the size of a dwelling was

related to the socio‐ economic position of the owners, and that such is the case even today. It

follows therefore that an analysis of the building typology should be ordered on a size basis.

The following categories are deemed to represent a relatively wide cross section of the

dwellings present on the hill, namely:

• Large individual dwellings of the „upper‟ socio‐economic group. • Terrace housing of the 19th century. • Smaller dwellings of the Middle class. • Social housing.

Large individual dwellings The earlier chapters described how the foundations for the 19th century development of the

Hill, the most prolific period, were laid down in the preceding periods. By the second half of

the 19th century new dwellings were under construction all over the Hill. Each house was an

individual project designed to the personal preferences of the owner. Competition was

probably intense, to have the biggest and the best property. While investment dwindled during

the upheavals that led to the formation of the new Irish State, the return to prosperity during

the last quarter of the 20th century has seen an upsurge in the construction of new large

dwellings on the Hill.

A succession of styles are evident and the progression can be followed through Kenah Hill, a

Victorian pile with rendered exterior and classical details, St. Georges, brick Victorian Gothic

dwelling, Druid Hill, an Arts and Crafts property, and Knockbo, recently completed on

Glenalua Road with concrete forms as its dominant feature and minimal detailing.

Kenah Hill St Georges Druid Hill Knockbo

Nineteenth Century Terraces The terraced house type provided a more economic dwelling solution in a place with high land

values. In Killiney the terrace could be seen as an alien form where land was more plentiful. A

small number of terraces were constructed during the 19th century that are probably as a

result of speculative ventures to exploit the high amenity value of the landscape and sea

views, just as the terrace solution was used on other costal sites nearer Dublin centre.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

37

This theory certainly applies to Shanganagh Terrace, Abbeylands and Marine Terrace but is

less applicable to Killiney Hill Cottages that are in a semi urbanised setting and the ambitions

of its constructors was probably to house a socially disadvantaged group such as ex‐

servicemen.

To classify the Killiney terrace as such is in fact a misnomer. As regards to Shanganagh

Terrace, except for Nos 1‐5 the rest are a series of detached and semi‐detached dwellings

joined together through a series of infills. A break in the middle accommodates a single free‐

standing house, No 8. No 8 was likely to have been the first commitment on this site. The

earliest of these houses commenced in 1845 and are generally quite plain with rendered

exteriors and simple classical details. The two red brick late Victorian houses are obvious

discordant later additions.

Abbeylands is in many respects like Shanganagh in its genesis in that it consists of a pair of

semi‐ detached and a single detached dwelling, No 3, and is not strictly a terrace. No 3 was

possibly the home of the developer of No‟s 1 & 2. With a rendered finish and finer classical

details Abbeylands represent a contrast to Marine Terrace (the latter being red brick), with the

rendered terraces generally pre‐dating their red brick counterparts.

Killiney Hill Cottages are an attractive arts and crafts assembly that can be better classified as

a terrace as they were obviously designed as a set piece. Shanganagh Terrace Abbeylands Marine Terrace Killiney Hill Cottages

Smaller dwellings of the „middle class‟ Whereas the prime sites on the southeast slope were almost exclusively developed for large

houses there are some exceptions notably the gate lodges guarding entrances. Clusters of

more modest dwellings were sited around the north and south village fringes. Again there is a

multiplicity of styles, represented by Derryolam and Bramley Cottage, both Tudouresque

Victorian with Treetops and Villa Alto representing the late 20th century.

Derryolam Tree Tops Villa Alto Bramley Cottage

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

38

„Social Housing‟. Killiney village of the 19th century was known to be the place where the estate workers of the

Mapas Estate lived. Indeed the 1887 Longfield estate map refers to the cabins located there.

The first Labourers Act of 1883 enabled public authorities for the first time, to replace the

primitive one roomed cabins of the laboring class with more substantial structures. It is certain

that the slate roof semi‐detached single storey cottages on the Hill Road are an early result of

this initiative, and are representative of a type that relied on simple detailing, traditional sash

windows and timber panelled doors.

Later investments in social housing are represented on both sides of Glenalua Road and on

Talbot Road. Elsewhere in the village many small cottages that have very early origins are

inter dispersed between more modern buildings. Two typical examples are Glen Cottage and

Talbot Mews.

Talbot Mews Hill Cottages Glenalua Terrace Glen Cottage

2. PALETTE OF MATERIALS The earliest conclusion of this study points to the predominant characteristic of the proposed

ACA, as seen from the public realm, as being a place dominated by rubble granite walling. To

a lesser degree glimpses of the housing set back from the road displays roofing slates or tiles,

stucco‐facing, other renders and red brick being the main construction materials. This palette

of materials contributes to the localized character of each road, with certain combinations of

these materials associated with certain roads.

Granite walls: Granite is the most common building material used in Killiney owing to the proximity of the

material so close to the surface throughout the area. Most of the older houses, castles,

churches and other structures are built with rendered granite rubble walls. The use of ashlar

masonry to achieve a planned architectural aesthetic occurs on a number of buildings that

includes Ayesha Castle, Mount Eagle, The Victoria Road gateway, St Columbas Church and

its parochial house. Elsewhere cut stone is used mainly on window sills and more decorative

elements such as plinth courses and parapets. Rubble stone walls with brick leveling courses

and brick trims around openings are also recurring themes.

Victoria Road Gate Claremont Road Vico Road Strathmore Road

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

39

Common features are the rubble stone retaining walls that are used at numerous locations to

create building platforms. These are particularly noticeable in the village area with a notable

example on Claremont Road. The use of stone to contain paths and staircases such as the

flight below Mount Mapus Cottage on the Vico Road are other important contributors to the

architectural character.

Red brick: Clay brick is a material that has been in use throughout all historic periods being one of the

earliest man made products. It was used extensively in Georgian Ireland, where it was the

main facing material on all important streetscapes of that period. However the economics of

construction dictated that rubble stone walling constituted the bulk of the underlying structure

and brick was reserved for visible locations and other special features. Brick was used

sparingly as bedding courses and for trimming opes, or confined to being a supplementary

decorative material or for use in the construction of chimney stacks.

Only later in the 19th century with the advent of mass production techniques for clay products

did the clay brick come into its own to become a significant component of late Victorian period

architecture. The most notable example of a brick construction in the study area is St

Georges, built in 1882, described by Pearson “as something of a Victorian Gothic

extravaganza”xvi.

Shanganagh Tce Lismellow Ash Hurst Lodge The Peak St Georges

Stucco and Render: The difference in nomenclature between stucco, plaster, and mortar is based more on use

than composition. Until the later part of the 19th century, it was common that the rendering or

plaster coat, which was used inside a building, and stucco, which was used outside, would

consist of the same primary materials: lime and sand. In the later part of the 19th Century,

Portland cement was added with increasing frequency in an attempt to improve its durability.

At the same time, traditional lime plasters were being replaced by gypsum plaster. Traditional

stucco is made of lime, sand, and water. Modern stucco is made of Portland cement, sand

and water with lime added to decrease the permeability and increase the workability.

The use of stucco facing is generally limited to buildings pre‐dating 1860 with sand cement

renders used latterly. It is not possible to determine the period of the facing through casual

observation as many older buildings have been renovated with the modern compositions.

However there are some examples of the older Villa Style houses and cottages where the

original render coats are obviously still extant, Templeville House being the most notable

example. Render finishes are varied from the plain render finish of the early 19th Century

cottages to the pebbledash render of mid 20th Century housing on Glenalua Road. Rendered

roadside boundary walls are a common feature found all over this area.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

40

Templeville House Glenalua Terrace Kilmarnock Hill Cottages

Roofing: There is a wide range of roof finishes on view, which are ordered, in a recognisable historic

sequence. From the 17th Century onwards, slate was the most commonly used roof covering

up to the middle of the 19th Century when the handmade red clay tile, a product of the Arts

and Crafts period, was introduced. The 20th Century saw the introduction of the concrete tile

and fibrous cement slates with sheet metal and synthetic membrane coverings, which were in

favour by the end of that century. While many houses within the proposed ACA retain their

natural slate roofs, the vertically hung tile on the Arts and Crafts period houses, are a rich and

picturesque feature.

Blue Slate Clay Tiles Fibre cement slate Flat roof covering

and concrete tiles

Chimneys and Roofscape The visual richness of the proposed ACA is reinforced by the variation of pitched roof types

punctuated by clusters of chimneys that appear throughout the study area. The flat roof,

which was introduced for the first time through the modern movement houses, is an alien

form. Whereas the flat roof is ideal in situations where the optimum volume of building

accommodation is sought beneath, without imposing on the skyline when viewed from lower

down the hill, when viewed from above, a discordant appearance may be evident.

Attractive view: fine grain

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

41

The variety of chimney types are considerable and are an important contributor to the

landscape character. They are in either brick or rendered finish generally with some degree of

ornamentation.

Brick Render

Gardens The landscape settings of the larger houses are an important element in the rich mix that

expresses the Killiney character. Many gardens are concealed from public view but others

can be seen from the public road. Of particular note is Mapas House, though severed by Vico

Road, the totality of the assembly of garden and house is an important historic relationship

that should always remain intact.

Mount Mapas House Lismellow

Windows The considerable range and variety of glazing solutions used adds to the visual richness

of the high level views of the Killiney landscape. The progression of improved glazing

techniques is quite evident with the smaller paned sash windows of the late Georgian

period giving way through a succession of styles to the plate glass solutions of the

contemporary architecture of recent times.

Shanganagh Tce Antsic Lodge Templeville St Leonards Blue Ridge

Doors A wide range of door types again add to the visual richness of the area. The door is a unique

element as it is a symbol of social order. At one end of the economic scale the modest doors

of the terrace housing in the village, contrast with the flamboyant entrances of the larger villas

elsewhere on the hill.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

42

Talbot Road Shanganagh Tce Marchington Parochial House

Gates/Ironwork: Gates are a particularly dominant feature being at the interface between private and public

domains. (There are many examples representing all periods). In particular, examples of

ironwork, particularly wrought iron, may be found throughout the study area. In the 19th

Century wrought‐iron, often decorated with cast‐iron detailing was used for gates and railings.

The finest example of ironwork in the study area is the ornate gates to Montebello at the lower

end of the Killiney Hill Road. In total contrast but nonetheless adding to the areas rich variety,

are the contemporary styled gates at the top of the same road (at Paddock Wood). The Art

Nouveau style gates at Currabinny are quite extrovert in contrast to the classical entrance to

Summerhill.

Currabinny Summerhill Montebello Paddock Wood Other features There are many examples of gazebos and summerhouses in the gardens of the bigger

houses. Such features as the letter box, the viewing towers and special roof features are

evident in the study area.

Gazebo Tower Letterbox

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

43

Ornamentation Weathervane Ventilator

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

44

9) Implications for Planning & Development In general terms there is a requirement under the Planning & Development Act 2000 to obtain

planning permission for all development works which do not constitute exempted

development. The regulations governing exempted development are set out in the Planning &

Development Regulations 2001, as amended. These regulations set out the classes of

development, which constitute exempted development together with relevant conditions and

limitations.

Section 4 of the Planning and Development Act 2000 also lists developments, which

constitute exempted development, for the purposes of the Act. Section 4(1)(h) is of particular

relevance. It states that the following shall be exempted development for the purposes of the

Act:

“Development consisting of the carrying out of works for the maintenance, improvement or

other alteration of any structure, being works which affect only the interior of the structure or

which do not materially affect the external appearance of the structure so as to render the

appearance inconsistent with the character of the structure or of neighbouring structures”

Where a question arises as to what in a particular case is or is not exempted development,

any person may, under Section 5(1) of the Planning and Development Act 2000, on payment

of the prescribed fee, request in writing from the Planning Authority, a declaration on that

question.

Implications of ACA designation

The objective of the ACA is to protect the special character of an area through the careful

control and management of change. Section 82(1) of the Planning and Development Act 2000

(as amended) indicates that;

“Notwithstanding section 4(1)(h), the carrying out of works to the exterior of a structure

located in an Architectural Conservation area shall be exempted development only if those

works would not materially affect the character of the area”

Owners, occupiers or developers proposing to carry out works within the ACA should

be aware that the normal exemptions from seeking planning permission, do not apply

where the planning authority considers that they will materially affect the character of

the ACA.

Therefore, in its assessment of whether or not works constitute exempted development, the

Planning Authority must have regard to not only the impact on the character of the structure

itself and adjacent structures, as required under Section 4(1)(h), but must now also have

regard to the impact on the overall character of the area, as required under Section 82 (1) and

(2).

The designation of ACA status therefore results in restrictions on certain works to the

exteriors of structures, their settings and plot boundaries. For example, the construction of a

small house extension or a boundary wall within an ACA may require planning permission,

although such works may be exempted development elsewhere.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

45

It is the purpose of this Section of the ACA document to give detailed direction and guidance

on the type of works that do and do not impact on the character of the ACA and therefore will

or will not require planning permission. This list is not a definitive list of all works, in all

circumstances, that require planning permission, but identifies those works, which would

impact on the character of the ACA. It should also be noted that some of the following works

already constitute development regardless of ACA designation and would require planning

permission.

Non‐Protected Structures

Owners and occupiers of non-protected structures located within the Killiney Architectural

Conservation Area should be aware that works which, in the opinion of the Planning Authority,

would materially affect the character of the ACA. will require specific grant of planning

permission. Clearly this will depend on details of each proposal, but it is likely to include the

following:

• Extensions and all new build that impact on the street-facing elevations of buildings, or

would be clearly visible from the public realm.

• The demolition of a structure or part thereof.

• Complete re-pointing in a style or manner other than existing.

• Removal or alteration of original architectural features on the main facades of non-

protected structures including:

o painting of previously unpainted brick or stone surfaces. o rendering of any façade not previously rendered. o The removal of existing render or material finish of a structure and its

replacement with another material or detail, including the removal of any previously rendered/stuccoed surface to expose otherwise inferior stonework underneath.

D. Formation of parking spaces.

E. The removal of the original roofing materials such as natural slate or clay tiles and

their replacement with modern materials such as fibre cement tiles.

F. The removal of existing chimneystacks and early terracotta or clay pots or other

original features of the roofscape.

G. The removal of timber bargeboards and/or their replacement in a material other than

the existing.

The installation of solar panels, roof‐lights or dormer windows on front elevations or on

visible slopes. Where dormer windows are deemed to be permissible, these should fit

in with the character of the structure, be of a modest size and should be constructed of

high quality or appropriate materials.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

46

• New premises and material alterations to existing shopfronts.

• The erection of, or alterations to, externally mounted signs and advertisements,

including banners.

• The provision of awnings, canopies, flags and flagpoles.

• The provision of any security shutters or grilles and associated casings and fittings on

the face of a building or in front of a window display area.

• The erection of communications antennae or support structures for same.

• The removal or alteration of traditional stone walls or railings, including historical plot

boundaries.

The above list is not definitive. Owners/occupiers are advised to consult with the Planning

Authority prior to undertaking any development including any physical works or change of

use. Where there is uncertainty as to a particular case the Planning Authority would advise

that a Section 5 declaration is sought.

Maintenance and repairs, which are of a similar type and material, will generally be exempted

development.

Protected Structures

Owners and occupiers of protected structures are advised that planning permission is

required for all works, which would materially affect the character of a protected structure, or

any element of the structure, including its curtilage, which contributes to its special interest.

Owners and occupiers proposing to carry out any works to a protected structure including

essential repair and maintenance works, are advised to request a declaration from the

Planning Authority under Section 57 of the Planning and Development Act 2000 (as

amended). A declaration issued under this section sets out the type of works the Planning

Authority considers would or would not materially affect the character of the structure or of

any element of that structure, which contributes to its special interest.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

47

10) New Development Works New development should contribute to the visual enhancement and vibrancy of the area

whilst respecting its existing physical character. All new buildings should be to the highest

standards of architectural design. Proposals to demolish structures of architectural merit

within the A.C.A. require planning permission. In general, they will not be permitted unless

the proposed new structure is a positive benefit to the area. The amalgamation of one or

more sites will require sensitive planning and design treatment in order to complement the

fine grain of the established streetscape.

General Policy Objectives

The Council will ensure that development in Killiney ACA will be managed in order

to protect, safeguard and enhance the special character and environmental quality

of the area.

The Council will seek to preserve, protect and enhance the architectural heritage of

Killiney for future generations.

The Council will actively encourage the reinstatement of historically accurate

architectural detailing on buildings of heritage value/interest in accordance with

recognised conservation practice. However, the use of contemporary new-build

extensions will generally be encouraged and materials/finishes used should

complement the character of the area.

The Council will not normally consider the demolition of a structure without

proposals for re-development, and will seek to ensure that demolition if permitted

will be followed by continuous re-development building operation.

The Council will seek to prohibit the demolition of structures that positively

contribute to the character of Killiney ACA, except in exceptional circumstances in

accordance with Policy AR12 of the County Development Plan 2010-2016. Where

demolition of a building/structure/item is considered, within the ACA, one of the key

considerations that will be taken into account is whether the quality of the new

structure will visually enhance and enrich the area.

The designation of Killiney ACA does not preclude the sub-division of dwellings into

apartments, extensions, or for „sensitive infill‟ in accordance with land-use zoning

objective 0/0 of the County Development Plan 2010-2016, or „change of use‟, and

the re-use of existing entrances/maintenance of original boundary walls where

appropriate in order to maintain the essential character of Killiney ACA.

New Build

The Council will seek to ensure that any development including modifications and/or

alterations or extensions affecting structures within the Killiney ACA, are designed

and sited appropriately and are not detrimental to the character of the structure or its

setting and context within the ACA.

The Council will encourage where appropriate the use of non-reflective glazing to

exposed elevations containing a low solid to void ratio (i.e. large extent of glazing

relative to masonry).

In considering all proposals for building/structures, the Council will seek to

encourage the development of new buildings in Killiney ACA in accordance with

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

48

County Development Plan Policy as being a stimulus to imaginative, high quality,

passive design, and an opportunity to enhance the ACA generally. In this regard

appropriately scaled new build should have respect for the site/building context,

without imitating earlier styles.

In Killiney Village Character Area 1 (Map of Character Areas shown in Appendix 3),

(generally), the Council will encourage a sensitive design approach to infill/gap sites,

to maintain the overall integrity of the urban grain, whilst also encouraging where

appropriate, contemporary designs that are complementary and/or sympathetic to

their context and scale. Particular regard will be had to roofscape treatment to avoid

large unbroken flat roof spans.

Character Area‟s 11-13 are 20th Century estates which do not contribute to the

architectural character of the ACA. Consequently the Council will adopt a less rigid

approach to development proposals in these areas.

Alterations and Extensions

The Council will seek to encourage appropriately scaled extensions and alterations

to properties within Killiney ACA that are generally sensitive to the main structure

and subsidiary (to the main structure), particularly in the case of protected structures

and positioned generally to the rear or lesser elevation.

All proposals to extend properties within the ACA involving/affecting the roof of a

property particularly those of the Arts and Crafts style shall be carefully and

sensitively considered.

The Council will seek to encourage the retention of original features, including

windows, doors, renders, roof coverings, and other significant features of buildings

and structures within Killiney ACA whether protected structures or otherwise, whilst

simultaneously encouraging a continued diversity of sensitively scaled

contemporary and energy efficient designs.

Internal Alterations: For structures/houses, which are not listed as Protected Structures,

the ACA designation does not prevent internal changes or re-arrangements, provided that

these changes do not impact on the exterior of the structure. However, internal changes

must comply with current building regulations.

Works to the Public Realm

The Council will actively promote the retention of all surviving original kerbing,

paving, and items of street furniture, which contribute to the special character of the

ACA, in line with Policy AR6 of the County Development Plan 2010-2016.

Works to the public realm, such as footpaths, street furniture, parking provision etc,

must have due regard to the special character of the ACA. Design and provision of

traffic control measures, including signage, ramps, renewed surfaces, dished

pavements etc. will be required to consider the Historic Landscape and essential

character of the area as outlined in this document.

New street furniture when being provided will be of high quality reflecting the

character of the ACA.

The Council will encourage the under-grounding of overhead services and the

removal of redundant wiring / lighting cables etc., from building facades in line with

Policy AR9.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

49

Landscape Protection

Reinforce existing character:

The Killiney ACA seeks to protect buildings, structures and items of architectural

interest and will also seek to protect and enhance the spatial quality of Killiney, its

natural environment, groups of trees, boundary treatments and associated

hedgerow planting/periphery planting to individual plots, views and prospects and

other intrinsic aspects of the ACA.

New or replacement planting:

Where boundaries must be repaired or replaced or where new boundaries are

required, the Council will promote the use of materials which are sympathetic to that

existing, including where applicable, hedgerow planting and informal tree planting

etc.

Views and prospects:

The Council will seek to protect from insensitive development, the views and

prospects identified in the current County Development Plan.

The Council will seek to protect views and prospects from Killiney Hill by minimizing

the impact of new developments on the existing roofspaces and will consider where

appropriate, the use of green roof technology, (for example, limited spans/roof

planes and curved or mono-pitched roof sections).

The Council will seek to minimize any negative visual impact of all new structures

within the protected views and prospects and will seek to preserve those structures

of civic/historic and/or architectural interest, which currently punctuate these

prospects/skylines.

Features that detract from the area:

The Council will encourage the appropriate or sympathetic replacement of elements

that detract visually from the built form, that are considered unacceptably intrusive,

where their replacement or substantial alteration would improve the character of the

ACA for example;

The placing underground of all electricity, television and telephone cables within the

ACA, particularly within the Killiney Village-Landscape Area 1 and its environs.

The insensitive repair/replacement/supplementing of boundary treatments.

The removal of inappropriate signage and incongruous surface finishes

Planning Applications – Checklist for developments within Killiney ACA

The Council will not normally consider outline-planning applications within the ACA.

All proposals for new development should enhance the character of the area and

ultimately deliver a consistently high standard of design.

Detailed proposals incorporating drawings of fully rendered elevational treatment

(i.e. detailed sections showing finishes, components etc. where necessary). A colour

and material pallet should also be included.

Potential impact of the proposal upon views and prospects (if applicable) within the

Killiney ACA.

Detailed Landscaping plans and specifications including details on new and/or

replacement planting. This may also include an Aborists report/tree survey.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

50

11) Acknowledgements

The authors appreciation is offered to the following persons who contributed material

for this report: Albie Millerick Former resident Killiney House.

Valerie McCarthy Former Resident Rathleigh.

Derry McCarthy Information about the Village.

Philip Shipman Information about Plasnewyyd.

Cynthia McClenaghan Resident Druid Lodge.

Michael Clarke Proprietor Killiney Stores.

Bridget Aylmer Resident Valparaiso.

Timothy King Resident Shanganagh Terrace.

National Library of Ireland: Maps from the manuscripts section.

Representative Church Body: Maps of the Dean of Christchurch.

End notes:

iDun Laoghaire Rathdown County Development Plan 2010‐2016 Policy AR10, page 109 ii Dun Laoghaire Rathdown County Development Plan 2010‐2016, page 103

iii “A History of the County of Dublin” F E Ball page, 86

iv “A General History of the County of Dublin” John D'Alton, 1838,

page, 898

v “A History of the County of Dublin” F E Ball 1902, Vol 1. FE

Ball page, 86 vi

“A Topographical Dictionary of Ireland” Samuel Lewis, 1838, P 149 vii

Gaynor family paper. viii

“From the mountains to the Sea” P Pearson. 2007. Page 75 ix “From the mountains to the Sea” P Pearson. 2007.

Page 70‐71 x Falkiner’s “Dublin Journal”,

xi“From the mountains to the Sea” P Pearson. 2007. Pearson, page 69

xii Return 30

th June 1804 for towers and Batteries on coast from Bray to Dublin

WO 55 831. xiii

“A History of the County of Dublin” F E Ball page 86 xiv

“From the mountains to the Sea” P Pearson. 2007.

Pearson page 70 xv

“From the mountains to the Sea” P Pearson. 2007.

Pearson page 71

xvi

“From the mountains to the Sea” P Pearson. 2007.Page 74.

KILLINEY – ARCHITECTURAL CONSERVATION AREA

50