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MVNO Business Business Plan

Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

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Page 1: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO BusinessBusiness Plan

Page 2: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

Agenda• MVNO fundamentals

– About MVNO– Wireless service delivery chain– MVNO Business models– Why MVNO

• Indian market analysis– PEST– Porter five forces

• Analyzing MVNO opportunity in India– Our MVNO business model– Our business strategy– MVNO opportunity framework– MVNO marketing strategy – targeting, positioning– MVNO strategy implementation – price, product,

place and promotion – Financial analysis– MVNO business risks

Page 3: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO FUNDAMENTALS

Page 4: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

About MVNO

• A MVNO is a type of mobile operator which offers voice and data services without owning any part of the network infrastructure.

• MVNO typically "rent" both the access network and the transport network - the mobile spectrum, from traditional mobile network operators and provide services under their own brand name.

Page 5: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

Wireless service delivery chain

user

Page 6: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Business models

MNO MVNO

MVNO

MVNO

MVNE

MNO

MNO

MNO BRANDS

MVNE

Page 7: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

Why MVNO

Page 8: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

Why MVNO

Page 9: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

INDIAN MARKET ANALYSIS

Page 10: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

PEST

Page 11: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

Porter’s 5 forces

Threat from New Entrants: High•Growing subscribers base•Presence of infrastructure• Numerous foreign players are interested to enter. Increase in FDI will allow foreign players

Buyer Power: High•Buyers demanding greater variety at lower prices.

Threat of substitution: Low•No strong demand for fixed line•Little awareness about VOIP applications

Supplier Power: Moderate•Handset suppliers have strong brands e.g. Nokia, Samsung, LG• Large MVNO are able to push cheaper brands

Competitive Rivalry: High•Margins are small around 4%• High competition is driving down voice ARPU.

Page 12: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

ANALYZING MVNO OPPORTUNITY IN

INDIA

Page 13: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

Our MVNO business model

MNO MVNO

MVNO

MVNO

MVNE

MNO

MNO

MNO BRANDS

MVNE

Page 14: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Business Strategy

• Low CAPEX and OPEX for first few years.

• Low fixed expense and high variable expenses.

• Align with MVNE for infrastructure needs.

• Buy cheap handsets from supplier such as Olive.

• Sell handset at slightly higher price to cover acquisition cost.

• Prevent cannibalization of MNO customers.

Page 15: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO opportunity framework

Page 16: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Marketing Strategy- targeting

TARGET SEGMENT

MVNO OFFER

Retailer MVNO Low income and credit • Simple prepaid • Focus on voice and SMS

Cable MVNO Mass market (cable households)

• Quadruple play bundle• Focus on convergent offer

3G centric MVNO Heavy users of mobile data

• Voice and data bundles• Focus on premium content (music, gaming, sports, etc)

Music centric MVNO Music fans • Voice and data bundles• Focus on competitive music OTA downloads

Enterprise focussed MVNO

Medium to large enterprise

• Corporate packages• Focus on enterprise applications

Demographic focussed MVNO

Focussing on unique needs of demographic

• Simple flat rate• Simple pricing plans

Page 17: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Marketing Strategy

TARGET CUSTOMER

Urban youth: Distinct mobile needs

• More and longer out-bound voice calls

• Big calling circles for both making and receiving calls

• Large users of SMS

• Both the earliest adopters and highest users of value-added services

• Higher usage for both voice and SMS at weekends

• High demand for upgrades

• Price sensitive

Page 18: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Marketing Strategy - positioning

PRICE

LOW HIGH

VALUE ADDITIONSNO FRILLS

VALUE ADDITIONSNO FRILLS

Page 19: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Marketing Strategy

POSITIONING

VALUE ADDITIONS

• Free in-network calling (CUG)

• Personalized customer care

• QWERTY handset at low prices .

NO FRILLS

• Low prices & basic services

• Simple rate plans.

• Easy to understand

Page 20: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Strategy Implementation• FLAT PRICING - 8.9$ (per month)

PrepaidVoice

•First 300 mins in

network outgoing

free.•Free incoming•After 300 mins

call charges 0.025

$/min.•Out of network

call charge – 0.04$•One month

validity

PrepaidData

• Free data plan

up to 100 MB•After 100Mb

0.06$/Mb

Postpaid Voice

•First 300 mins

in network

outgoing free.•Free incoming•After 300 mins

call charges

0.018 $/min.•Out of network

call charge –

0.04$

Postpaid Data

• Free data plan

up to 100 MB•After 100Mb –

0.05$/Mb

Page 21: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Marketing Strategy

PRODUCT

Vodafone Campus Pack Talk and SMS @ 0.002$

Buy the Vodafone Campus Pack worth $2.2 with 2 years validity

• Calls to 5 local Vodafone numbers @ 0.002$ / min 

• Local SMS @ 0.002$  

• Calls to local Vodafone mobile phones @ 0.01$ / min  

• Calls to other local mobile phones @ 0.02$ / min  

• STD calls @ 0.03$ / min  

• Existing Campus Pack subscribers can also opt for the new tariff by doing a recharge of $1

Page 22: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Marketing Strategy

PRODUCT

Data plan includes

• Internet for emails, surfing

• Chatting applications within network (CUG).

• SMS

• Campus applications – Calendar application for class and event schedules, announcements

Page 23: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Strategy Implementation• PLACE

– Initially the service is rolled out in two Indian metros

• Delhi – Mobile customer base 12 millions

• Mumbai – Mobile customer base 13 millions

– The channels we are going to use for distribution will be:

• Retail stores (Big Bazaar)

• Small shops

• Bank ATM

• Self service through SMS recharging

Page 24: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Strategy Implementation• PROMOTION

– Promotion at places where youth shop such as

• Shopping malls

• Movies theater

• School campuses

– Imaginative, eye-catching advertising & PR

Page 25: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

• ARPU analysis

Postpaid Voice

Average call rate/min (within 300 mins) = 0.013$

Average call rate/min (after 300 mins) = 0.018$

Assuming that 90% customers stay within 300 mins and 10% customers talk more than 300 mins

Average call rate/min = 0.9*0.013+0.1*0.018=0.0135$

Page 26: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

• ARPU analysis

Postpaid Data

Average rate/Mb (within 100 Mb) = 0.033$

Average rate/Mb (after 100 Mb) = 0.05$

Assuming that 95% customers stay within 100Mb limit and 5% customers exceed more than 100 Mb limit

Average $/Mb = 0.95*0.033+0.05*0.05=0.03385$

Page 27: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

• ARPU analysis

Prepaid Voice

Average call rate/min (within 300 mins) = 0.013$

Average call rate/min (after 300 mins) = 0.025$

Assuming that 90% customers stay within 300 mins and 10% customers talk more than 300 mins

Average revenue/min = 0.9*0.013+0.1*0.025=0.0142$

Page 28: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

• ARPU analysis

Prepaid Data

Average rate/Mb (within 100 Mb) = 0.033$

Average rate/Mb (after 100 Mb) = 0.06$

Assuming that 95% customers stay within 100Mb limit and 5% customers exceed more than 100 Mb limit

Average $/Mb = 0.95*0.033+0.05*0.06=0.03435$

Page 29: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

• ARPU analysis (per month)

– Assuming 75% postpaid customers and 25% prepaid customers

ARPU = 0.75*(0.0135*300+0.03385*100) + 0.25*(0.0142*300+0.03435*100)

=7.5$ => 90$ (per year)

VOICE

(Per min)

DATA

(per Mb)

POSTPAID 0.0135$ 0.03385$

PREPAID 0.0142$ 0.03435$

Page 30: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

– Other analysis (Click link)

Microsoft Excel Worksheet

Page 31: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Financial analysis

Lifetime value

- AC – Acquisition cost – 11.0$

- r – Average retention rate – 93%

- i – Interest rate – 8%

- M – Margin customer generates in year – 26.7$

- LTV = 167$

1

MLTV AC

r i

Page 32: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Business Risks

OPERATIONAL RISKS

• Wholesale capacity pricing policy

• Concern about subscriber data

REGULATORY RISKS

• Foreign direct investment in MVNO

• Limits on MNO investing in MVNO

• Tax structure on profits

Page 33: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Business Risks

OTHER BUSINESS RISKS

• Mobile number portability

• Higher churn rate -> Higher customer acquisition costs.

• Negotiation with education institutions to offer VAS.

Page 34: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

MVNO Business OpportunitiesFuture business opportunities

• Fully functional MVNO in 5-10 years.

• Provide differentiated mobile value added services (m-VAS)

• Future business opportunities – Enterprise MVNO

Page 35: Business Plan MVNO Project Final Presentation

THANK YOU QUESTIONS?