Econsultancy: Email Marketing

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Global independant community-based publisher, Econsultancy tell all about email marketing. A presentation created for the iStrategy2010 conference.

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10 February 2010

Peter AbrahamEconsultancy.com

iStrategy - Email Marketing

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Welcome Who are Econsultancy. 10 years old

Global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital marketing and ecommerce.

80,000+ members worldwide

We help clients build their internal capabilities via a combination of research, reports and how-to guides, training etc.

Our members make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation.

More here: http://econsultancy.com.

*Don’t forget your free copy of our Managing Digital Channels report| 3

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Today - Three sections...

1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan to excellence.

2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI, how they compare to other media.

3. Challenges that affect email marketing success and some thoughts on improving.

Interactive.| 3

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

• People are used to it - use it every day• Adaptable to all stages in lifecycle• Cuts costs – direct mail, telemarketing• Offers short time to market• Short test to roll cycles• Infinitely personalisable• Delivers best Return on Investment...

• Agree?

Why is Email still hot?

| 6

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

ROI of Digital Channels

| 134Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Who killed email? - Wall St Journal...

| 6

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

• R

Who killed email?

| 6

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Email has a widely-aged audience?

| 137

Source:

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

• RSS? - hasn’t gone mass market• SMS? - no links• Twitter - maybe? But we’re still on the

adoption curve• Social networks? - maybe? still rely on

email• iPhone apps? - maybe? When the walls

come down

• So actually Email is alive and well!• It’s why you’re here isn’t it?

Who killed email?

| 6

Integrate this stuff with your email

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing

1. Your Email Marketing capabilities and a plan to excellence

| 5

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Email staged capability matrix.Where are you on here?

1 2 3 4 5

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Your email capabilities...

| 134

Source: Econsultancy Email Marketing Best Practice Guide

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Your email capabilities...

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing

2. Email Marketing budget allocation and ROI, how they compare to other media.

| 5

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

• Email Marketing Calculator - calculate the value of your email database

• http://www.emailcenteruk.com/email-marketing-knowledge/calculator.php

What’s an Email address worth to your business? Do you know?

| 6

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Spend on Email Marketing

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

ROI of Digital Channels

| 134Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

ROI of Digital Channels

| 134Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

ROI of EMail

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Spend on Email Marketing

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Budgets are moving from print to online - how much are you grabbing?

| 6

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Conversion model for email response

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing05 March 2008 Advanced Email Marketing

3. Challenges that affect email marketing success... ...and thoughts on how to improve them - back to basics...

| 5

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Who said email was easy? It’s taken 20yrs!

| 134

Source: The Email Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Concentrate on three things... Deliverability, measurement and monitoring! Good old fashioned marketing.

• If it gets delivered your half way home.

• If you’re measuring you’ll see trends and patterns

• If you’re monitoring you’ll know when to change tact

| 45

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

What do YOU want ME to do as a customer? - Go to the website or other medium? - Register? - Buy stuff? - Turn up again soon? - Give you some feedback? - Keep the relationship alive? - Keep coming back? - Recommend you?

- Keep coming back - in person and online!| 108

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Where do you need focus?

| 137Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Sending less - better targeted?

| 137

Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Getting your message delivered

I

| 137

Source: Email Marketing Census 2009: in association with Adestra (ESP): Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Improve Reputation Management - Clean your Data and up your ROI!

- Remove bounces

- Removes complainers

- Remove un-subscribes

- Your list gets smaller but the returns will be better

| 144

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

A

A

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Does it need to be image rich?No images required, just the facts

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Would you prefer text…as part of registration process?

| 135

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Here’s a Blacklist checker…

| 150

Source: http://www.mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx

Or get your Email provider to do it.

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Self service - Adjust number of messages/alerts received

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Self service - announce other channels available

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

More self service...reminders

| 20

Gives you an excuse to bring them back

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Alert me when in stock

| 66

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Clear navigation - don’t make me think - assists customer journey

Good analytical insight - feedback

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

If your product is complex...assist! 7 days of free training by email...Day 7

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Landin page - Lazy marketing...you know me!!

| 115

So pre-fill please - don’t make me think

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Triggered

| 134

• Use Behavioural data

Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

What did I ask you again?Repeat back what the user asked...

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Freemium model? Up click rates

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

Test factorsNew Origin subscribers•Test group slit 50/50 AB - 50 to receive the "add to address book"•Each subscriber remained in test group for three months after sign-up

Hang on...say...4.5%x AOV £25x 2,000= £50k Wow!

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Simple changes...

| 134

Source: Experian Cheetahmail Case study

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

ReMarketing

| 134

•30% of UK shoppers admit that they would go back online and complete their purchases if something as simple as a small discount or free postage and packing was offered to them

Test factorsFollow-up emails to registered customers who abandon their shopping basketReminder emails about an existing shopping basketFollow-up emails to registered customers that received a system error during checkoutTargeted promotions based on an item a visitor browsedIncentive promotions for out-of-stock or back-ordered items

Source: Experian Case study

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Free Shipping = Higher transactions

| 134

But it doesn’t have to be a small purchase! Bigger bundles.

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Free Shipping = Higher transactions

| 134

Some of the best-performing campaigns are sent to small, highly targeted segments of subscribers, with both the product and free shipping offers geared to the selected audienceAND The use of dynamic content to automatically populate the most relevant product images and copy also can significantly strengthen this tactic and make it easier to employ.

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Mobile - your email list just got bigger.

| 134

•Email usage on mobile devices has nearly doubled since 2004 according to AOL, and the Email Experience Council predicts that 60% of emails will be read outside of the inbox by 2009.

•To cater to this rising demographic, create a text-only version of each email you send this year and link to it at the very top of the template, above any logos or images. Accompany this link with copy such as, “Viewing on a PDA? Click here to view this email in text.”

Source: Cheetahmail Case study

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Mobile - sms alert in email

| 134

Source: http://stylecampaign.com/

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Mobile and Social - drive traffic

| 134

Source: http://stylecampaign.com/

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Make life easier for them and you...

| 134

Source: http://stylecampaign.com/

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Announcements - Offers to your mobile

| 134

Source: http://stylecampaign.com/

Just because it’s email doesn’t mean you should forget all those other channels - conversion is your goal!It’s all about Joined up marketing.

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Mobile and Social

| 134

Source: http://stylecampaign.com/

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Local personalisation

| 134

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Email and crowd sourcing

| 134

• Email assists product marketing

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Demonstrate functionality - search

| 134

• From the ‘don’t make me think’ school of marketing

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Mobile and Social

| 134

• Use keyword insight from onsite and search engine searches to assist purchasing.

• Use Analytics to provide popular categories

• Feed back email to site customer experience team

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Mobile and Social = Kickstart Viral

| 134

Source: Smith-Harmon_Retail_Email_Guide_to_Multichannel_Engagement.pdf

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Multi-channel

| 134Source: Cheetahmail Case study

Source: Cheetahmail Case study

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Multi-channel - TV & Email

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Dual landing pages

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Different landing pages

| 134

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

How many calls to action?Think! What do you want them to do?

| 134

Source: Email Marketing Best Practice Guide: Econsultancy.com

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Plenty of data...

Registration Data

Transactional Data

Click-stream data

Do more analysis!

| 19

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Be Strategic. have an email testing programme

Q1 tests

Registration incentives

From Fields

Subject Lines

Q2 tests

Frequency testing

Personalisation

Price tests

Q3 tests

Automated campaigns

Re-activation strategies

Q4 tests

Segmentation models

Churn analysis

New format

| 52

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Forget about averages.You are where you are. You can’t beat your own data.

- Last campaign is benchmark

- Keep testing

- Keep measuring

| 28

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Email as Business Intelligence

| 6

• These guys monitor email campaigns from across the US...and now twitter too

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

It’s all about seeing the bigger picture…

There are only a few critical areas to measure

- Segmentation size! - Open rate - Click-through rate - Conversion Rate - Average Order Value!

| 113

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Summary

- Deliverability, measurement & monitoring and testing are critical to ROI!

- Know the true value of your data, if your Email has the highest ROI, go for more budget

- Have a plan to excellence. Keep learning and assess that learning as the discipline evolves - people with skills are key, technology is only an enabler! Remember 90/10

| 152

10 Feb 2010 iStrategy - Email Marketing

Thanks for your time

...why not Email your questions to me: peter.abraham@econsultancy.com

For good resources - check the sources or drop me an email.

Econsultancy is a global independent community-based publisher, focused on best practice digital marketing and ecommerce. Our hub has 80,000+ members worldwide from clients, agencies and suppliers alike with over 90% member retention rate. We help our members build their internal capabilities via a combination of research reports and how-to guides, training and development, face-to-face conferences, forums and professional networking.

For the last 10 years, our resources have helped members learn, make better decisions, build business cases, find the best suppliers, accelerate their careers and lead the way in best practices and innovation.

Join Econsultancy today at http://econsultancy.com.

| 154

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