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Social Media for Business Marketers the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success © 2011 Marketo, Inc.

Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

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Page 1: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Social Media for Business Marketersthe real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

© 2011 Marketo, Inc.

Page 2: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Our SpeakersPaul  Gillin / @pgillin

Eric Schwartzman / @ericschwartzmanEric Schwartzman / @ericschwartzman

Authors of 

Social Marketing to the Business Customerwww.B2BSocialMediaBook.com 

#Marketo

Page 3: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

@pgillin

@[email protected]

Page 4: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Tale of Two Media

60,000

70,000

US Newspaper Business

Circulation (000)

SomewhaVery

Perceived ROI of Company's Social Media Activities

30,000

40,000

50,000Revenues ($000)

Somewhat negative

2%

Neutral16%

S h

Very positive

36%

0

10,000

20,000

1994 1997 2000 2003 2006 2009

Somewhat

positive46%

1994 1997 2000 2003 2006 2009

Average age of US daily newspaper reader: 57Reduction in US newsroom staffs

93% of B2B buyers use search to begin the buying process80% of IT decision-makers say Reduction in US newsroom staffs

since 2001: 45%Direct-mail spending is expected to decline nearly 40% by 2014

word of mouth is their most important source when making buying decisionsGoogle Processes 38 000

Page 4#Marketo Page 4#Marketo

Google Processes 38,000 search queries every second

Page 5: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

How is B2B Different?

• Value-drive decision-makingGroup consensus• Group consensus

• “Bet the business”• Long-term relationshipsLong term relationships• Audience is knowledgeable, engaged, serious• Intense need for information

Page 5#Marketo Page 5#Marketo

Page 6: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Calling All Stakeholders

Number of People Involved in Technology Buying Decisions by Purchase Amount

$25,000 - $99,999

$100,000 - $999,999

1 - 3 4 - 8

9 - 15 >15

More than $1 million

9 15 15

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60%

Page 6#Marketo Page 6#Marketo

Page 7: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

New World Prospecting

OUTBOUND INBOUND

Bottom-up lead gen

Enhanced lead

SEO

Blogsqualification

Multiple points of

g

Twitter

C t t P i Multiple points of engagement

Content Premiums

Word of Mouth

Page 7#Marketo Page 7#Marketo @ericschwartzman @pgillin

Page 8: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Tools for the Funnel

Impression

SalesLead

White paper | eBookAnalyst report | PublicationBlog | Article | Tweet | Podcast

Quality Contact Case study | Video testimonial

G id d | P d d

Prospect

Guided tour | Product demoWebinar | Press coverageGlossary | ROI calculator

Free trial/ConsultationHelp desk | Chat | ForumTraining | Usage tips C t t i f ti

Page 8#Marketo Page 8

CustomerContact information

Source: NowSpeed Marketing, Inc.#Marketo

Page 9: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Mainstays of B2B Social Media

Value of Each Social Media Platform

LinkedIn

Blogging

YouTube

Facebook

Twitter

0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100%

Least important 2 3 4 Most important

Page 9#Marketo Page 9

BtoB Magazine Survey of 387 Marketers, April, 2010

#Marketo

Page 10: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Thought Leadership

Page 10#Marketo Page 10#Marketo

Page 11: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Lead Gen Excellence

73 blogs

17 bloggers

600% jump in leads

Top quality

“Get engineers talking to engineers and get everyone else out of the middle.”

Page 11#Marketo Page 11

Rick Short, Marcom Director#Marketo @ericschwartzman @pgillin

Page 12: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Oh, the Things That You Know!

March 30 April 4 April 9Prospect reaches website

through search query "small business accounting," views four pages and subscribes to

newsletter.

Prospect responds to e-mail invitation for "Choosing Small Business Accounting Software" webcast 30 minutes after e-

mail is sent.

pProspect attends webcast,

stays 45 minutes and submits a question related to legal

practices.

April 10Prospect clicks link in webcast

summary e-mail to visit product description page. He

downloads PDF of product

April 12Prospect downloads trial

version of your small business accounting software for legal downloads PDF of product

brochure about software for legal practices.

accounting software for legal practices.

Page 12#Marketo Page 12#Marketo

Page 13: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Social Networks: The Power of 130

The average Facebook member has 130 friends, who each receive notifications of their network’s Facebook activities

Page 13#Marketo Page 13#Marketo @ericschwartzman @pgillin

Page 14: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Reuse and Distribute

Use Every Available Channel to Promote

Page 14#Marketo Page 14#Marketo

Page 15: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Don’t Just Say “Follow Us On Twitter”

Promote benefits of membershipDescribe contentOff lti lOffer multiple topical destinationsEmbed widgets toEmbed widgets to keep people on site

Page 15#Marketo Page 15#Marketo @ericschwartzman @pgillin

Page 16: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

ROI is Simple, Knucklehead

ROI = COST OF INVESTMENT

(GAIN FROM INVESTMENT - COST OF INVESTMENT)

COST OF INVESTMENT

Page 16#Marketo Page 16#Marketo

Page 17: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Basic Business Metrics

Lifetime Value of a Customer = (Longevity * Revenue) * Margin(Longevity * Revenue) * Margin

Conversion Rate = Conversion Rate New Customers/ Visits or Leads

Value of a Lead/Visitor = Visitor * Conversion Rate * Lifetime Value

Page 17#Marketo Page 17#Marketo

Page 18: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

These are NOT ROI

Website Visitors Press coverage

Video viewsImpressions

Click-throughs

Store visits

RetweetsVideo views

Coupons distributedStore visits “Buzz”

Employment applications Blog comments

Friends

Employment applications

FaceBook friends

Blog comments

Twitter followers

But if you can quantify their financial impact you have ROI!

Page 18#Marketo Page 18

impact, you have ROI!#Marketo @ericschwartzman @pgillin

Page 19: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

OK, Let’s Make it Real

Typical customer Moe spendsTypical customer Moe spends $10,000/year with you

Moe is with you for five years

Your profit margin is 10%Your profit margin is 10%

Lifetime value of Moe is($10 000 * 5) * 1 $5 000($10,000 * 5) * .1 = $5,000

Page 19#Marketo Page 19#Marketo

Page 20: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Applying ROI: Value of a Visitor

Monthly Visitors

10,000Visitors

Conversion Rate

.5%Rate

Lifetime Value $5,000

Calculation (10,000 * .005 * 5)/10,000Calculation ( , ) ,

Value of a Visitor $25

Page 20#Marketo Page 20#Marketo @ericschwartzman @pgillin

Page 21: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

[email protected]‐656‐0734Site: gillin.com / Blog: paulgillin.com

[email protected]‐455‐4000ericschwartzman.com/ Blog: ontherecordpodcast.com

#Marketo

Page 22: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Q AQ&A@pgillin@pgillin@ericschwartman

#Marketo

Page 23: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Post‐webinar discussion, right after today’s webinar (use #Marketo)today s webinar (use #Marketo)http://bit.ly/MarketoChat

Webinar slides and discussion highlightsg ghttp://linkd.in/marketo‐group 

#Marketo

Page 24: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

The Revenue Masters Webinar SeriesJanuary May 2011January - May 2011

Social Media for Business MarketersThe Definitive Guide to Lead ScoringThe Definitive Guide to Lead ScoringCEO Roundtable DiscussionFrom No‐Budget to Signed Deal using Provocation‐Based SellingWinning with Better Landing PagesWinning with Better Landing PagesSearch Marketing and Social MediaBuilding a Successful Customer CommunityAddi th H T h i t L d N t iAdding the Human Touch into your Lead Nurturing

Featuring Anne Holland, Sandy Carter, Paul Gillin, Jon Miller, Lee Odden Brian Carroll Rand Fishkin and moreLee Odden, Brian Carroll, Rand Fishkin, and more.www.marketo.com

Page 24#Marketo#Marketo

Page 25: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

The Revenue Masters Webinar SeriesJanuary May 2011January - May 2011

Social Media for Business MarketersThe Definitive Guide to Lead ScoringThe Definitive Guide to Lead ScoringCEO Roundtable DiscussionFrom No‐Budget to Signed Deal using Provocation‐Based SellingWinning with Better Landing PagesWinning with Better Landing PagesSearch Marketing and Social MediaBuilding a Successful Customer CommunityAddi th H T h i t L d N t iAdding the Human Touch into your Lead Nurturing

Featuring Anne Holland, Sandy Carter, Paul Gillin, Jon Miller, Lee Odden Brian Carroll Rand Fishkin and moreLee Odden, Brian Carroll, Rand Fishkin, and more.www.marketo.com

Page 25#Marketo

Page 26: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

The Revenue Masters Webinar SeriesJanuary May 2011January - May 2011

Social Media for Business MarketersThe Definitive Guide to Lead ScoringThe Definitive Guide to Lead ScoringCEO Roundtable DiscussionFrom No‐Budget to Signed Deal using Provocation‐Based SellingWinning with Better Landing PagesWinning with Better Landing PagesSearch Marketing and Social MediaBuilding a Successful Customer CommunityAddi th H T h i t L d N t iAdding the Human Touch into your Lead Nurturing

Featuring Anne Holland, Sandy Carter, Paul Gillin, Jon Miller, Lee Odden Brian Carroll Rand Fishkin and moreLee Odden, Brian Carroll, Rand Fishkin, and more.www.marketo.com

Page 26#Marketo

Page 27: Social Media for Business Marketers - the real ways B2B marketers can use social media to drive success

Thank YouThank YouContact UsContact Us+1.877.260.6586www.marketo.com