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Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

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Page 1: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Page 2: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

We are a B2B Digital Marketing Agency focusing on demand generation.

Companies work with us to:• Increase qualified leads• Track SEO and SEM to ROI• Marketing Automation Support

About Us

• Search Engine Optimization• Paid Search & Display• Website Redesign• Marketing Automation

Page 3: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

1 5 Reasons your Paid Search is doomed to fail

2 Site audit example

On the Agenda

Page 4: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

4

5 Reasons your Paid Search is doomed to fail

Page 5: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #1: Google AdWords expectations weren’t established from the start

You can project how leads and costs per lead beforehand by:• Having a list of keywords • Running them through Google’s

Keyword Planner • Using a basic Excel model • Applying your conversion rates

Takeaway: Having a sense of what you can expect from AdWords based on actual costs is critical to success

Page 6: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

• First step is calculating how much it will cost you based on the competitiveness of the keywords you want to bid on

• Next, identify how much you pay for leads based on your other channels, e.g. tradeshows, affiliate partners, email etc.

Know how much you are willing to pay and what it will actually cost

Reason #1: Google AdWords expectations weren’t established from the start

Impression weighted CPC

Page 7: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #1 – How much does it cost? How much are you willing to pay?

With an impression weighted CPC you can now scenario plan what a return might look like

Media buy = $2,000 (Google Ad Spend)Impression weighted CPC = $1.42Clicks: $2,000 / $1.42 = 1,408 clicksConversion Rate: 2%Leads: 1,408 X 2% = 28 Leads!

Page 8: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

• Takeaway: Quality Scores can be saving you as much as 50% vs. your competitors or costing you as much as 400% more!

Why Do Quality Scores matter so much?

Reason #2: You don’t know how Quality Scores impact your bids

Page 9: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #2: You don’t know how Quality Scores impact your bids

Cost per click (CPC) calculation:

Takeaway: Poor quality scores hit you 2 times, once in the ad rank calculation, and once in what you actually pay on a cost per click basis. ITS CRITICAL!!!!!

AdRank calculation (If you show up and in what order): CPC Bid x Quality Score

Definitions:

Page 10: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #2: You don’t know how Quality Scores impact your bids

Cost per click (CPC) calculation:

Sources: https://support.google.com/adwords/answer/6297?hl=en / Wordstream Blog

Takeaway: Google incentivizes advertisers with better quality scores. Average QS is 5. QS > 6 = 6-50% decrease in cost per clicks. QS < 4 = 24-400% increase in CPC’s!

Page 11: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

• Need Help Calculating?: Reach out in the Q&A for assistance

How to find Quality Scores?

1. For each search campaign navigate to keywords tab

2. Click on columns, attributes and add “Qual. Score”

3. Export, calculated impression weighted quality score

Reason #2: You don’t know how Quality Scores impact your bids

Page 12: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #2: You don’t know how Quality Scores impact your bids

How do I improve my quality scores? Here are the main contributors of improving quality scores: • Improve your Click through rates (CTR) via better written ad copy

(More enticing) use of ad extensions• Create tight knit theme ad groups (Biggest offender!)• Improve the relevancy between the keyword you bid on, ad copy

and landing page

Page 13: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #3: You entrust Google to make better business decisions for you

From letting them set up your AdWords campaigns to turning on “Enhanced CPC”, Google is a business looking to maximize return

• They are NOT incentivized to help you get a better return on your investment

Enhanced CPC = Letting Google bid as much as 30% more on a cpc basis if it means the difference between your ad showing or not

Page 14: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Why? You don’t have the time to make the changes

Impact of fixing?

• Daily/weekly optimizations are critical for improvement

The Details:

• Better ROI • Example: If you bid on keywords on broad/phrase match,

chances are there are great keywords waiting to get discovered and added as exact match

• Improve those quality scores!• Broad/Phrase match targeting left unchecked is like setting money on

fire• Day parting, Geographic targeting, device adjustment optimizations

Reason #4: You don’t have time to manage your account

Page 15: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Reason #5 You aren’t tracking your leads nearly as far down the funnel as you should be

• Not knowing which keywords are more profitable to you is like blindly investing in the stock market, you are bound to overpay!

• Too many companies stop tracking at inquiries. Match your CRM data with your AdWords data

• There is a difference between cost per lead and actual ROI.

• Match your CRM data with your AdWords data

Closed Won

Sales Qualified Lead

Marketing Qualified Lead

Raw Lead

Page 16: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

Tracking Paid Search Keywords to Leads, Opportunities & Revenue

Reason #5 You aren’t tracking your leads nearly as far down the funnel as you should be

Page 17: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach

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Reason #5 You aren’t tracking your leads nearly as far down the funnel as you should be

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Site Audit Example

Page 19: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Contact: [email protected] | Digital Reach 19

Expectations were not set at the beginning. Simple modeling can help! Quality Scores are destroying your performance You trust Google too much! You don’t have time to manage your campaign aka on auto pilot You are not making ROI based decisions because you are not tracking

paid search inquiries into CRM

Summary

Page 20: Why Your Paid Search is Doomed to Fail

Get a second opinion on your SEO & Demand Generation Approach

In a 30 minute consultation, learn: Where you rank in relation to competitors Measure revenue opportunity from Search What you can do to accelerate results from SEO now

Mike TurnerHead of New Business

Thanks for watching!

Email [email protected] or call (925) 750-8550 for more information