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Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing Report WordCamp London 2017 Ilia Markov www.markovunchained.com @nochainmarkov

Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing Report

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Page 1: Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing Report

Showing ROI: How to Create a Content Marketing ReportWordCamp London 2017

Ilia Markov www.markovunchained.com @nochainmarkov

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Download these slides:

http://nocha.in/wcldn17

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Why does content ROI matter?

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Every uncool content marketer ever

Oh, I’m mostly a blogger…

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What gets measured, gets managedPeter Drucker (maybe)

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Playbill

• Act 1: Content is part of your business strategy

• Act 2: How to set up a report

• Act 3: How to calculate ROI

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• Content marketer with strong focus on SaaS companies

• Curator of Content Marketing Weekly newsletter

• Saints fan, have traveled to Hull, Swansea, and Southampton

A bit about myself…

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Act 1: Content is part of your business

strategy

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Business Objectives

Marketing Objectives

Marketing Strategy

Content Objectives

Content Strategy

Content Tactics

What’s the bigger picture?

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What are your goals with content?

• NOT “Traffic” → It could be a KPI (next slide)

• Do you have someone doing Sales? → It could be leads

• Are you selling a digital product (SaaS)? → Trials started

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Tie your KPI framework with the goals

• KPI = Key Performance Indicator

• What metric shows progress on your goals?

• Some popular options include:

• Traffic

• Shares & Comments

• Leads generated

• Conversions

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Act 2: Set up your content report

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What tools to use

• Google Analytics → straightforward (sort of)

• Woopra → detailed analytics, free plan

• Google Search Console → for measuring SEO

• Google Sheets + Analytics Add-on → for the actual report

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Create a funnel

Traffic

Leads

Prospects

Customers

Sessions, Unique visitors, New vs. Returning

Emails collected (Goal conversions)

Pricing page visited, Trials started

Sales (Goal conversions)

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Woopra works great for funnels

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Your report could be a custom dashboard

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Or built from scratch by pulling data

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Some things you should consider

• Attribution → consider using UTM links

• Set up goals in Google Analytics / Woopra

• How to measure to avoid data issues (spikes, etc.)

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UTM links allow you to get very detailed

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Setting up goals in Google Analytics

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Think about how you look at data

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Act 3: How to Calculate ROI

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You need to know two numbers

• CAC: Cost of Acquiring a Customer

• LTV: Average Customer Lifetime Value

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How to find out your CAC

• In February you generated 4 clients and spent £1200 on content:

• Writing: £800 (4 posts x £200 each)

• Editing: £300 (10 hours x £30)

• Tools (hosting, keyword research, email provider, lead gen): £100

• => Your CAC of content is £1200 / 4 = £300

• But this is quite simplified…

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Calculating LTV is similar

• In reality, it’s the average deal size, but with caveats…

• If you’re selling a subscription-based product (e.g. SaaS, productized consulting, etc.), => average [monthly/annual] rate x average time someone’s a customer

• If you’re freelancing (e.g. building websites for clients) => figure out your average deal size

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Putting CAC and LTV together

LTV < CAC

Obviously not good…

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Putting CAC and LTV together

LTV > CAC

Slightly better, but…

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Putting CAC and LTV together

£301 > £300

…is it enough?

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A good measure of comparison

LTV ≥ 3x CAC

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For more on the topic:

• Content Marketing ROI: How We Measure Success at Hubstaff

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nocha.in/content-marketing-weekly

Before I finish…

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Thank you!

@[email protected]

http://nocha.in/wcldn17

It’s time for your questions…