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Content Marketing Master Class
Return on Investment#ContentROI
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Content Marketing ROI
Steve RaysonDirector, BuzzSumo@steverayson
Your host
Expert speakerMichael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael
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The Content FormulaCalculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again
Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an
impact!
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ROI is the #1 objective for Marketers in 2016
CMO’s greatest challenge is showing measurable ROI.
Marketers claim measuring marketing effectiveness is their greatest challenge
93%~AdAge
81%~CMI / MProfs
Marketing Has A Marketing Problem
What is the ROI?
@BrennerMichael @LizBedor
The First Banner Ad (1994)
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Less likely to click on a banner than…
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The average click-through rate of display ads (DoubleClick) .06%
10% Banner ad clicks by Bots(comScore)
50% Clicks on mobile ads that are accidental(GoldSpot)
What Can We Stop? Banner Ads?
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What’s The ROI of logos on stadiums?@BrennerMichael
#BMA16
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“CEOs and Boards will no longer accept marketing
that doesn’t deliver results!”~Gabe Leydon,
CEO, Machine Zone
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We need to stop interrupting what people are interested in
and be what people are interested
in!
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There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, which were shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
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There were over 500 articles published on Content Marketing ROI in the last year, shared 90,000 times. There were over 4,000 articles on marketing ROI more generally.
The median shares for B2B sites is 106 shares and for 1M random sites is 8 shares!!!
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The buyer journey is nothing more than a series of
questions that must be answered.
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleYour
Customers Middle
Early What is / are?Why important
LateWho?How much?Where? 1
StagePersona Questions / Concerns Keyword Index
100
How to? 10
Content Marketing is as simple as answering your customers’ top
questions
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WARNING!
Math ahead!
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Content Marketing programs
are assets with real value that grows over time.
Need proof . . .
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Sep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-150
100
200
300
400
500
600
-
100,000
200,000
300,000
400,000
500,000
600,000
COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING
# A
rtic
les
Page
view
s
________ Leads
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Return
What is ROI?
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleROI =Investment
(Revenue – Investment)
What is ROI?
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With Less
Do MoreWhat is ROI?
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With Less
Do The Same
What is ROI?
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60-70% of marketing contentgoes completely unused.
*Sirius Decisions
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Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.
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Content Used30%
Content Not Used70%
Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity*
* Source: Econsultancy = $
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We need to push back
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The Art of Pushing Back
Why does this matter?
What is the impact?
How will it be measured?
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Content Marketing Requires Empathy
ContentMarketing
What Brands Publish
WhatCustomers
Want
Business Instinct CharityEmpathy
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How do you explain the importance of
empathy to executives who don’t have any?
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Show me the money!
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The #1 Way To ImproveMarketing ROI . . .
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Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low to High
=$
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Reach early stage buyers
Engage new buyers with your
brand
Conversions you would have never
reached
= $
Build The Business Case For Change
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?
=$
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Lyly Lepinay – (Former) Content Marketing Manager, CapGemini “We’re Spending $$$ On Paid Search Because We Don’t Rank Organically!”
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30%70%
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CapGemini: Content-Loop.com
~1M visitors in 1st year+ 3K new followers / week+ High Quality Leads+ Sales = ROI
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)
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Content Marketing ROI – Reach
The Value of Organic Search = ($2 CPC X 1,000,000) = $1 Million
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Casper’s Van Winkles• Effortlessly combines
national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates.
• Up to 6 new posts per day
• Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+
Casper’s Van Winkles
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
Subscribers have value. And are 9x more likely to convert
than non-subscribers
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
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Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement
The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)
$10 Million / 400,000 = $25
10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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Product vs. Category Searches”SAP Cloud” vs. “Cloud Computing”
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SAP Website: Talking To Themselves
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The Math Didn’t Help
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The Power of Fear
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IMAGINE: We show up first in Google
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IMAGINE: We own the categorywww.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)
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IMAGINE: We own the target audiencewww.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe
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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyersAMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division
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BUT: SAP had no budget
Engagement?99% Bounce Rate
How Much COST?$200,000
Search Traffic?0, None, Nada, ZipSocial Shares?Also ZERO
Conversions?“This is an awareness campaign”
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SAP Digitalist Magazine
To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.
Engagement?70%
How Much COST?$100,000Half the ad budget
Search Traffic?50%Social Shares?10%
Conversions?~1,000 in year 1
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SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…
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Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =
(Content Marketing Leads X Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000 = $540,000
($540,000 - $100,000) / $100,000 = 4.4X ROI
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Organic Search Traffic
REACH
Unbranded Search Traf -fic
LEADS
CONVERT
OTHER CONVERSIONS
SUBSCRIBERS
Time on Site
ENGAGE
Social shares
Subscriptions
Bounce rate
Retention Rate
Upsells
RETAIN
Measure The ROI of Content Marketing
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It’s 6-7X cheaper to keep an existing customer than to
acquire a new one.A 5% increase in retention
= 95% increase in ROI.
CLICK TO EDIT MASTER TITLEClick to edit Master subtitle styleContent Marketing
ROI:Content consumers spend 2x more and are 3x more loyal.
Shane JordanDigital Marketing ManagerBlue Cross BlueShield of Alabama
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Content Marketing ROI - RetentionThe Value of Retention= Lifetime Value $$$
Retention Rate $$$
Rev $$$ per Content-consuming Customers
vs. Non-Content-consuming Customers@BrennerMichael
Life is short
Your business “life” is even shorter
STOP doing stuff that doesn’t make an
impact!
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BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS
My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula
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Thank you!Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael