Exploring English Language Resources for Mexican Elementary and Middle School ESL Teachers

  • Published on
    16-May-2015

  • View
    6.768

  • Download
    0

Transcript

  • 1. Jesus Alonso-Regalado Exploring English-Language Resources for Mexican Elementary and Middle School ESL Teachers July 21, 25, 2013

2. Workshop Outline 1. Digital Libraries/Archives 2. Searching Tools & Repositories 3. Useful Websites: National & International 4. Images, Sounds, Video 5. ESL Websites 6. Webquests 7. Free English Dictionaries 8. Databases Specialized in Education 9. Learning Standards. American Association of School Librarians 3. Digital Libraries/Archives World Digital Library http://www.wdl.org/en/ Digital Public Library of America http://dp.la/ International Childrens Digital Library http://en.childrenslibrary.org/ StoryPlace. The Childrens Digital Library: http://www.storyplace.org/storyplace.asp Digital Comic Museum http://digitalcomicmuseum.com/ 4. Library of Congress Major Digital Libraries/Archives Teacher Resources http://www.loc.gov/teachers/ Classroom Materials http://www.loc.gov/teachers/classroommaterials Other Useful LC Resources: Americas Story http://www.americaslibrary.gov/ Everyday Mysteries http://www.loc.gov/rr/scitech/mysteries/ Hispanic Division http://www.loc.gov/rr/hispanic/ 5. Searching Tools & Repositories Kidrex http://www.kidrex.org/ KidsClick http://www.kidsclick.org/ Internet Public Library. Ipl2 for Kids http://www.ipl.org/div/kidspace/ Wikimedia Commons http://commons.wikimedia.org Search Creative Commons http://search.creativecommons.org/ 6. Useful Websites National & International EDSITEment! National Endowment for the Humanities http://edsitement.neh.gov/ New York Public Library. Websites for Kids http://kids.nypl.org/websites-for-kids Smithsonian Kids http://www.si.edu/Kids Cyberschoolbus. United Nations http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/ 7. Images, Sound, Video REALIA project http://www.realiaproject.org/ Panoramio http://www.panoramio.com/ Perry-Castaeda Library Map Collection http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/ Smithsonian Folkways http://www.folkways.si.edu Tell Me a Story. Fingerplays, Rhymes and Songs http://wiki.kcls.org/tellmeastory/index.php/Fingerplays,_Rhymes_and_Songs PBS Kids http://pbskids.org/ 8. Specialized ESL Websites (I) Learn English Kids (British Council) http://learnenglishkids.britishcouncil.org/en/ Teaching English (British Council/BBC) http://www.teachingenglish.org.uk/ English Central http://www.englishcentral.com/ Colorin Colorado http://www.colorincolorado.org/ 9. Specialized ESL Websites (II) Internet TESL Journal Links Page http://iteslj.org/links/ ESL Gold http://www.eslgold.com/ Randalls ESL Cyber Listening Lab http://www.esl-lab.com/ English as a Second Language Online http://www.usingenglish.com/ EverythingESL.net http://www.everythingesl.net/ Learn English Using Online Resources. NYPL http://www.nypl.org/help/community-outreach/immigrant-services/learn-esol-online- resources 10. Webquests Zunal http://www.zunal.com/ 11. Free English Dictionaries Learners Dictionary Merriam Webster http://www.learnersdictionary.com/ Forvo http://www.forvo.com Offers pronunciations for over 1 million words in many languages Pronny http://www.rightpronunciation.com Pronny gives you the right pronunciation of important names belonging to the major languages of the world Rhyme Zone http://www.rhymezone.com/ Visual Dictionaries 12. Databases Specialized in Education By Subscription: Education Full Text, PsycINFO, ERIC, Education Research Complete, OECD iLibrary, Education Source Free: ERIC (Limited full text availability) http://www.eric.ed.gov/ 13. Learning Standards American Association of School Librarians (AASL) AASL Standards for the 21st-Century Learner http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/learning-standards Lesson Plan Database http://aasl.jesandco.org/ English Language Arts http://www.ala.org/aasl/guidelinesandstandards/commoncorecrosswalk/english The following page include tables that help school librarians learn how the AASL Standards for the 21st-Century Learner and the Common Core State Standards align for English Language Arts. Best Apps for Teaching & Learning http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/best-apps Best Websites for Teaching & Learning http://www.ala.org/aasl/standards-guidelines/best-websites/2013

Recommended

View more >