How to Calculate Conversions from Content Marketing
These are prospects who became customers
because of either helpful, useful and/or
entertaining content you provided them.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Percentage of people who take
a desired action.
WHAT TO MEASURE :
COST PER LEAD PERCENTAGE OF LEADS
SOURCED CONVERSIONS
Amount your brand spends
to acquire a lead.
Percentage of leads sourced by content
compared to other marketing programs.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Percentage of people who take
a desired action.
WHAT TO MEASURE :
COST PER LEAD PERCENTAGE OF LEADS
SOURCED CONVERSIONS
Amount your brand pays in
advertising to acquire a lead.
Percentage of leads sourced by content
compared to other marketing programs.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Percentage of people who take
a desired action.
WHAT TO MEASURE :
COST PER LEAD PERCENTAGE OF LEADS
SOURCED CONVERSIONS
Amount your brand pays in
advertising to acquire a lead.
Percentage of leads sourced by content
compared to other marketing programs.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
HOW TO CALCULATE THE VALUE OF:
COST PER LEAD
Calculating content marketing’s cost
per lead is crucial in order to benchmark your
program’s effectiveness against
other marketing programs.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Determining this is quite simple. To begin,
we need to know the costs accrued to create
and distribute the content.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CONTENT ACTIVITY COST
ROI Guide Creation $3,000
ROI Guide Sponsored Email $10,000
Strategy Guide Creation $3,000
Strategy Guide Sponsored Webinar $20,000
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
In this example, we’ve created two pieces of content:
• For the ROI Guide, we spent $3,000 to create and invested $10,000 to distribute.
CONTENT ACTIVITY COST
ROI Guide Creation $3,000
ROI Guide Sponsored Email $10,000
Strategy Guide Creation $3,000
Strategy Guide Sponsored Webinar $20,000
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
In this example, we’ve created two pieces of content:
• For the ROI Guide, we spent $3,000 to create and invested $10,000 to distribute.
• For the Strategy Guide we also spent $3,000 to create, but spent $20,000 to distribute.
• Combining these costs, we can see that the ROI Guide cost us $13,000 and the Strategy Guide cost us $23,000.
CONTENT ACTIVITY COST TOTAL COST
ROI Guide Creation $3,000 $13,000
ROI Guide Sponsored Email $10,000
Strategy Guide Creation $3,000 $23,000
Strategy Guide Sponsored Webinar $20,000
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
In this example, we’ve created two pieces of content:
• For the ROI Guide, we spent $3,000 to create and invested $10,000 to distribute.
• For the Strategy Guide we also spent $3,000 to create, but spent $20,000 to distribute.
• Combining these costs, we can see that the ROI Guide cost us $13,000 and the Strategy Guide cost us $23,000.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see
how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130
Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see
how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.
• Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130
Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see
how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.
• Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.
• To calculate cost per lead, we want to take the total cost ($13,000) divided by the total number of qualified leads (205).
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130
Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see
how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.
• Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.
• To calculate cost per lead, we want to take the total cost ($13,000) divided by the total number of qualified leads (205). • $13,000 / 205 = $63
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177
Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see
how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.
• Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.
• To calculate cost per lead, we want to take the total cost ($13,000) divided by the total number of qualified leads (205). • $13,000 / 205 = $63
• Therefore, our ROI Guide cost $63 per qualified lead.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177
To determine an accurate average total cost per lead of content marketing, we’d
want to take a larger sample, but for the purpose of this guide, we’ll simplify and
average these two costs.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177
To determine an accurate average total cost per lead of content marketing, we’d
want to take a larger sample, but for the purpose of this guide, we’ll simplify and
average these two costs.
$63 + $177 / 2 = $120
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL
ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63
Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177
To determine an accurate average total cost per lead of content marketing, we’d
want to take a larger sample, but for the purpose of this guide, we’ll simplify and
average these two costs.
$63 + $177 / 2 = $120
Therefore our average total cost per lead for content marketing is $120.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
HOW TO CALCULATE THE VALUE OF:
PERCENTAGE OF LEADS SOURCED
In order to determine the
percentage of leads from content marketing,
we first need to gather total number of leads
sourced from other marketing programs.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Looking at this gathered data, we see that content marketing accounts for 205 of the
total 710 marketing qualified leads.
PROGRAM MQLs
Content 205
Events 300
Advertising 30
Email 100
Public Relations 75
Total 710
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
Looking at this gathered data, we see that content marketing accounts for 205 of the
total 710 marketing qualified leads. To find the percentage, we take 205/710 to find that content marketing accounts
for 28.9% of total qualified leads.
PROGRAM MQLs PERCENTAGE
Content 205 28.9%
Events 300 42.2%
Advertising 30 4.2%
Email 100 14.2%
Public Relations 75 10.5%
Total 710 100%
EVENTS
ADVERTISING
CONTENT
PUBLIC RELATIONS
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
HOW TO CALCULATE THE VALUE OF:
CONVERSIONS
Finally, to determine the actual revenue
sourced by content marketing, we need
to look at conversions.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE
AVERAGE SALES VALUE
Content 205 50% $500
For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%
and the average sale is worth $500.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE
AVERAGE SALES VALUE
Content 205 50% $500
For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%
and the average sale is worth $500.
• To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE
AVERAGE SALES VALUE CONVERSIONS
Content 205 50% $500 102.5
For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%
and the average sale is worth $500.
• To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.
• 205 * 50% = 102.5 conversions
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE
AVERAGE SALES VALUE CONVERSIONS
Content 205 50% $500 102.5
For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%
and the average sale is worth $500.
• To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.
• 205 * 50% = 102.5 conversions • Based on that finding we assume these sales will average $500, so to find the total value we
• multiply 102.5 * $500 = $51,000
BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS
PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE
AVERAGE SALES VALUE CONVERSIONS TOTAL CONVERSION
VALUE
Content 205 50% $500 102.5 $51,000
For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%
and the average sale is worth $500.
• To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.
• 205 * 50% = 102.5 conversions • Based on that finding we assume these sales will average $500, so to find the total value we
• multiply 102.5 * $500 = $51,000
• Therefore, our total content marketing conversions are worth $51,000
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