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Springsteen Program \ General Mills Confidential GMI Labeling Guidelines for Digital Media Project Graffiti 1 Updated November 1, 2011

Springsteen Program \ General Mills Confidential GMI Labeling Guidelines for Digital Media Project Graffiti 1 Updated November 1, 2011

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Springsteen Program \ General Mills ConfidentialSpringsteen Program \ General Mills ConfidentialSpringsteen Program \ General Mills Confidential

GMI Labeling Guidelines for Digital MediaProject Graffiti

1

Updated November 1, 2011

Springsteen Program \ General Mills ConfidentialSpringsteen Program \ General Mills Confidential

Table of Contents

page

Purpose of the Guidelines 3

Global procedures 6

Complete list of GMI Attributes 7

Labeling details for each attribute 8

Graffiti contact information 31

GMI Division_BusinessUnit_Brand abbreviations 32

GMI Data Flow for Marketing Mix Model 33

Project Graffiti Background 37

Next steps 45

GMI Graffiti Labeling Guidelines

2

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Establish hierarchy, process and standards for labeling

all GMI digital media/creative

Enable standardized data to flow into,and actionable results to flow out

of, all GMI digital media

Increase digital marketing effectivenessOutcome:

Benefit:

Purpose of this guide:

3

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GMI Labeling Guidelines for Digital Media

Provide clear, consistent and up-to-date direction to all General Mills digital partners about:• The complete list of attributes GMI wants to track• The universe of GMI names for each attribute• The naming conventions and abbreviations to use when labeling

digital media/creative attributes• Syncing up GMI attributes to Doubleclick [and in the future, with other

ad servers – Marin for search, Vindico for video, etc.]

This guide is a work in progress. It will change over time. We will revise and republish it as needed. General Mills welcomes partner input on improving and standardizing our labeling guidelines.

Purpose of this guide

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Timing and Applications

All partner agencies to begin applying new labeling conventions to digital display campaigns immediately. • No requirement to revise campaigns from past years.• Re-labeling of existing FY12 campaigns is desired.

Search, video and other digital advertising channels, which use ad servers other than Doubleclick, are to apply new labeling conventions as soon as possible, where feasible.

GMI to meet with partner agencies every quarter throughout FY12 to assess new labeling and optimize guidelines.

FY12 Rollout

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Global Procedures for Naming Conventions

Use standard abbreviations for all labels. [e.g. BAKE vs. Baking] Use underscores ( _ ) to separate labels. Do not uses spaces or

hyphens between multiple labels in a string or field. Every attribute must be included, in the same order, in all fields, to

enable proper parsing for reporting. Do not skip an attribute. Use only letters and numbers when naming the campaign name and

creative message. Do not use symbols or punctuation. Trackers used to collect data on site-served and Pointroll-served

media will be named as though they are not trackers, instead detailing the size or video length and other criteria of the ad that they are tracking rather than including 1x1 in the placement name.

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GMI Attributes: Complete List

1. Division2. - Business Unit3. -Brand4. Campaign Name / Concept5. Fiscal Year [F12]6. Creative Message 7. Creative Goal [awareness, coupon, etc.]8. Media Type [13 display, video, search types]9. Creative Dimensions [300x250, etc.]10. Site [Yahoo, Discovery, etc.]11. Site Section [ROS, contextual, etc.]12. Ad Format [Flash, gif, etc.]13. Campaign Start Date14. Campaign End Date

15. Run Date [MMM prefers weekly rollup]16. Market [DMA in DFA -> MMM will convert to

Scantrack]17. Impressions18. Cost19. CPM20. Effective CPM21. Clicks22. Click-through-rate23. Conversion (Post click/Post impression)24. 4th Party Appends [comScore, Quantcast, etc.]

LabelsMetrics

Attributes tracked elsewhere or a future askA. Link to view creativeB. Target audienceC. Budget Type [trade, consumer, coop]D. Channel [Groc, Club, CStore, etc.]E. Retailer [Target, Kroger, Sam’s, etc.]

Notes: • Attributes in blue are required for GMI Marketing Mix Model [MMM].• Attribute #7 is new, all others are already being tracked in Doubleclick.

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Attribute #1: DIVISION

• Use standard abbreviations, separated by an underscore.See appendix for abbreviations

• Set when Advertiser is created in:DFA Trafficking->Advertising

• Note: For GMI Customer digital programs, “Scom” will be added to the front of the Division name so all customer programs can be tracked both by division, too. [e.g. ScomBIGG]

Standard GMI Division names that sync with GMI official hierarchies.

Definition

BAKE [Baking]BIGG [Big G]SNAK [Snacks]PBUS [Pillsbury]

MEAL [Meals]YOPL [Yoplait]SPF [Small Planet Foods]GCOM [G-Comm]

BOTG [Brands on the Go]INTL [International]SALE [Sales]

Labeling Options

New: GMI_BAKE [eventually just BAKE] | Old: “General Mills, Inc. - Baking” and variations

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #2: BUSINESS UNIT

Standard GMI Business Unit names that sync with GMI official hierarchies.

Definition

See complete list of Business Units in appendixBAKE-Dessert, Bisquick, FlourBIGG-Cheerios [CBU], Adult [ABU], Kid, etc.SNAK-Grain, Fruit or SaltyPBUS-Breads, Brkfst, Biscuits, Totinos, SweetMEAL-Potatoes, Green Giant, Old El Paso, Helpers, Progresso

YOPL-Kid or AdultSPF-Cascadian Farms, Muir Glen, Natural or LarabarBOTG- Cereal, Yoplait, Dry Mix, Snacks, etc.INTL-Canada, US ExportSALES/GCOM/GMI

Labeling Options

BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12 ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

• Use standard abbreviations, separated by an underscore.• For multi-brand campaigns, which run at the division or business

unit level, the naming convention will be: DIV_DIVx_DIVx or DIV_BU_BUx. Example: MEAL_OEP_OEPx or BIGG_KBU_KBUx. "x" is a wildcard, representing multiple brands or business units.

• Set when DFA “Campaign Name” field is created.• Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.

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Attribute #3: Brand

Standard GMI brand names that sync with GMI official hierarchies.

Definition

See complete list of Brands in appendixOSY-Original Yoplait YBC-Yellow Box Cheerios CCP-Cocoa PuffsFRU-Fruit Rollups HamH-Hamburger Helper

NatVB-Nature Valley BarsPBScram-Pillsbury Scrambles GGCore-Green Giant Core/VFS F1Bar-Fiber 1 Bars

Labeling Options

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

• Use standard abbreviations, separated by an underscore.• For multi-brand campaigns, which run at the division or business

unit level, the naming convention will be: DIV_DIVx_DIVx or DIV_BU_BUx. Example: MEAL_OEP_OEPx or BIGG_KBU_KBUx. "x" is a wildcard, representing multiple brands or business units.

• Set when DFA “Campaign Name” field is created.• Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.

BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12 ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12

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Attribute #4: CAMPAIGN NAME

Overarching, descriptive name of the campaign, same as the General Mills “One Campaign” name. [Not the names of creative message versions within a campaign, which are attribute 6.]

Definition

Each name will be unique to each campaign and should be descriptive and brief.

Labeling Options

BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12 ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

• Set when Campaign is created in Media Visor or set when DFA “Campaign Name” field is created. • Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.• Search will use 3 primary campaign names: SEMBrand for branded search campaigns, SEMTD for traffic driving search

campaigns and SEMHMM for acquisition search campaigns.• GMI customer programs will append the campaign name with retailer abbreviations. [e.g. HappyKidWM for a Happy Kid

campaign for WalMart, KR for Krogers, etc. plus MR for Multiple Retailers]

• Campaign name should apply to all creative messages used for a particular flight/season/product, across channels.

• Campaign name usually determined by GMI brand teams. To be standardized between the Creative and Media teams.

• Record attributes separating with an _underscore_ No spaces. Don’t skip an attribute. No special characters, only letters & numbers.

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Attribute #5: FISCAL YEAR

• Campaigns spanning 2 or more fiscal years should be split into separate campaigns.

• Use FY vs. F• FY starts the last Sunday in May, or June 1 if it falls on a Sunday.• Record attributes separating with an _underscore_ No spaces.

Don’t skip an attribute.• Set when Campaign is created in Media Visor or set when DFA

“Campaign Name” field is created. • Also label the physical creative asset with these attributes.

GMI fiscal year. GMI fiscal years begin June 1 and end May 31. For media purposes, the fiscal year runs on a broadcast calendar starting on a Sunday, so the FY would officially start on the last Sunday in May before June 1 or on June 1 if it falls on a Sunday.

Definition

FY12, FY13, etc.

Labeling Options

BusinessUnit_Brand_CampaignName_FiscalYear CBU_HNC_Happy_FY12 ABU_YoGrk_GoGreek_FY12

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #6: CREATIVE MESSAGE

• Note: Brand included in creative string again for easy matching to DFA.• Creative agency to select creative name.• String set when creative is loaded and part of physical creative name. • Media agency to give creative agency a checklist of information needed

to name the attributes in this string. Agency returns it and media agency then delivers a creative matrix with names/attributes identified.

• Creative agency delivers QA’d, approved creative, named by following the conventions.

• Ad-servers and 4th party tags all follow the conventions.

Identifies creative versions within a specific creative campaign. Concept names are descriptive and can be ID’d by subject: 1. HispFam, 2. DadKids, 3. Teens, or CTA: 1. Coupon, 2. Recipe, 3. LearnMore, or other versioning.

Definition

To be identified by creative agencies during ad creation and shared with media partner.For 1x1s, follow the naming string through media type [#8], then label creative dimension “1x1”.

Labeling Options

Brand_CreativeMessage_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CrtvDimensions F1Bars_Swimsuit_AWR_BR_300x250 F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90

Examples

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

checklist

creative matrix

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Attribute #7: CREATIVE GOAL

• Creative goal to be determined by creative/media teams. • Creative goal can change by creative message.• String set when creative is loaded; part of physical creative name. • Media agency to give creative agency a checklist of information

needed to name the attributes in this string. Agency returns it and media agency then delivers a creative matrix with names/attributes identified.

• Creative agency delivers QA’d, approved creative, named following conventions.

• Ad-servers and 4th party tags all follow the conventions.

Purpose or intention of the creative.

Definition

Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Awareness [AWR], Acquisition [ACQ], Coupon [CPN], Sample [SAM], Promotion [PRO], Customer Program [CUS], Engagement [ENG], Other [OTH] + Multiple Goals [XXG]

Labeling Options

Example

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Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

Brand_CreativeMessage_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CrtvDimensions F1Bars_Swimsuit_AWR_BR_300x250 F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90

Creative Goal Abbr

Awareness AWR

Acquisition ACQ

Coupon CPN

Sample SAM

Promotion PRO

Customer Program CUS

Engagement ENG

Other OTH

Multiple types XXG

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Attribute #8: MEDIA TYPE

• Media Types sync with Media Tools standard definitions.

• Labeled in creative name.• Marketing Mix Model dictates no standard

naming conventions for media type, as long as we supply a key to what the labels mean.

Identifies the type of digital ad, added to creative name from a list of 14 options that sync with Media Tools.

Definition

Banner-Reach, Banner-Contextual/Engage, Banner-Acquisition, Banner-Traffic Driving, SEM-Network, SEM-Contextual, SEM-Video Search, Sponsorship/Content Integration, Social, Mobile, Gaming, DigitalVideo-Pre-Roll, DigitalVideo-Content, Distribution/Branded Experiences, DigitalVideo-Overlays, + Multiple Types

Labeling Options

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

Media Type Abbr Media Type Abbr

Banner-Reach BR Sponsorship/Content Integration

SCI

Banner-Contextual/Engage

BCE Social S

Banner-Acquisition BA Mobile M

Banner-Traffic Driving

BTD Gaming G

SEM-Network SEMN DigitalVideo-Pre-Roll DVP

SEM-Contextual, SEMC DigitalVideo-Content DVC

SEM-Video Search SEMV Distribution/Branded Experiences

DBE

Multiple types XXM DigitalVideo-Overlays DVO

Brand_CrtvMsg_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CrtvDim F1Bars_Swimsuit_AWR_BR_300x250 F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x90

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Attribute #9: CREATIVE DIMENSIONS

• Entered twice in DFA: 1) In creative name field 2) In placement name field

• Ad Dimensions selected from a pull-down menu during campaign setup.

• Should not be adjusted.• Don’t skip an attribute.

The dimensions of the creative, in pixels and ‘width-x-height’ format.

Definition

Standard IAB sizes and custom sizes as needed.

Labeling Options

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

1) Brand_CrtvMsg_CrtvGoal_MediaType_CreativeDimensions F1Bars_ClassReunion_CPN_BR_728x902) Adserver_Site_SiteSection_CreativeDimensions_notes PR_Nick_ROS_300x250_companion banner

and

creative name field

placement namefield

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Attribute #10: SITE

• Automatically pulled from the media buy into DFA reporting.• Interested in reporting by the main URL of the site [e.g. the Network’s URL or Yahoo.com]

Site or network where digital media impression will be served.

Definition

• Site selected at campaign set-up.• Want ability to report on sites by

their highest level and by their individual, level. For example, all Yahoo sites grouped and a drill down to Yahoo Money, Yahoo Sports, etc.

Labeling Options

Yahoo.com

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #11: SITE SECTION

• Manually added to placement name.• Publishers enter this when implementing the buy.• Pulling a report on this attribute will require parsing from

the placement name.• Don’t skip an attribute.• Full list of options to come.

Defines, in broad terms, the kind of site placement that was specified in the buy.

Definition

Need to create a list, similar to Div/BU/Brand that contains all the options. This list will change based on media buys, so the list will need periodic updating.

Labeling Options

Adserver_Site_SiteSection_CreativeDimensions_notes DC_Nick_ROS_300x250_companionbanner DC_Yahoo_Contx_160x600_none

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

Partial list options Abbr

Run of Site ROS

Contextual Contx

Page Takeover TkOv

Run of Section ROE

Demo Takeover DEM

Time Takeover TIM

Preroll PRE

Midroll MID

Behavioral Targeting BT

Additional site section naming options exist, please label as appropriate.

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Attribute #12: AD FORMAT

• The extension of the ad name: .swf, .gif, etc.• Automatically labeled in DFA based on creative

file name.

The type/format of the creative ad unit.

Definition

Flash, GIF, etc. Standard, Default or Redirect

Labeling Options

.swf

.gif

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attributes #13 & #14: CAMPAIGN START and END DATES

• Also accessible in DFA under: Manage Campaigns > Advertiser > Campaign > Media Plan > Schedule and Pricing

• Start and End dates should be set to reflect actual flighting with a small cushion. Historically, start and end dates were often set using the full GMI fiscal year. This practice should not continue. Please set up new campaigns with start and end dates that accurately reflect the campaign.

• End date cannot extend beyond a GMI fiscal year.

Identifies the start and end dates of a Media Campaign.

Definition

Dates, selected in Media Visor when entering the Media Buy.

Labeling Options

MM/DD/YYYY

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #15: RUN DATE

For GMI’s Marketing Mix Model, individual run dates should be rolled up into weeks, beginning on Sunday [MM/DD/YYYY] and ending on Saturday. [Nielsen weeks.]

DFA captures data daily, tracking the impressions, clicks and mapping conversions.

Definition

Automatically generated on date impression served.

Labeling Options

MM/DD/YYYY

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #16: MARKET

• DFA tracks market data in City, State, Zip or DMA. GMI reporting should include impressions, cost, CPM, Effective CPM, Clicks and Click-through Rate by DMA.

• Analytic Partners is OK converting DMAs [which are available in DFA] to Scantrack Markets which the Marketing Mix Model uses.

Report on activity by standard DFA-defined DMAs.

Definition

Automatically tracked by DFA

Labeling Options

New York, Los Angeles, etc.

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #17: IMPRESSIONS

In Doubleclick for Advertisers and DART for Publishers, one ad served to one ad slot in a webpage. (If the same ad is displayed in two separate ad slots in a webpage, two impressions are counted.) DART filters robotic activity and records an impression when the ad servers determine which ad to send. If the delivery is not successful due to an interruption in the transaction, the impression is still counted. An impression is recorded whether the user clicks on the ad or not. Browser and proxy caching can, however, lead to undercounting of impressions.

An impression is one ad served to one ad slot in a webpage.

Definition

Automatically tracked in DFA. Expressed in numbers.

Labeling Options

417,504 impressions served in NYC DMA for 1 week for HNC campaign.

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #18: MEDIA COST

• The media cost for placements, based on the pricing information entered for each placement, along with actual performance.

• For example, a placement to receive 1 million impressions is booked, and a CPM of $3 is set. The actual number of impressions served is 1,004,296. The cost is $3012.89, based on the following formula:

(1,004,296 impressions ÷ 1000) × $3 = $3012.89

Media cost is the total dollar amount paid for the actual impressions/clicks that have run in a given time period.

Definition

Media Costs tracked in DFA are not always exactly accurate [especially for over delivery [unpaid] and fixed pricing media buys, for example]. Currently DFA data is appended with actual cost data from the agency. We are testing the flighting and cap costs check boxes in DFA to see if those help deliver more accurate cost data automatically. If so, we may be able to discontinue the time consuming append practice.

Labeling Options

A placement is booked to receive 1 million impressions at $3 CPM. The actual number of impressions served for week 1 is 1,004,296 so the actual media cost is $3,012.89, based on the following formula: (1,004,296 impressions ÷ 1000) × $3 = $3,012.89

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #19: CPM

• Cost Per thousand impressions. • The amount charged to the advertiser per 1,000

impressions. • CPM is a standard pricing model for the web.• M is the Roman numeral 1,000.

CPM (Cost Per Thousand Impressions)

Definition

CPM entered during campaign set up. Expressed in dollars per thousand impressions.

Labeling Options

$7 CPM means that $7 in media costs will be incurred for each 1,000 impressions served.

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #20: EFFECTIVE CPM

• The cost per thousand impressions, based on the cost data that has been entered for each placement, calculated as: Cost ÷ Impressions × 1000

• Effective CPM is relevant for placements with capped costs or a fixed rate. If a placement has a fixed rate of $10,000 per month and receives 500,000 impressions in a month, the effective CPM is $20. If the placement receives 2 million impressions, effective CPM is $5.

• Because DFA cannot accurately account for over delivery [unpaid] of impressions and fixed price placements, the solution for getting accurate Media Costs will affect eCPM.

eCPM: The cost per thousand impressions, based on the cost data that has been entered for each placement.

Definition

eCPM calculated. Expressed in dollars per thousand impressions. Media Costs affect eCPM calculations, too so accuracy depends on accurate cost data.

Labeling Options

$7 eCPM means that $7 in media costs were incurred for each 1,000 impressions served in that time period.

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #21: CLICKS

A click is recorded even if the user does not actually reach the landing page. For example, if a user clicks on an ad, then closes the browser before the landing page loads, a click is still recorded.

The number of times that users clicked on a creative during the specified date range.

Definition

Automatically recorded and tracked in DFA.

Labeling Options

Example

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #22: CLICK THROUGH RATE

• Calculated as: (Clicks ÷ Impressions) × 100%. For example, if an ad delivers 500,000 impressions and receives 6000 clicks, the click rate is 1.2%.

The percentage of impressions that result in users clicking an ad.

Definition

Automatically calculated, recorded and tracked in DFA.

Labeling Options

Example

28

Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #23: Conversion (Post click/Post impression Action)

Definition

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De-dupes conversions across Network , container tag for other tags, enable to optimize based on creative’s ability to generate conversions, able to pass values, look-back window on cookie and remarketing.

Features

Floodlight tags in DFA allows advertisers to track and report on the actions of users who visit their website after viewing or clicking on one of the advertiser's ads.

• Floodlight tags are optional and are used on some campaigns based on campaign objectives.

• Floodlight tags are shared across the network and specific to the creative.

• Automatically reported on.

Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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Attribute #24: 4th Party Appends

• Each 4th party append is different. See specific instructions/agreements with each partner.

• Future: A universal tagging strategy to help manage all tags.

Digital media is tagged with a variety of 4th party appends.

Definition

comScore, Nielsen, Compete, Quantcast, MaxPoint, Campaign tag for WebTrends/Unica [conversion happening now], Google Analytics, etc.

4th Party Appends at GMI

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Doubleclick Labeling Instructions

Labeling instructions for other ad servers TBD.

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GMI Project Graffiti Contact Information

Project Graffiti point peopleNaomi AlfordSenior Media [email protected] 763-764-2894

Media leadVanessa ReedMedia Content & Buying Director [email protected] 763-764-2719

Relationship Marketing leadGeoff JohnsonDirector, Relationship [email protected] 763-764-3384

CI/Marketing Mix Model leadTodd CurtisSenior Consumer Insights Manager [email protected] 763-764-6303

For questions, call:

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Melody LentschDigital Strategist, GMI [email protected] 612-207-1515

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Key to GMI Divisions > Business Units > Brands

32See latest listing in companion Excel file: Graffiti_Labeling_DIVISION_BU_BRAND_DATE.xlsx

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GMI Data Flow for Marketing Mix ModelProject Graffiti

Updated November 1, 2011

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Establish and execute digital media data and reporting requirements for the GMI Marketing Mix Model

Enable digital media data to flow into,and actionable results to flow out of the Marketing Mix

Model .

Better understanding of digital media ROI and increased knowledge of digital media impact.

Outcome:

Benefit:

Purpose:

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Data Flow & Reporting Priorities

Automate and standardize data flow to minimize resources required. Complete: October 1, 2011, DCLK now delivering automated report on the 1st of every month for AP/CI download via FTP.

Add market-level performance to Marketing Mix data. Complete October 1, 2011

Ensure that Analytic Partners/CI receives digital media reporting by week, by market. Currently comparing automated report to Modem’s reports created by hand.• For each:

Division|BusinessUnit|Brand|CampaignName|Creative Goal|CreativeVersion|AdType

• Of these metrics:• Impressions • Clicks• Media Cost • Effective CPM

GMI Marketing Mix Model

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File layout for Marketing Mix Model

See Excel file: Graffiti_FileLayout_For_MMM _2011_08 _10.xlsx

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Project Graffiti Background

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Updated November 1, 2011

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Today

Endorsement of Project Graffiti goals, labeling guidelines and data flow approach

Input and ideas on improving labeling and data flow Agreement to begin Graffiti labeling immediately

What is Project Graffiti? Labeling Guidelines

• List of GMI attributes• Labeling details for each attribute

Enabling data flow into the Marketing Mix Model Discussion & next steps

Meeting objectives

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Agenda

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39

Objective:

Strategy:

Tactic:

Start with paid display advertising

Project Graffiti

Gain a better understanding of digital media/creative ROI

and an increased knowledge of digital marketing impact.

Enable more actionable and timelydigital results.

Establish a standard labeling protocol and efficient data flow for all digital media.

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Graffiti: Project Charter

Benefits Higher-quality, more consistent data fed into Marketing Mix and other measurement tools Easier, faster data transfer into Marketing Mix and other measurement tools More actionable insights coming out of Marketing Mix and other measurement tools Shared learning and faster speed to market Time-savings at every point in the process; elimination of duplicated efforts

Key workstreams1. Standard labeling protocol: Single set of labeling standards & processes that work for the

Marketing Mix model and other analytics streams and with many formats and partners.2. Insight automation: Enable efficient and effective data flow from GMI digital media into

various analytics and reporting tools.3. Labeling compliance: Incentives, communication and auditing progress.4. Rollout: Labeling protocol and insight automation to extend beyond display to search, owned

and earned digital media.

Project Graffiti definitionA collaborative effort to establish a standard labeling protocol and efficient data flow for all digital media, enabling more actionable and timely digital results, which will result in better understanding of digital creative/media ROI and an increased knowledge of digital marketing impact..

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41

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Framing the labeling and data flow issues

1. What digital media attributes do we want to capture?

2. How do we ensure and manage labeling consistency?

3. How do we automate data flow from where it is captured to the analysis tools around the enterprise? And immediately, to Analytics Partners?

4. How and where should the data be stored?

5. What reporting tools/analysis engines should be available?

Steering committee considerations

Comprehensive list of attributes proposed, most already being tracked

Multiple approaches, inconsistency across ad types, partners

Manual, difficult send and manipulateMultiple options on the table, resources, funding required?

Offsite, decentralized, some attributes not stored long-term

Marketing Mix top priority, but many others want to use the data

Currently…

ImmediateOut of scope for now

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Relationship Marketing

Today’s display landscape

InputsPartner agencies: Modem, Zenith, FRWD, Zeus Jones, others

Analysis

Data collection

Marketing Mix Model

Flash Banners Video Pre-roll Rich Media

Doubleclick, Marin, PointRoll, Vindico, comScore, Quantcast, Webtrends, others

Other

Actionable insights for real-time optimization

CBU Other brands

Data flow

Multiple tags needed to capture: 1) Delivery verification & media properties, 2) Audience analysis, 3) Post-view activity

Analysis, trailing indicatorsResults of past events for future decision-making

Reporting, leading indicators

Data transfer not automated and timing not synchronized

Metrics and reporting not easy to access

Attributes not collected in a consistent GMI format

Insights

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So far…Input from: Graffiti steering committee GMI Finance CI IS Sourcing Analytic Partners Google Modem Zenith FRWD Christina Alm Matt Wilson Kelly Ask

Findings: Everyone is working on aspects of the labeling

and data flow issues General consensus on objectives & strategies,

differing tactical approaches and time horizons Alignment on attributes that should be tracked Lack of clarity about what is already being labeled

and tracked Multiple partners running digital media Lack of alignment on whether single solutions can

work for all Getting data from ad servers into analysis tools is

arduous Access to actionable reporting desired, none

currently utilized More GMI access to data desired Partners looking to GMI for labeling guidance Agreement that data for Marketing Mix is highest

priority

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Project Graffiti Steering Committee

Vanessa Reed Jim Cuene Geoff Johnson Todd Curtis Tim Robinson Brad Hiranaga

Christina Alm Naomi Alford Christine Eaton Matt Wilson Melody Lentsch

Established March 2011

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What happens nextProject Graffiti follow-up

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Future considerations and discussions

Quarterly agency meetings to optimize labeling and data flow Implementing labeling incentives, audit process and compliance Applying labeling guidelines to search, video, earned and owned

media Requirements to deepen insights from the Marketing Mix Model

• Volume differences require sophisticated test matrix: market variation, enough impressions, different timeframes

Digital media data flow into the GMI household level database Communicating digital refinements to the brands Flow of insights from GMI analysis tools back to digital partners

Project Graffiti

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