Southwest Power Pool REGIONAL TARIFF WORKING GROUP september...آ  RTWG asked questions and provided

  • View
    0

  • Download
    0

Embed Size (px)

Text of Southwest Power Pool REGIONAL TARIFF WORKING GROUP september...آ  RTWG asked questions and...

  • Page 1 of 3

    Southwest Power Pool REGIONAL TARIFF WORKING GROUP MEETING

    September 18, 2018 Net Conference

    • Summary of Motions and Action Items •

    Agenda Item 3 – Consent Agenda—Motion by Tom Hestermann (Sunflower) seconded by Terri Gallup (AEP) to approve RR 325. The motion passed with two abstaining (NextEra, Xcel).

    1 of 574

  • Minutes No. [2018 09 18]

    Page 2 of 3

    Southwest Power Pool REGIONAL TARIFF WORKING GROUP MEETING

    September 18, 2018 Net Conference

    • M I N U T E S •

    Agenda Item 1 – Administrative Items SPP Chair David Kays (OGE) called the meeting to order at 1:01. The following members were in attendance or represented by proxy:

    David Kays Oklahoma Gas & Electric Company Robert Pick Nebraska Public Power District Mo Awad KCP&L and Westar, Evergy Companies Michael Billinger Midwest Energy Inc. Alfred Busbee GDS Associates/East Texas Electric Cooperatives Tom Christensen Basin Electric Power Cooperative Jack Clark NextEra Energy Resources Alex Dobson Oklahoma Municipal Power Authority Terri Gallup American Electric Power Greg Garst Omaha Public Power District Joel Hendrickson Tri-State Generation and Transmission Tom Hestermann Sunflower Electric Power Corporation Rob Janssen Dogwood Energy, LLC Bernie Liu Xcel Energy Brandon McCracken Western Farmers Electric Cooperative Jessica Meyer Lincoln Electric System Robert Shields Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation Heather Starnes Healy Law Offices/Missouri Joint Municipal Electric Utility Commission Robert Stillwell City of Independence Todd Tarter Empire District Electric Company John Varnell Tenaska Power Services Company

    The following proxies were recorded:

    Calvin Daniels (WFEC) for Brandon McCracken (WFEC) (Attachment 1 – 2018 09 18 RTWG Attendance)

    Agenda Item 2 – RR 325 – FERC Order 845 Compliance (Approval Item) Marisa Choate (SPP) reviewed the proposed redlines to meet the compliance requirements. As each particular section was looked over, the editorial tweaks by the group and by staff were noted, as were the submitted comments. Motion by Tom Hestermann (Sunflower) seconded by Terri Gallup (AEP) to approve RR 325. The motion passed with two abstaining (NextEra, Xcel). (Attachment 2 – RR 325 Recommendation Report)

    2 of 574

  • Minutes No. [2018 09 18]

    Page 3 of 3

    Agenda Item 3 – RR 323 –Order 841 Compliance Erin Cathey (SPP) began an overview of the draft redlines for compliance with FERC Order 841. The RTWG asked questions and provided feedback. The review will resume at the next meeting beginning with Attachment AE Section 8.1.

    Agenda Item 4 – Review of Motions, Action Items, and Future Meetings The next scheduled RTWG meeting is a net conference to address RR 323 – Order 841 Compliance on September 24, 2018 (1:00 p.m. – 4:00 p.m.). Respectfully Submitted, Marisa Choate Secretary Attachments (Attachment 1 – 2018 09 18 RTWG Attendance) (Attachment 2 – RR 325 Recommendation Report)

    3 of 574

  • Name Email Aaron Vander Vorst avandervorst@tradewindenergy.com Alex Dobson (OMPA) adobson@ompa.com Alfred Busbee alfred.busbee@gdsassociates.com Andrea Harrison (WFEC) andrea.harrison@wfec.com Bea Nelson (SPP) contractor-bnelson@spp.org Bernie Liu - Xcel Energy bernard.liu@xcelenergy.com Brandon McCracken (WFEC) b_mccracken@wfec.com Brent Hebert Brent.hebert@psipower.com Bruce Grabow bgrabow@lockelord.com Calvin Daniels (WFEC) calvin.daniels@wfec.com Chris Cranford (SPP) ccranford@spp.org Chris Lyons - Customized Energy Solutions clyons@ces-ltd.com Chris Nolen cnolen@spp.org Christy Marske(OGE) marskecl@oge.com Daniel Harless (SPP) dharless@spp.org David Daniels (SPP) ddaniels@spp.org David Kays (OG&E) kaysdl@oge.com Denise Martin (SPP) dsmartin@spp.org Dennis Reed dennis.reed@mwregcon.com Derek Sunderman dsunderman@tradewindenergy.com Don Frerking (KCP&L Westar) don.frerking@kcpl.com Erin Cathey ecathey@spp.org Greg Garst (OPPD) ggarst@oppd.com Heather Starnes (MJMEUC) heather@healylawoffices.com J.P. Maddock jpmaddock@bepc.com Jack Clark (NextEra) jack.clark@nee.com Jason Mazigian (BEPC) jmazigian@bepc.com Jeff Knottek jeff.knottek@cityutilities.net Jerry Bradshaw (SPRM) jerry.bradshaw@cityutilities.net Jessica Meyer (LES) jmeyer@les.com Jill Jones (MEAN) jjones@nmppenergy.org Jim Krajecki (CES) jkrajecki@ces-ltd.com Joe Ghormley (SPP) jghormley@spp.org Joel Hendrickson (Tri-State G&T) jhendrickson@tristategt.org John Luallen (SPP) jluallen@spp.org john varnell jvarnell@tnsk.com Kass Portra portra@wapa.gov Kenny Hale (SPRM) kenny.hale@cityutilities.net Kristen Darden (SPP) kdarden@spp.org Lee Elliott (SPP) lelliott@spp.org llarson llarson@balch.com Lorie Bailey lbaile@spp.org Maria mtomac@bepc.com Marisa Choate mchoate@spp.org Michael Billinger - MIDW mbillinger@mwenergy.com Mo Awad (KCP&L/Westar) mo.awad@westarenergy.com

    4 of 574

  • Nicole Wagner (SPP) jwagner@spp.org Orijit oghoshal@invenergyllc.com Patti Kelly (SPP) pkelly@spp.org Ray Bergmeier (SEPC) rbergmeier@sunflower.net Richard Dillon rdillon@spp.org Rob Janssen (Dogwood Energy) rob.janssen@kelsonenergy.com Robert Pick (NPPD) rjpick@nppd.com Robert Safuto (Customized Energy Solutions) rsafuto@ces-ltd.com Robert Shields rshields@aecc.com Robert Stillwell rstillwell@indepmo.org Sam Loudenslager (SPP) sloudenslager@spp.org Shawn Geil (KEPCo) sgeil@kepco.org Steve Davis (SPP) sdavis@spp.org Steve Gaw rsgaw1@gmail.com Steve Purdy spurdy@spp.org Terri Gallup (AEP) tagallup@aep.com Tessie Kentner tkentner@spp.org Todd Tarter (Liberty-Empire) ttarter@empiredistrict.com Tom Christensen tomc@bepc.com Tom Hestermann thestermann@sunflower.net

    5 of 574

  • Page 1

    Revision Request Recommendation Report

    RR #: 325 Date: 8/23/2018

    RR Title: FERC Order 845 Compliance

    SUBMITTER INFORMATION

    Name: Steve Purdy Company: Southwest Power Pool

    Email: spurdy@spp.org Phone: 501.614.3371

    EXECUTIVE SUMMARY AND RECOMMENDATION FOR MOPC AND BOD ACTION

    The RTWG recommends that the MOPC and the BOD approve RR 325 as submitted in this recommendation report.

    OBJECTIVE OF REVISION

    Objectives of Revision Request: Describe the problem/issue this revision request will resolve.

    Describe the benefits that will be realized from this revision.

    FERC Order 845 was issued on April 19, 2018, which updates and revises the pro forma large generator interconnection procedures

    and large generator interconnection agreement to enhance the generator interconnection process. Since the Commission established

    its interconnection rules in 2003, the electric power industry has undergone significant changes, contributing to inefficiencies in the

    interconnection process. Interconnection customers and transmission providers have experienced extensive delays and backlogs in

    interconnection queues, as well as late-stage interconnection request withdrawals that can lead to cascading re-studies, additional

    delays, and withdrawals—all creating a difficult process to manage. The Commission proposes to improve certainty for

    interconnection customers, enhance the interconnection process, provide opportunities to bring new generation online faster, and

    mitigate the construction of unnecessary upgrades through alternative means of interconnection service.

    To improve certainty:

    • (1.1) Removes the limitation that interconnection customers may only exercise the option to build a transmission provider’s interconnection facilities and standalone network upgrades in instances when the transmission provider cannot

    meet the dates proposed by the interconnection customer

     Revises Articles 5.1, 5.1.3, and 5.1.4 of the pro forma LGIA • (1.2) Requires that transmission providers establish interconnection dispute resolution procedures that allow a disputing

    party to unilaterally seek non-binding dispute resolution

     New Section 13.5.5 in the pro forma LGIP

    To promote more informed interconnection decisions:

    • (2.1) Requires transmission providers to outline and make public a method for determining contingent facilities  New Section 3.8 in the pro forma LGIP

    • (2.2) Requires transmission providers to list the specific study processes and assumptions for forming the network models used for interconnection studies

     Revises Section 2.3 of the pro forma LGIP • (2.3) Revises the definition of “Generating Facility” to explicitly include electric storage resources

     Definition change • (2.4) Establishes reporting requirements for aggregate interconnection study performance

     Revises section on OASIS posting in the pro forma LGIP

    To enhance the interconnection process:

    • (3.1) Allows interconnection customers to request a level of interconnection service that is lower than their generating facility capacity

     Modifies Sections 3.1, 6.3, 7.3, 8.2, and Appendix 1 of the pro forma LGIP • (3.2) Requires transmission providers to allow for provisional interconnection agreements that provide for limited

    operation of a generating facility prior to completion of the full interconnection process

     Adds definitions and Article 5.9.2 of the pro forma LGIA • (3.3) Requires transmission providers to create a process for interconnection customers to use surplus interconnection

    service at existing points of interconnection

    6 of 574

    ma

Recommended

View more >