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Philippine Women’s University And Its Affiliate Schools for Men and Women Taft, Manila, Philippines Media Plan Hi-ro Biscuit Submitted by: Dabandan, Yvonne Caryl Deang, Kristel Ecat, Jessica Naldoza, Nesha Ricca Submitted to: Prof. Marianita Laura Mombay

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1 year media plan for Hi-ro biscuit

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Philippine Womens UniversityAnd Its Affiliate Schools for Men and WomenTaft, Manila, Philippines

Media PlanHi-ro Biscuit

Submitted by:Dabandan, Yvonne CarylDeang, KristelEcat, JessicaNaldoza, Nesha Ricca

Submitted to:Prof. Marianita Laura Mombay

1. Situation Analysis

History of the MarketThe need for nutritious, easy-to-store, easy-to-carry, and long-lasting foods on long journeys, in particular at sea, was initially solved by taking live food along with a butcher/cook. However, this took up additional space on what were either horse-powered treks or small ships, reducing the time of travel before additional food was required. This resulted in early armies' adopting the style of hunter-foraging.

The introduction of the baking of processed cereals including the creation of flour provided a more reliable source of food. Egyptian sailors carried a flat, brittle loaf of millet bread called dhourra cake, while the Romans had a biscuit called buccellum. Roman cookbook Apicius describes: "a thick paste of fine wheat flour was boiled and spread out on a plate. When it had dried and hardened, it was cut up and then fried until crisp, then served with honey and pepper."

The original biscuit was a flat cake that was put back in the oven after being removed from its tin, hence the French name bis (twice) cuit (cooked). This very hard, dry biscuit was the staple for sailors and soldiers for centuries. During the time of Louis XIV, soldiers biscuits were known as stone bread.

Animalized biscuits were introduced later. They were thought to be very nutritious because they used meat juices as the liquid. In the 19th centuries, travelers biscuits were hard cakes that kept well wrapped in a kind of tin foil.

Feathery, light biscuits originated in Southern plantation kitchens but, now are popular throughout the United States. Rolled biscuits were a staple at most meals, but beaten biscuits became another Southern favorite. Beaten biscuits are made light by beating air into the dough with a mallet or a rolling pin (up to 100 strokes or more for company). Beaten biscuits are typically thinner and crispier than baking powder biscuits.

Hi-ro biscuit is still available in supermarkets, sari-sari stores, and convenient stores. It is also popular in online selling because of its cheap price and this product is directed from the factory. It can help to boost the sales of Hi-ro biscuit even if it is not marketable.2. The Product

Hi-Ro biscuit is a chocolate sandwich cookie with vanilla filling. It has nutritional facts wherein it has calories(140) fats (8g), carbohydrates (15g) and proteins (0g). It is one of the products of the Filipinas Biscuit Corporation, labeled as Fibisco. It started during 1960s together with the promotion of other Fibisco products such as Butter Crunch, Jolly, and Butter Cookies.

COMMONWEALTH FOODS, INC. (Comfoods Inc.), a Filipino firm, is a conglomeration of three pioneering food-manufacturing companies, which were merged on September 30, 1968. The three corporations were: Commonwealth Foods, Inc., Philippine Food Industries, Inc., and the Filipinas Biscuit Corporation.

The man behind this very well-known and big company is Mr. Archimedes Handog. It is also a member of Philippine Chamber of Food Manufacturers, Inc. (Food Chamber)

Features: Crispy chocolate-flavored cookie Delicious vanilla cream-filling Combination of rich chocolate, vanilla cream, and biscuit

Sizes: snack pack (3 pairs) 33 g polytube 80 g

Variants: Hi-ro with cream Hi-ro without cream

Price

P 20.00 (80 g.)

VariantsPrice

Hi-ro with cream54

Hi-ro without cream51

*Prices may change without prior notice

Distribution online supermarket stores (convenient, wholesale or retailer) drugstores export

Promotion Social Networking Sites (Facebook, Twitter, etc) Blog Sites (forums.pinoybusiness.org) Online Selling Sites (Lazada, AyosDito, etc) TV Commercials

3. Consumers

Demographics:

Male or female 5 yrs. old and above Middle class Unemployed, Employed and Self-employed

Target Market

Class C (Working Class)- youth (especially students) and people who have jobs and enough income or average salary Class D (Working Poor)- people who have blue collar jobs

Psychographics

People who tend to buy this product are the ones who want to save money and at the same time to fulfill their hunger

The taste of the product convinces the target market to buy Hi-ro biscuits

Customers able to buy the product because of its availability

Most of the buyers are in middle class

Buyers didnt just buy the product because of its taste but also because of its quality and their familiarity to the product

4. Competitors

Rebisco or Republic Biscuit Corporation (Rebisco Sandwich)

Brief HistoryFrom its humble beginning as England Biscuit Factory in August 1963 in San Juan, Metro Manila, to what is now known as Republic Biscuit Corporation; generations of Filipinos have been enjoying Rebiscos basic portfolio of biscuits and now its wide range of snack foods.

With its growing extensive distribution network, market research, and technology and product development, Rebisco soon positioned itself as one of the major players in the snack food industry. Until now, Rebisco is still true to its claim of providing "Best-Value Products" by maintaining quality at par with the best in the country.It was founded by Jacinto Ng.

4 Ps:Price: P 6.00Product: Rebisco Cracker SandwichPromotion: Broadcast, Social mediaPlace: Supermarkets, Sari-sari stores, and convenient stores

Nabisco or National Biscuit Corporation (Oreo)

Brief HistoryNabisco dates its founding to 1898,a decade when the bakery business underwent a major consolidation. Early in the decade, bakeries throughout the country were consolidated regionally, into companies such as Chicago's American Biscuit and Manufacturing Company (which was formed from 40 Midwestern bakeries in 1830), the New York Biscuit Company (consisting of seven eastern bakeries), and the United States Baking Company. In 1898, the National Biscuit Company was formed from the combination of those three. The merger resulted in a company with 114 bakeries across the US and headquartered in New York City. The "biscuit" in the name of the company is a British English and early American English term for cracker and cookie products.Key to the founding of Nabisco was Pittsburgh baking mogul Sylvester S. Marvin. Marvin arrived in Pittsburgh in 1863 and established himself in the cracker business, founding S. S. Marvin Co. Its products included crackers, cakes and breads. Marvin was called the Edison of manufacturing for his innovations in the bakery business. By 1888 it was the largest in the US, and the centerpiece of the National Biscuit Company (Nabisco). Marvin was also a member of the elite South Fork Fishing and Hunting Club of Johnstown Flood fame.

4 Ps:Price: Product: OreoPromotion: Social Media, Platform Media (Sponsors), New Media (Internet), Broadcast MediaPlace: Supermarkets, Sari-sari stores, convenient stores, and drug stores

Monde Nissin Corporation (Bingo)

Brief History

Monde Nissin Corporation was originally incorporated as Monde Denmark Nissin Biscuit Corporation in 1980 when it started out manufacturing biscuits. Among its products were Nissin Butter Coconut and Nissin Wafer.In 1989, the company ventured into the instant noodle segment under the Lucky Me! brand. It has become the leading brand of instant noodles in the Philippine. The company later launched the very first dry noodle in pouches (the Lucky Me! Pancit Canton) and the first bowl noodle (Lucky Me! Supreme La Paz Batchoy).The Lucky Me! brand currently accounts for 64% of the company's retail sales.In 2002, the company acquired M.Y. San Corporation, the manufacturer of the popular brands Sky Flakes, M.Y. San Graham Crackers, and Fita. Subsequently, the company changed its name to Monde M.Y. San Corporation.In 2014, Monde Nissin acquired Black Swan, and in 2015 acquired Nudie Juices and Menora Foods.

4 Ps:Price: P 18.OO (75 g.)Product: Bingo Sandwich CookiesPromotion: Social Media, Broadcast MediaPlace: Supermarkets, Sari-sari stores, convenient stores, and drug stores

S.W.O.T. (Hi-ro biscuit)StrengthsWeaknesses

It has affordable price lack of advertising

Filipino-made product no interaction to customers

55 years of existence lack of information

It has a different kind of taste it is not a significant source of trans fat, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Calcium and Iron

It is own by a big company it has no official and developed website

OpportunitiesThreats

Expanded suppliers field in other countries It has a lot of competitors

A lot of export opportunities outside Philippines Its product can be easily substituted

There was only little competition in overseas markets It has only few market segments

Problems / Challenges

1.) Product advertisement is uncommon or rare.

2.) Hi-ro biscuit suffers from the understanding that local products are inferior to foreign brands.

3.) Brand constancy appears to have been captured by the leading competitor.

4.) Product appears to have less creativity with the packaging, it never change or upgraded. 5.) There is lack of presences in outlets, including supermarkets, sari-sari store, convenience stores and wet markets.

6.) Stock appears to be limited with little space.

7.) Sales of the product are dwarfed by Oreo etc., who dominated the market with share on sale.8.) To generate over 100 million in sales by the end of the year.

Marketing Objectives1. Increase sales product by 10%2. Recruit suitable and well-trained agents in different cities in Philippines 3. Expand the storage for the stocks 4. Increase the product distribution in different markets nationwide5. Provide a constant level of promotional incentives6. Persuade the distributors / clients/ agents to increase stocks at least Communication objectives: To increase the awareness of the site/services.

To improve eating habits among families especially for the children.

Increase the number of people participating to our different kind of activities for the chosen charity

Re-launch the improved product into customers to reach more of the market Improve brand recognition amongst target audiences

Inform target market about being an established product for more than 55 years in the market

Marketing objectives: To increase the awareness of the site/services.

Internet Strategy

Participating in blogs that pertain to our business is a strategy that allows us to interact with potential buyers.

Media Strategy: Having an official Facebook page of HI-RO biscuits and an account in Twitter. By this way, people could reach us and connect us that they can leave comments or feedback regarding the product. It is also the best way on how they can be updated whether we will have special programs, events or promos to offer.

To improve eating habits among families especially for the children.

Use broadcast media to educate the audience about the benefits of biscuit and to provoke the children to eat biscuit rather than junk foods

Sponsor an event for families (Nutrition Month event)

Increase the number of people participating to our different kind of activities for the chosen charity

Communicate through social media to inform and invite the target market to join

Re-launch the improved product into customers to reach more of the market Low-cost Media StrategyUsing a low-cost media strategy to reach a targeted group of customers.Media Strategy: We could advertise it by producing stickers with a logo of HI-RO biscuits and some information (short-bond paper sized) and then giving it to some sari-saris store to post it in front of their stores or walls that people can actually easily see it. Improve brand recognition amongst target audiences

Demonstrating a Product

Well demonstrate the effectiveness of a product by using the common example of before and after technique which shows the improvement of the product may it be in appearance or packaging.

Media Strategy: Enhance the packaging and post photos of the new packaging on the official website of Fibisco.

Inform target market about being an established product for more than 55 years in the market

High-cost Media StrategyUsing a high budget for advertising the product to market.

Media Strategy: Advertising through newspapers and magazines; Making a commercial and advertising it through television networks; Recording an own trademark jingle and then advertise through radio stations; Having a partnership with some other product and organizing an event (for example: Milo milk drink partnered with fibisco biscuits in one run marathon)

Media Plan for 1 yearA one-year media plan is proposed for Hi-ro biscuits. The promotional and advertising campaign starts in June 2015 and culminates in June 2016.The total budget for media placements is 38 million for 12 months of the promotion. This excludes expenses for other media support.The first wave covers June, July, and August (Intramurals) and Sports Fest sponsored for some schools.For the months of September, October, November, and December, Hi-ro biscuits will sponsor or be in partnership with sport events like Milo Run Marathon.The third wave comprises January, February, and March. We will have particular gimiks. (Benefit concerts and events on Valentines Day)On the last 2 months, it ushers the last wave of the campaign. (Summer outings)June 2016 culminates the promotional activities.

Summary for the different media used:MediaGoals

Television To help the customers visualize the features of the product

To reach the target market easily

To remind the audience that hi-ro biscuit is still existing

To gain more customers

To promote not just the product but also Fibisco and Comfoods

Radio To entertain the listeners/target market

To increase the customers

To persuade the target market

Print To spread more information

To gain dealers, agents and suppliers To promote hi-ro biscuit To reach the target market

Media tacticsJune 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.2x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2001,391,000

(62,400)312,0005,564,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL7,372,000

July 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.2x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2001,391,000

(62,400)312,0005,564,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL7,372,000

August 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.2x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2001,391,000

(62,400)312,0005,564,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL7,372,000

September 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.3x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2002,86,500

(62,400)312,0008,346,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL10,154,000

October 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.3x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2002,86,500

(62,400)312,0008,346,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL10,154,000

November 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.3x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2002,86,500

(62,400)312,0008,346,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL10,154,000

December 2015ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.3x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2002,86,500

(62,400)312,0008,346,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL10,154,000

January 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.2x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2001,391,000

(62,400)312,0005,564,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (2k flyers/week)

2x/week(500 stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

30,000

15,000260,000

120,000

60,000

TOTAL7,312,000

February 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.2x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2001,391,000

(62,400)312,0005,564,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (2k flyers/week)

2x/week(500 stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

30,000

15,000260,000

120,000

60,000

TOTAL7,312,000

March 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.2x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2001,391,000

(62,400)312,0005,564,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (2k flyers/week)

2x/week(500 stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

30,000

15,000260,000

120,000

60,000

TOTAL7,312,000

April 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family

Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.3x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2002,86,500

(62,400)312,0008,346,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL10,154,000

May 2016ClassVehicleSize/DurationFrequencyUnit CostCost/WeeklyMonthly Cost

TelevisionGMA 7Ismol Family Yes Fm

30 sec.

60 sec.3x daily

2x daily695,500

31,2002,86,500

(62,400)312,0008,346,000

1,248,000

Radio

PrintPhilippine Star

Flyers

Stickers

inside page

Letter 8.5x11 full page

Letter 8.5x11half page2x/week

3x/week (3k flyers/week)

2x/week(1k stickers/week)32,500

15.00

30.0065,000

45,000

30,000260,000

180,000

120,000

TOTAL10,154,000

Annex:1. GRP for Broadcast MediaGRP = Reach x Frequency = 50,713,715.50 x 2(x daily) =101,427,431

2. CPRP - Cost per Rating point CPRP = cost of commercial time/ Program Rating

= 695,500/24.8 (GMA 7 Rating) = 28,024.20

3. RadioCPM - cost per thousand ( people) CPM = cost of ad space ( absolute cost ) Circulation x 1000 =31,200 (absolute cost) 100,000 x 1000 = 312NewspaperCPM - cost per thousand ( people) CPM = cost of ad space ( absolute cost ) Circulation x 1000 =32,500 (absolute cost) 30,000 x 1000 = 1083.33

4. Total Cost of Ad Placements in different types of Media:Television333,840,000(June, July, August 2015; January, February, March)+(July, October, November, December 2015; April, May 2016)50,076,00083,460,000

Radio1,248,000 x 12 months14,976,000

Print Media(260,000) + (180,000) + (120,000) x 12 months6,720,000

Total: 105,156,000

5. Media Plan per Wave

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