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Media options

Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

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Page 1: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Media options

Page 2: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media

Advantages Disadvantages

Potentially high impact High production costs

Capable of delivering mass audiences

Viewer receptivity being challenged

Relatively low cost per thousand Short life of messages

Growing opportunities for targeting

Page 3: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Relatively low cost per person reached via TV• cost per thousand (CPM) – a measure of media efficiency • calculated on basis of cost of buying media space and number

of people viewing or reading that mediaCPM = cost of ad space (absolute cost) x 1000

circulation/viewers/listeners• e.g. if a company buys a 30-second slot with RTE for €9,000

and expects 500,000 viewers to be exposed to the ad, the CPM is calculated as follows:

€9000 x 1000 = €18 500,000

Page 4: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Advantages and disadvantages of radio as an advertising media

Advantages Disadvantages

Relatively inexpensive High levels of noise and clutter

Selective Short life of a radio advertisement

Offers geographic segmentation

Widespread access to radio

Page 5: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Radio

relatively inexpensive (production and time)– 30-second slots – local radio e.g. €12.69 with

Tipperary Mid West FM; €160 for 96/103 FM in Cork.

– national radio – RTE1, 2FM, Lyric FM and Today FM charge up to €1,714 for a prime-time slot

(Source: MAPS Directory, 2002)

Page 6: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Measuring radio audiences

• listenership is monitored and measured through the JNLR (Joint National Listenership Research) programme

• comprises representatives of RTE, representatives of the IRTC (The Independent Radio and Television Commission), the IAPI (The Institute for Advertising Practitioners in Ireland and the AAI (The Association of Advertisers in Ireland)

Page 7: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Advantages and disadvantages of newspapers as an advertising media

Advantages Disadvantages

Readers can read newspapers at their own pace

Short shelf life

Allows advertisers to pursue national, regional and lifestyle segmentation

High levels of clutter and noise

Relatively low cost per thousand Concerns about print quality

Can lend credibility to the advertiser

As a purely visual media, it can be difficult to capture the reader's attention

Multiple readership

Theme of ads can be very current

Enables advertiser to convey a lot of information

Page 8: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Advantages and disadvantages of magazines as an advertising media

Advantages Disadvantages

The range of magazines available offers segmentation opportunities

Long lead-times

Long shelf-life High levels of clutter

Scope for creativity

Excellent print quality

Multiple readership

Suited to the carriage of sales promotions

Often read for their advertising

Page 9: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Magazine/newspaper circulation

• ‘The number of individuals who receive a publication through either subscription or store purchase.’ (Belch & Belch, 1999)

• primary circulation – committed to publication because they buy it

• secondary readership• ABC (Audit Bureau of Circulations)• JNRR (Joint National Readership Research)

Page 10: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Outdoor media

• billboards

• public transport

• mobile billboards

Page 11: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Advantages and disadvantages of outdoor advertising

Advantages Disadvantages

Wide coverage in specific areas High levels of wastage

Ability to make an impact Over-exposure of audience to advertisements during a campaign

High levels of repetition Short exposure time

Increasingly difficult to obtain planning permission for sites

Page 12: Media options. Advantages and disadvantages of television as an advertising media AdvantagesDisadvantages Potentially high impactHigh production costs

Ambient advertising• ‘Makes the message become part of the

surrounding environment in which the consumer operates.’ (Blythe, 2000)

tickets petrol nozzlessupermarket trolleys transport vehicles – a single advertiser can cover an entire

double decker bus with a message. Known as a full wrap. employees’ carsdoors of public toiletscarrier bags aerial vehicles