Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

Embed Size (px)

Citation preview

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    1/17

    AEM 4160: STRATEGIC PRICINGPROF.: JURA LIAUKONYTE

    VIRGIN CELL CASE: EXCERCISES

    1

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    2/17

    Pricing Structure from the CarrierPerspective

    Contracts: Annual churn rate WITH contracts =2% * 12 months = 24% (p.8)

    Annual churn rate WITHOUT contracts =6% * 12 months =72% (p.8)

    The difference: 72% - 24% = 48%

    Take AT&T example: customer base = 20.5 million

    If AT&T abandons the contract based plan how many new customers wouldit need to acquire to offset customers from an increased churn rate?

    Additional customers lost to churn: 48% * 20.5 mln = 9.84mln

    Acquisition cost per customer: $370 (case p.2)

    Total cost of offsetting higher churn rate: $370 * 9.84 mln =$3.64 bil.

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    3/17

    Menu pricing: Actual Usage

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    4/17

    Bucket/Menu pricing

    In reality most consumers are paying morethan their optimal rate = if they new exactlyhow much they will consume

    industry makes money from consumerconfusion

    Pricing menus allow carriers to advertise low

    per minute rates But most consumers end up choosing the

    wrong menu.

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    5/17

    Hidden Fees

    Able to promote low per minute prices, but stillcollect additional revenues

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    6/17

    Acquisition costs

    Advertising per gross add: from $75 to $100 (p.5)

    Sales commission paid per subscriber: $100 (p.5)

    Handset subsidy provided to the subscriber: $100 to $200(p.9)

    Total: from $275 to $405

    (lets assume somewhere in the middle = $370)

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    7/17

    Break Even point

    Monthly ARPU (average revenue per unit): $52 (p.3)

    Monthly Cost-to-Serve: $30 (p.3)

    Monthly Margin: $22

    Time required to break even on the acquisition cost= $370/ $22= 17 months

    In the cellular industry the monthly margin is relativelyfixed across periods, therefore the traditional LTV can be

    simplified (assuming infinite horizon):

    M = margin the customer generates in a yearr = annual retention rate = (1-12*monthly churn rate)i = interest rate (assume 5%)

    AC = acquisition cost

    LTV =M

    - AC1-r+i

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    8/17

    LTV with contracts

    The annual retention rate in the industry

    = 1-12*0.02=0.76

    LTV =22 * 12

    - 370 = $5401- .76 + .05

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    9/17

    LTV without contracts

    Eliminate contracts -> churn rate increases to6%

    Calculate the LTV:

    LTV =22 * 12

    - 370 = -27.14

    1- .28 + .05

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    10/17

    Eliminate Hidden Costs

    $ 29 cellular bill becomes $35 due to hiddencosts

    Increase of 21%

    If these costs were eliminated, the $22 marginwould be reduced to $18.18= $22/1.21

    Break even would become 20 months =370/18.18

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    11/17

    What happens to LTV?

    Without hidden costs, but with contracts

    Without hidden costs and without contracts

    Elimination of contracts drives LTV below zero

    Hidden costs boost the bottom line

    LTV =18.18 * 12

    - 370 = 3821- .76 + .05

    LTV = 18.18 * 12 - 370 = -86.681- .28 + .05

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    12/17

    Option 3: different pricing approach

    Target audience: Youth

    Loathe contracts

    Fail credit checks

    Ideal plan: no contracts, no menus, no hiddenfees

    How to differentiate itself, and have a positive LTV

    Look at the factors that affect LTV

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    13/17

    Options for Lowering AcquisitionCosts

    Advertising costs per customer

    Industry=from $75 to $100

    Virgin planned ad costs = 60 mil/1min= $60 (p.5)

    Handset subsidies: Current industry handset cost: $150 to $300 (assume $225)

    (p.5)

    Current industry handset subsidy: $100 to $200 (assume$150) (p.9)

    Current industry handset subsidy as a %: 67%

    Virgins handset cost: $60 to $100 (assume $80)

    Assume Virgins subsidy around 30% = $30

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    14/17

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    15/17

    Consumer friendly plan: how toachieve profitability

    Break Even analysis: at what per minute pricewould Virgin break even: Virgins monthly ARPU: (200 minutes)*(p), where p=price per

    minute

    Monthly cost to serve: .45 * 200 * p

    Monthly margin: 200p - 90p = 110p

    p > 0.07

    LTV =12*110p

    - 120 > 0

    1- .28 + .05

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    16/17

    Other price points

    What if Virgin charged per minute price comparable to otherindustry prices, somewhere in between 10 and 25 cents:

    At 10 cents:

    At 25 cents:

    LTV =12*110*.1

    - 120 = $511- .28 + .05

    LTV =12*110*.25

    - 120 = $3091- .28 + .05

  • 8/11/2019 Lecture 6 Virgin cell solution

    17/17

    Virgins Pricing Plan: What

    happened

    A prepaid plan No contracts No hidden charges No peak off peak hours Very low handset subsidies No credit checks No Monthly bills

    Price: 25 cents per minute for the first 10 minutes;10 cents/minute for the rest of the day No exact numbers, but churn rate lower than 6%