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LOW-BUDGET MARKETING WITH A SMALL TEAM Joachim Ekström Uppsala University, Sweden

L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

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Page 1: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

LOW-BUDGET MARKETING WITHA SMALL TEAMJoachim EkströmUppsala University, Sweden

Page 2: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

WHO AM I?

Swedish, 55 years old

Spent the last 20+ in marketing - B2B marketing within Life Science Industry- strategic marketing and communication at UU

Responsible for M&R at Uppsala University

Chair/Trainer - EAIE M&R Expert Community

Page 3: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

UPPSALA UNIVERSITY

95% Masters Programmes

Page 4: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

THE UU M&R TEAM 2017

Who RoleMe Analysis & strategic developmentLina Applicant supportHannah Production managerJorja Web contentDavid Digital marketing

Page 5: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

BUT IN 2010...

Page 6: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

THE GOAL FOR TODAY

1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions

2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0

3. Be able to structure your work week

So you can have fun at work!

Page 7: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

1 HOW TO MAKE GOOD DECISIONSRecruitment funnel and conversion rates

Page 8: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

UNDERSTAND YOUR RECRUITMENT FUNNEL

Search Evaluation Application Offer Acceptance ArrivalGet the idea to study

Page 9: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

Web visitor Applicant Offer Enrolled

CONVERSION RATESEXERCISE 15MIN

A. What percentage of visitors to your program webpages apply?

B. What percentage of applicants receive an admission offer?

C. What percentage of admitted students enrol?

{ { {A% B% C%

Page 10: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

Web visitor60 000

Applicant16 000

Offer2 000

Enrolled750

CONVERSION RATESUU CASE STUDY

A. The percentage of visitors to UU program pages who applies

B. The percentage of UU applicants who receive an admission offer

C. The percentage of admitted students who enrol?

{ { {27% 12% 38%

-------------------------------1%--------------------------------

Page 11: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

ROI CALCULATIONSEXERCISE 5 MINS

1. You spend €1000 on getting web visitors2. That gives you 2000 web visitors3. Conversion rate: web->applicant is 25%Now, a company approach you and offers a service that charge €2 per click.

Question: What conversion rate would you need on those clicks to get the same number of applicants for the same budget?

My current activity generates:2000 clicks * 25%= 500 applicants

New offer gives me €1000/€2=500 clicks

To get my 500 applicants from that, the conversion rate needs to be:

500/500=100%

The obvious question to ask supplier:Can you guarantee that they all apply?

However, there might be other values connected to the offer such as:

better conversion later in the funnelgeneral branding

access to market data, etc.

Page 12: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

USING THE FUNNEL KNOWLEDGETO MAKE GOOD DECISIONS

Page 13: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

Web visitor Applicant Admitted Enrolled

USE THE INFORMATION TO GET MORESTUDENTS

{ { {

A% B% C%

Adjust:Web contentAd targeting

Adjust:Applicant supportAdmission criteria

Adjust:Inspirational contentOffer/Market segment

Potential problems:Unattractive content

Potential problems:Wrong applicants

Potential problems:Better offer elsewhere

Adjust:Findability

Potential problem:Not enough web visitors

Page 14: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

BLUEPRINT

Search Evaluation Application Offer Acceptance ArrivalGet the idea to study

Increase findability

WebContent

Applicant support

Inspirational content

Page 15: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

2 BLUEPRINT AND TOOLSIncreasing findability

Page 16: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

INCREASE FINDABILITY- GOOGLE ADWORDS

Page 17: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

GOOGLE ADWORDS

KeyWords

Ad Text

Web page text

RELEVANCY

$Price (CPC)

Control this and you get a discount

PopularitySearch phrase

Page 18: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

KEYWORD MATCHING

KeyWord Type Matches search phrase

Does not match

master in biology broad match study biologybachelor in sweden

Welcome to the 2017 Masters Golf Tournament

bachelor in bioinformatics

”master in biology” phrase match study master in biology in Sweden

study biology master in Sweden

[master in biology] exact match master in biology Master in freshwater biology

Page 19: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

BASIC ADWORDS AD FORMAT

Fierld Limitation Example

Headline 1 30 characters Sustainable Management

Headline 2 30 characters <not used>Description 80 characters Swedish Master’s programme.

Uppsala University – Top RankedDisplay URL Must contain true

website domain, i.e. ”uu.se”

www.uu.se/SustainableManagement

Page 20: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

CREATE AN ADWORDS AD AND KEYWORD LISTEXERCISE 15 MINUTES

The Master Programme in Economics provide solid basis in economic theory, statistics, econometrics and proficiency in analysing empirical data and evaluating public policy. The Department of Economics at Uppsala University is, by international standards, very strong in public economics, labour economics and applied microeconometrics.

ABOUT THE PROGRAMMEWe offer a two-year international Master Programme in Economics. The programme is consistently ranked as one of the top programmes in Economics in Sweden. Our students come from all over the world and are trained to become professional economic analysts.

We focus on understanding and evaluating economic policy, providing students with state of the art training in analysing real world data. The programme is designed to help students achieve the skills needed in their future careers. There are ample opportunities to specialise in different fields, including public, labour, macro, political economics and more.

We collaborate with and visit potential employers such as ministries, research institutes, banks and other organisations.

30 characters – 30 characters80 charactersURL/SomethingeCreative

broad match“phrase match”[exact match]

Page 21: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

A/B TESTING YOUR ADS

Economics Master’s DegreeFocus – Evaluating public policyMSSc at Uppsala University, Swedenwww.uu.se/EconomicsMaster

Economics Master’s DegreeMSSc at Uppsala Unversity, SwedenFocus – Evaluating public policywww.uu.se/EconomicsMaster

MSSc in Economicsat Uppsala Unversity, SwedenWorld rank – Top 100www.uu.se/EconomicsMaster

A

B

C

CTR 2.22%CPC €0.7

CTR 1.75%CPC €0.9

CTR ?%CPC ?%

Page 22: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

2 BLUEPRINT AND TOOLSWeb content

Page 23: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

YOUR WEBSITE– DECISION SUPPORT MATERIAL

Page 24: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

COMMON ERRORS

#1 Vague career information”After graduation you can work in relevant fields in the private or public sector”

Optimal career information 89% of our graduates get employment within 6 months after graduation

50% work in the EU, 20% in Asia, 30% in the US

Top 3 most common employers: Microsoft, Google, Spotify

Top 3 most common job titles: Software engineer, Product specialist, R&D manager

Page 25: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

COMMON ERRORS

#2 Confusing requirements“A Bachelor's degree, equivalent to a Swedish Kandidatexamen, from an internationally recognised university.”

Optimal requirements specification:

Add country specific webpages for key

markets

Page 26: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

COMMON ERRORS

#3 Too much general ”inspirational” material“Watch our promo video”

Optimal inspirational material:“Follow our Biology students on a field trip on YouTube”(Note: Specific, real life, honest)

Don’t spend your money on corporate

videos. Browse for user generated material

Page 27: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

2 BLUEPRINT AND TOOLSApplicant support

Page 28: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

APPLICANT SUPPORT

1. Answer email questions2. Collect and use contact information (CRM)3. Start regular webinars

Page 29: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

1 ANSWER EMAILS

Source: “Beyond the Data: Influencing International Student Decision Making”, Hobsons, 2014

Page 30: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

DON’T BE LIKE THIS

• 21% of world’s top 500 institutions never responded• 68% of the institutions that did respond never sent a

second emailSource: “Through Student Eyes” StudyPortals and British Council, 2014

Page 31: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

2 COLLECT CONTACT INFORMATION

MailChimp Lead follow up Newsletters Statistics

Page 32: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

2 COLLECT CONTACT INFORMATION

Or use Excel...

Page 33: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

3 START REGULAR WEBINARS

Periscope or Facebook Live

Q&A sessions Invited guests Behind the scenes

Page 34: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

2 BLUEPRINT AND TOOLSInspirational content

Page 35: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

USE CONTENT CURATION

Look for Blogging students/staff YouTube clips from students/staff Instagram tags/accounts

Then, share it in your channels...

Page 36: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

CONTENT CURATION

Page 37: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

CONTENT CURATION

Page 38: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

CAPITALIZE ON WHAT’S HOT...

Enjoy the wildlife at Uppsala University campus areas this fall...

Page 39: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

USE CONTENT MARKETING

Get some student bloggers They love to help They know what content is relevant They carry the true story about your university

You ask them, and nurture the relationship with icecream...

Page 40: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

CONTENT MARKETING IN WORDPRESS

Page 41: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

3 STRUCTURE YOUR WORKFocus on what matters

Page 42: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

THE FOUNDATION FOR YOUR WORK WEEKMonday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday FridayAnswer emails

1 hour in the morning

30 mins before lunch

30 minutes before end of day

Answer emails

1 hour in the morning

30 mins before lunch

30 minutes before end of day

Answer emails

1 hour in the morning

30 mins before lunch

30 minutes before end of day

Answer emails

1 hour in the morning

30 mins before lunch

30 minutes before end of day

Answer emails

1 hour in the morning

30 mins before lunch

30 minutes before end of day

Send weekly newsletter based on current topics/questions

2 hours

Publish content (blog, curated, etc)

1 hours

Adjust AdWords

2 hours

20-30 mins Webinar

1 hour x 2

Analyse:Google AnalyticsAdWordsCRM stats

2 hours4 hours 3 hours 4 hours 4 hours 4 hours

This leaves you ~50% of your time to hunt for great content,nurture student bloggers, figure out what the webinar should cover next week, adjusting the web content...etc.

Page 43: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

INTERNATIONAL RECRUITMENT DOESN’THAVE TO BE EXPENSIVE

What Cost/yearAdWords ?SurveyMonkey €900WordPress Premium €99Ice cream for 10 bloggers €600

Extras Cost/yearQlik Sense Cloud Plus €240Zoho CRM €420

Page 44: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

IN SUMMARY

1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions- understand your funnel and conversion rates

2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0- increase findability, improve your website, support applicants and inspire them with “real world” content

3. Be able to structure your work week- focus on what matters, i.e. applicant support

So you can have fun at work!

Page 45: L UDGET MARKETING WITH SMALL TEAM · 1. Be able to make good (profitable) decisions 2. Get a blueprint and tools to construct your recruitment plan 1.0 3. Be able to structure your

THANK YOU!linkedin.com/in/joachimekstrom