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Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

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Page 1: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results

February 2011

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Page 2: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Campaign Goals

• Campaign Goal:

To create awareness of giant salvinia among the general public, especially anglers and boaters, by effectively communicating how giant salvinia will impact their enjoyment of the outdoors and motivate them to take action to help stop its spread.

• Key Target Lakes: Caddo Lake

Lake Conroe

Toledo Bend Reservoir

Lake Sam Rayburn

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Page 3: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Campaign Elements and Media TargetsTiming Focus: April 2010

Integrated campaignStatewide• Texasinvasives.org

• Online Banner Ads, Facebook– Target: Statewide boaters, anglers and water recreationists

• TPW Magazine, Texas Monthly, Outdoor Annual & Lonestar Outdoor News Print Ads– Target: Texas anglers/license holders

• News Coverage– Target: General Market

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Page 4: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Home Pagewww.texasinvasives.org

Page 5: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Print Ad

Page 6: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Online Banner Ads

Page 7: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Campaign Elements and Media Targets Timing Focus: April 2010

Media by Market• Television

– Target: Men A25-54, 75% reach with a frequency of 4 or more in Houston and Tyler Designated Market Areas

– Ran during news broadcasts, fishing shows and other programming skewed to anglers

Lake Specific Media - Target: boaters/anglers around target lakes• Pump toppers / Ice Bin decals• Billboards• Buoys

Event Specific Media • Radio

– Target: Anglers (tied to fishing events in Lufkin, Jasper, Conroe, Mineola)– Texas State Network (Brian Hughes show promoting fishing events)

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Page 8: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Brochures

Page 9: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

TV Advertising

Page 10: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Billboards

Pump Toppers

Buoys

Page 11: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Campaign Timing

• Advertising launched April 2010

- Four week flight on TV and online - Event radio ran one week in April and one week in May

• Media Events

-Campaign Launch with Governor Perry – April 1, 2010, Austin, TX

-News Briefing and Media Event – April 7, 2010, Sheldon Lake

-News Briefing and Media Event with Pro Angler Kelly Jordan – April 8, 2010,

Lake Fork

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Page 12: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Survey Methodology

• Pre and Post awareness mail survey of registered boat owners

• Targeted boaters within 60 miles of 4 East Texas lakes - Target Lakes: Toledo Bend, Lake Conroe, Lake Sam Rayburn, Caddo Lake

• Response Rates- Pre Survey: 1,631 respondents (54% response rate) - Post Survey: 1,964 respondents (52% response rate)

• Stratified Random Sample- Pre Survey: Surveyed 800 boaters per lake - Post Survey: Surveyed 1,000 boaters per lake

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Page 13: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Target Lake Users Last 12 Months

For both PRE and POST surveys…

• Over one-third boated/fished on at least one of the four target lakes in the last year (Target Lake Users)

• Conversely, two-thirds have not boated/fished on lakes in the last year (Non-Target Lake Users)

39 35

0

20

40

60

80

100

Target Lake Users in Last 12Months

Pre

Post

13* 82% of those surveyed had boated; 74% fished in the past 12 months

Page 14: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Awareness of Giant SalviniaPRE Survey

• “How aware are you of giant salvinia in Texas?”

• Over half of surveyed boaters were aware or very aware of giant salvinia before the campaign began

26 23 2013

18

0

10

20

30

40

50

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Page 15: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Awareness of Giant Salvinia PRE vs. POST Survey

26 23 2013

18151317

2926

0

10

20

30

40

50

Very

Aware

Awar

e

Somew

hat A

ware

Not Ver

y Awar

e

Not at a

ll Awar

e

Pre

Post

• Significant difference found only on “aware” scale between pre and post

Page 16: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Awareness of Giant Salvinia PRE vs. POST Survey

• Awareness of giant salvinia increased by 5 percentage points- This is statistically significant

50 55

0

20

40

60

80

100

Very Aware/Aware of GiantSalvinia

Pre

Post

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Page 17: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Awareness of Giant Salvinia Target Lake Users vs. Non-Target Lake

PRE Survey

• Pre-campaign awareness is much higher for boaters using one or more target lakes compared to boaters not using any of the four target lakes

65

40

0

20

40

60

80

100

Target Lake Users (Last12 mos)

Non-Target Lake Users(Last 12 mos)

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Page 18: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Awareness of Giant Salvinia Target Lake Users vs. Non-Target Lake

PRE vs. POST Survey

• Post-campaign awareness for boaters not using any of the four target lakes showed a statistically significant increase

65

40

6947

0

20

40

60

80

100

Target LakeUsers (Last 12

mos)

Non-Target LakeUsers (Last 12

mos)

Pre

Post

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Page 19: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Awareness of Giant Salvinia By Target Lake

PRE vs. POST Survey

• Awareness of giant salvinia varies greatly by lake boated/fished in last year

• Increase in awareness at Sam Rayburn- Lake with giant salvinia but didn’t have extremely high awareness in pre-survey

% Very Aware/Aware

PRE POST

Caddo Lake 81% 87%

Toledo Bend 80% 80%

Lake Sam Rayburn 64% 71%

Lake Conroe * 49% 48%

All Lake Users 65% 69%

 * Conroe did not have significant giant salvinia at time campaign and research was conducted.

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Page 20: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Attitudes about Giant Salvinia

• Over three-quarters of boaters agree/strongly agree that giant salvinia is an important conservation concern and has a negative impact on boating and fishing

• No differences between pre and post

76 8075

80

0

20

40

60

80

100

Negative impact onboating/fishing

Important ConservationConcern

Pre

Post

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Page 21: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

51 51

0

20

40

60

80

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Ability to Identify Giant Salvinia

Pre

Post

Ability to Identify Giant Salvinia

• Only half of boaters agree that they can identify giant salvinia

• No differences between pre and post

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Page 22: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Behavior Related to Cleaning Boat, Trailer and Gear

• Agreement on cleaning boat, trailer and/or gear to remove giant salvinia did not increase (pre vs. post survey)

• Vast majority of boaters were “more likely to clean their boat, trailer and/or gear as a result of seeing information or advertising”

– Suggests campaign influenced boaters’ future intent to clean their boats and may serve as an important reinforcing message  

68 69

96

0

20

40

60

80

100

Clean boat, trailer and/orgear

More likely to clean afterseeing ads/information

(POST Survey)

Pre

Post

Page 23: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Seen Advertising or InformationPOST Survey

•“Have you seen any information or advertising on giant salvinia in the last two months?”

•One-half of all boaters surveyed (51%) saw advertising or information about giant salvinia

•Target lake users were significantly more likely to have seen the advertising/information compared to boaters not using target lakes

51

67

43

0

20

40

60

80

100

All RegisteredBoaters

Target Lake Users(Last 12 months)

Non-Target LakeUsers (Last 12

months)23

Page 24: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Saw Advertising or Information by Target Lake

• Boaters residing within 60 miles of Lake Conroe were the least likely to have seen the advertising/information in last two months

54 57 57

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0

20

40

60

80

100

Caddo Lake Toledo Bend Sam Rayburn Lake Conroe*

*Conroe was only lake that did not have significant giant salvinia during research period and also likely has more casual urban boaters from Houston

vs. rural avid boaters/anglers for other east Texas lakes. 24

Page 25: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

What Information or Advertising was Seen?

• 51% of surveyed boaters reported seeing advertising or information

• News stories received the highest mentions- Could be due to TV ad running during news programming - Media events received a great deal of news coverage due to

launch of campaign

% All Boaters Surveyed

New stories (papers, TV, online) 28%Magazine/Newspaper Ad 19%TV Ad/Commercial 14%Billboard 11%Other 8%Information at Event 6%Brochure 6%Radio 5%Buoy 3%Ad at Gas Station 3%TexasInvasives.org website 2%Online Ad 2% 25

Page 26: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Conclusions

• Pre-campaign awareness of giant salvinia was extremely high for boaters who used target lakes but not for boaters that did not use target lakes (65% vs. 40%)

• Boaters’ overall awareness of giant salvinia increased by 5% as result of campaign

– Primarily driven by increase in awareness by boaters who were not using the target lakes and were previously less aware

• 51% of boaters reported seeing advertising/information on Giant Salvinia

– 14% saw TV ads (above industry average)

• Boaters reported that the information/advertising made them more likely to clean their boat/trailer in the future

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Page 27: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Other Campaign Benefits

• Campaign reached boaters and anglers and general public not included

in the surveyed boater group:– Significant media coverage in Austin area– TV advertising in Houston and Tyler markets– Statewide online advertising– Brochures distributed at events: TTBC, Go Fish, boat shows,

boater education classes– Communication efforts for events like Aquapalooza and Marina

Association of Texas– www.texasinvasives.org (on-going efforts)

• Other evidence of campaign success– Reports of giant salvinia through website, email and via phone calls

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Page 28: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Campaign Cost-Benefit

$275,800 Total Campaign Cost

94,860 boaters (51%) saw the ads/information on giant salvinia

$2.91 per Boater Who Saw Ads/Information

$275,800 / 94,860 = $2.91

$103,700 Paid Media Cost

28.5 million total impressions from paid media $3.63 CPM (cost per thousand) impressions

(average for Texas is $15 CPM) $103,700/28,500,000 = $3.63 CPM*

*Including impressions from non-paid media (website, media events, press coverage, brochure distribution, event presence) would result in even

lower CPM

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Page 29: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Marina Association of TexasMember Survey

• Email survey of marina owner members (41 out of 111 members responded to online survey)

• 89% interested in receiving more information about invasive species to inform their customers

• 2/3rds were interested in TPWD partnership program to become “certified” in helping stop spread of invasive species

Page 30: Giant Salvinia Public Awareness Campaign Pre and Post Survey Results February 2011 1

Next Steps/Discussion

• Discuss campaign results

• Discuss goals and budget to continue building on giant salvinia public awareness

– Direct mail?

• Need for public awareness for zebra mussels?

– What role can the public play?

• Need for public awareness of other aquatic invasive species?

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