Asoka the Great

  • View

  • Download

Embed Size (px)

Text of Asoka the Great

300 BCE 232 BCE Heman Saralaya

Name: Asoka Bindusara Maurya

Birthplace: Patliputra (Bihar) Born: 304 BC Died: 232 BC AGED 72

Sucessor: Dashratha Maurya Queens: Rani Kwarky, Rani Devi , Rani Tishyaraksha,

Rani Padmavati Offsprings: Mahendra, Sanghamitra, Teevala, Kunala Royal House: Mauryan Dynasty

Birth of Asoka 300 BCE

Reign begins 272 BCE

Marriage 284 BCE

Conversion to Buddhism 263 BCE

Death in 232 BCE

After the death of Asoka's father, Binder Sar, Ashoka

and his older brother competed for the throne. The prime minister and other important ministers at the time though Asoka to be more discreet, capable and efficient ruler. The next three years Ashoka focused on reestablishing peace. During Asoka's rule theft declined and science, medicine and technology all flourished. Buddhism received a significant boost of popularity when Ashoka converted to Buddhism.

Chandragupta was the grandfather of Asoka. He founded the Mauryan Empire. He gained power shortly after Alexander s death. Once he was in power he forced all Greek inhabitants to leave.

Asoka was a very compassionate king as he knew

exactly what was happening in every portion of his kingdom. It is even said that he would not eat his supper until he fed 1000 Brahmins. To the east of Asokas empire was the empire of Kaling(a). Kalinga was a country that had very fertile lands and Ashoka decided that he wished to have these lands for himself. He surrounded the country with his soldiers. A war ensued and Ashoka stood in the aftermath of a battle and was appalled at how many suffered for his greed, he then took an oath to never wage war again.

After Asokas death in 232 BCE the people of India decided to commemorate Ashoka by using his personal chakra. It can still be seen today on the Indian flag. The word chakra is sandskrit and it means cycle or a repeating process.

Asokas chakra is also know as the wheel of the

dharma (way) and it symbolizes the 24 virtues in Buddhism. Some of these 24 virtues include: love, patience, peacefulness, courage, justice and mercy.

Under Ashokas rule religion flourished. In particular

Buddhism received a significant boost when Asoka converted to Buddhism. Buddhism: Religion created by Siddhartha Gautama Believe in reincarnation, karma and nirvana (realm that is reached at the end of an individuals reincarnation cycle) Main ideology includes self-sacrafice, humility and detachment from worldly pleasures.

Ashoka was first introduced to Buddhism when he was

injured on the battlefield and was attended by Buddhist monks.

Asoka married a commoner called Karuwaki, she was a

fisher. He met her before his reign when he was sent to Taxshila to subdue an uprising as a general of the Mauryan empire. Due to Ashokas success in the quelling of the uprising and his growing popularity, his step-brothers forced him into exile to prevent him from obtaining the throne. Asoka however returned two years later being summoned by the emperor to quell another uprising.

Before Ashokas conquest of Kalinga he was known as

Chandashok ( Chanda-cruel, shok-associated with Hindu goddess of eternal energy) Asoka was considered a bloodthirsty and power greedy individual. It was not until later, after the conquest of Kalinga, where Asoka received his revelation that he was considered great.


Risk Taker Compassionate Respect For All

Authoritative Humble Creative and Dynamic Leader

Unity Of Command