2015 year in review ezine

  • Published on
    25-Jul-2016

  • View
    214

  • Download
    1

Embed Size (px)

DESCRIPTION

A compilation of Altruistica's work last year.

Transcript

2015 Year in Review

Your actions made our work possible during another very eventful year.

We were able to make over 15 million public impressions via our e-zine, our website www.altruistica.org, our Covers + Causes CD, our Help Nepal Campaign, our Westward Beach Cleanup, our We Recommend Orgs, and our Public Outreach programs.

We helped raise over $450,000 USD and recruit over 4,000 volunteers.

Thank you for all your help and support.

Please take a look at everything that happened last year.

ezine

September 2015 edition Featured Articles on: Coastal Cleanup Day 2015 - Covers + Causes: Thank you Rob - Homeboy Industries Creative Visions Tiger Time David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation Not Impossible Labs The Milagro Foundation Mouvement Heal the Bay - Ocean Conservancy

HEAL THE BAY: WESTWARD BEACH IN MALIBU ON SEPTEMBER 19

COASTAL CLEANUP DAY 2015

Think globally. Clean up locally.Coastal Cleanup Day is everywhere on Saturday, September 19 from9amuntil noon.

JOIN THE BIGGEST VOLUNTEER EVENT ON EARTH.

WHY?

Oceans cover 71% of our planet.They provide up to 70% of the oxygen we breathe.And they need 100% of our help.

On September 19, join hundreds of thousands of other volunteers around the world including over 10,000 Los Angeles residents in showing some love for our most valuable natural resource.

Volunteers from Huntington Beach to Hong Kong will do their part to clean up their local beaches, rivers, creeks and parks on Saturday, September 19.

In 2013 alone, 648,015 volunteers in 92 countries collected over 12 MILLION pounds of ocean-bound garbage.

Theres no other single-day volunteer event that even comes close to the impact of Coastal Cleanup Day.

In L.A., Heal the Bay is hosting over 60 cleanup sites to choose from.

HOW DO I SIGN UP?

1. Pick a cleanup site. Weve got over 50. Check out the map at:

http://www.healthebay.org/get-involved/coastal-cleanup-day/sites?

We have beach cleanups, inland cleanupseven underwater Scuba cleanups!

2. Register. RSVP via Eventbrite to give us an idea of how many people to prepare for. Itll also send you a reminder closer to the cleanup.

3. Fundraise. Cleaning up 30+ miles of coast isnt cheap. Register on our FirstGiving site to raise much-needed funds for Heal the Bay.

4. Be there! Better start setting those alarm clocks. We need you at 9 a.m. on Saturday, September 19!

Questions?

Pleasecontact Emily Blum,eblum@healthebay.org,with any questions regarding Coastal Cleanup Day in Los Angeles County.

For other California locations, please contact theCalifornia Coastal Commission: 800-COAST4UPlease visit:

http://www.healthebay.org/get-involved/coastal-cleanup-day/sites?

Thank you for all your help and support.COVERS + CAUSES : THANK YOU ROB We would like to Thank Rob Falsini for donating his Live recording at Covent Garden in the UK.

This unique Live recording includes the Covers of great contemporary artists.

He recorded this album Live at Covent Garden on June 22, 2015.

And he has included previously unreleased Studio recordings as well.

And a Bonus track and video of his newest song: Until You Get Closer.You can preview it for free here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UVHPTmWKRrI&authuser=0Please Donate $20 to receive your electronic CD on Aug 14 at:

http://altruistica.org/donations/

All profits will be donated to 10 of our We Recommend organizations for the much needed causes they represent.About Rob:

Rob Falsini is a singer songwriter based in London UK and a regular performer at the world famous street performances venue Covent Garden. Please check out:

His original viral video:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=edHwDnyoFWwHis music:

https://soundcloud.com/rob-music-productions/tracksHis Facebook page:

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Robcoventgarden/344397872309300Thank you for all your help and support.HOMEBOY THOUGHT OF THE DAY: The measure of our compassion lies not in our service to others but in our willingness to see ourselves connected to them." -Father Greg Boyle WHO WE ARE:Please check our new video out:

http://www.homeboyindustries.org/site/video_frame/

On Saturday, October 24, 2015 more than 5,000 folks of all ages will gather for a morning-long festival celebrating the worth of every Angeleno and the work of Homeboy Industries.

The Festival includes a 5K Run, Kiddie 1K Fun Run, anart exhibition and sale featuring 50+ renowned and emerging artists in a variety of media,activities for children, a rock climbing wall, a photo booth, DJ Richard Blade spinning tunes all morning, avendor villageselling handicrafts and artisan treats, and the first ever Homegirl Caf Football Field Lunch (imagine tacos with 1,000 of your closest friends).

Each year over 10,000 formerly gang-involved and previously incarcerated men and women from across Southern California come through Homeboy Industries doors in an effort to make a positive change. They are welcomed into a community of mutuality, kinship and respect. And they receive a wide variety of services ranging from tattoo removal to anger management and parenting classes so they can move on from Homeboy Industries and become contributing members of the community - knowing they count. Join usas a runner or walker, donor or sponsor, volunteeror cheerleader. Every Angeleno Counts.

Click here to learn more about Homeboy Industries.Please check out: https://youtu.be/hdscctnw1RcPlease enter the raffle here to win a smart car or $10,000 cash: http://www.homeboyindustries.org/news-events/view/every-angeleno-counts-raffle/

Every Angeleno Counts 5k and Festival LocationSaturday, October 24, 20156:00 a.m - 1:00 p.m.

Homeboy Industries130 West Bruno StreetLos Angeles, CA 90012Get DirectionsScheduleOn-site registration and packet pickup: 6:00-7:30am

Art walk, kids activities, marketplace, and vendors: 6:00am

Complimentary Yoga class: 7:00am

Announcements and welcome from Father Greg Boyle: 7:45am

5k run official start: 8:00am

Kids 1K fun run: 9:00am

5K Awards: 9:30am

Festival concludes: 1:00pmPriceRegular Adult Registration $50.00

Individual Team Member Registration - $40.00

Individual Youth Registration (under 18 years of age) - $30.00

Kids 1K Fun Run (2-12 years of age) - $20.00

*All registration prices include the official event t-shirt and medal.Deadline for team t-shirts: October 1st, 2015

Avoid the lines, pick up your packet early at Homegirl Caf!

Saturday, October 17, 2015 10:00am - 3:00pm

Friday, October 23, 2015 3:00pm - 7:00pm

Transportation, Parking & HotelsLearn more about transportation options, parking, and nearby hotels here.

Please check out : http://www.everyangelenocounts.org/Thank you for all your help and support.

Father Greg speaks internationally, nationally and most often locally in Southern California. Besides these speaking engagements, Father Gregs time is committed to working with former gang members at Homeboy, visiting youth camps and prisons, and serving on a myriad of advisory committees and task forces. Check out where Father G is next at: http://www.homeboyindustries.org/wheres-father-g/"

http://www.homeboyindustries.org/wheres-father-g/

Click here to invite Father Greg to speak at your event.

HOPE HAS AN ADDRESS

Homeboy Industries provides hope, training, and supportto formerly gang-involved and recently incarcerated men and women, allowing them to redirect their lives and become contributing members of their communities.

Homeboy Industries serves at-risk and gang involved youth with a continuum of services and programs designed to meet their multiple needs, and runs four businesses that serve as job-training sites.

Please Visit: www.homeboyindustries.org

Homeboy Industries is looking for dedicated volunteers in the Educational Services Department.

If you are interested in volunteering with Homeboy and mentoring their trainees, these are some of the immediate areas they could really use your expertise. Please go tothis linkto fill out the volunteer application. Thank you for all your help and support.CREATIVE VISIONSBOBB Films

Abby Epstein & Ricki Lake

Our Featured Creative Activist Project

Were Ricki Lake and Abby Epstein and together we produce award winning documentaries on a variety of important subjects all of which we both care deeply about.

Some of you may know me from mytalk show or from John Waters Hairspray whilst Abbyis known as an award winning film-maker whos credits include Until the Violence Stops. You might know us both from our first documentaryThe Business of Being Born.

Were currently working on films includingWeed the Peoplewhichexploresthe use of cannabis onchildren with cancer,as well as afilm about hormonal birth control, called Sweetening the Pill.Were proud to call each other friends as well as producing partners. We made The Business of Being Born together, we made the follow up series together, and we also wrote a book together, calledYour Best Birth.Together we make films which we feelpassionately about and we hope they open up peoples minds aboutvarious social issues.Please view at http://www.creativevisions.org/cap/bobb-films/\CREATIVE ACTIVIST NETWORK

The Creative Activist Network (CAN) is the first step ofimmersion into the vibrant Creative Visions hub.

CAN members receive invitations to educational workshops and a myriad of community and networking events to engage and connect with like-minded artists and professionals.Please join at http://www.creativevisions.org/can/

THE JOURNEY IS THE DESTINATION

Inspired by the life of Dan Eldon, Creative Visions Foundation inspires and supports creative activists individuals who use media and the arts to raise awareness of critical issues around the globe and ignite positive change.

Creative Visions Foundation provides tools, mentorship, resources and a linked community to help our activists harness the power of media, arts and technology to solve global problems in the areas of: human rights, environment, youth & education, woman empowerment, and global consciousness.

Please visit: http://www.creativevisions.org/story/#_our-beginning

INCLUDEPICTURE "http://www.creativevisions.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/TolaInvite5x7Side214Aug-2-731x1024.jpg" \* MERGEFORMATINET Its that time of year again! Be prepared for a wonderful and wildly disruptive evening of inspiration, celebration and creative activism!

Please join us on Thursday Oct. 8th at: http://www.creativevisions.org/turn-on-la-2015-a-wildly-entertaining-and-inspiring-event/Thank you for all your help and support.TIGER TIME Former Spice Girl Melanie C joined us in India this summer to help raise awareness for TigerTime. You can see the story here:http://tigertime.info/blog/241/99/MelanieC-Champions-wild-tigersPlease check out the video here:http://tigertime.info/videosKeeping Tigers on the Agenda2015 is an important year for the tiger. Help TigerTime demonstrate how important we feel it is to the survival of the tiger. Please sign up at http://tigertime.info/take-action/sign-up/Our aim is to deliver over half a million signatures to the Chinese Embassy in London in October 2015 respectfully requesting that China, in its key role as chair of the inter-sessional working group, guarantees the compliance of CITES members to all of its recommendations. Without that compliance, the future of the wild tiger remains uncertain. Please be part of it. TigerTime already has over 300,000 signatories help us reach the 500,000 mark by signing up atwww.bantigertrade.com David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation

David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation responds to urgent conservation threats by supporting trusted, reputable individuals and organisations operating in the field. The Founder, David Shepherd, is known internationally as an artist and ambassador for wildlife. In 1960 he became a conservationist overnight when he came across 255 zebra lying dead around a poisoned waterhole in Tanzania. Since then, with the help of supporters across the world, the David Shepherd Wildlife Foundation (DSWF) has given away over 5million in grants to save critically endangered mammals in their wild habitat and benefit the local people who share their environment.

David Shepherd Wildlife Foundationas an adaptable and flexible, non-bureaucratic

organisation supports a range of innovative, vital and far-reaching projects

throughout Africa and Asia, achieving real results for wildlife survival.

The Foundation supports sending undercover agents into the field to investigate

illegal wildlife crime, training and supplying anti-poaching patrols. It has helped

establish nature reserves and other protected areas and works with governments to

establish conservation laws and regulations.

The Foundation educates wildlife consumers about the plight of the animals they

use and teaches young people about endangered wildlife through art and school

projects.Please visit: www.davidshepherd.org Thank you for all your help and support.NOT IMPOSSIBLE

THE LATEST

Whales, Whale-Snot & a Drone.

A "Snotbot" that hovers over whale blow holes to capture key data from our world's biggest mammals. Does Dr. Iain Kerr have a job that's more fun than yours?Thespian Patrick Stewart has joined the side of tech for the sake of humanity. More specifically, he's called for the support ofSnotbot, a drone that helps us understand whales, that helps us understand the oceans, that ultimately helps us help humanity.Dr. Iain Kerr is a leading scientist and current CEO of Ocean Alliance, an international organization devoted to whale research and ocean conservation, who has spent the past thirty years dedicated to understanding these marine mammals. Dr. Kerr is a firm believer that the future of humanity resides in the ocean. As he says: we dont live on planet earth, we live on planet ocean.

Please check out:

http://www.notimpossiblenow.com/the-latest/snotbot-whale-drone-for-good

Thank you for all your help and support.

NOT IMPOSSIBLE NOW

The People at Not Impossible Now believe in technology for the sake of humanity.

While nobody can do everything, everybody can do something, so we crowdsource our solutions to real-world problems. Suddenly, yesterdays pipe dreams are Not Impossible Now!By helping one person we can all inspire others to do the same its their Help One Help Many philosophy and it breaks down barriers, enabling greater access to all in need.Access to healthcare, literacy and technology shouldnt ever be limited by finances, geography or physical ability.

Listen in on Not Impossible founder Mick Ebeling's conversation on CBC radio's program "Q" right here:http://www.cbc.ca/q/popupaudio.html?clipIds=2476780836In the book, which is available in stores and o...