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Increasing inflow to web- mining.jp/en/ from Singapore while at the same time decreasing bounce rate By Arun Mani

Increasing inflow and reducing bounce rate to waca.sg from Singapore

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Increasing inflow to web-mining.jp/en/ from Singapore while at the same

time decreasing bounce rate

By Arun Mani

Summary of Contents• Traffic Patterns - 1• Persona of Singapore Users - 8• Communication Design - 10• Lifetime Value of a Singapore Customer - 12• Estimating Bounce rate and Inflow - 14• Logic Tree - 17• PPC campaign for Trial Associate Course - 18• PPC optimization campaign for SEO - 24• A/B Testing on Course Description Page - 34• Case Studies Page – 38• Competitor Analysis - 40

Traffic Patterns

Data Date range is from March 15th to June 14th, 2015

Users from Singapore are not spending as much time on website as users from other locations:

Bounce Rate(SG)

Bounce Rate

Pages/Session(SG) Avg Session Duration(SG)

Pages/Session Avg Session Duration

81.43% 1.55 0:01:15

54.58% 3.45 0:03:10

The bounce rate is higher than average, pages visited in a session and session duration are below average for Singapore traffic.

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Date range is from March 15th to June 14th, 2015

Most of the traffic from the Singapore Location came from Facebook Ads

Medium Sessions (% of Total) Bounce Rate

Pages / Session Avg. Session Duration

1Facebook / Banner 2,840(57.21%) 90.35% 1.14 0:00:31

2(direct) / (none) 552(11.12%) 55.25% 2.55 0:03:22

3google / cpc 524(10.56%) 91.22% 1.33 0:00:34

4Banner_for_mobile_and_apps / Banner 337(6.79%) 94.07% 1.08 0:00:09

5google / organic 262(5.28%) 45.80% 3.16 0:04:01

6WACA-International / email 102(2.05%) 70.59% 1.69 0:01:09

Your goal would be to increase the number of sessions from Organic Search.

Notice the low bounce rates and corresponding higher session duration for Organic Search.

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How did NEW users from Singapore visit the site?

Facebook / Banner 2,097(61.88%)

google / cpc 417(12.30%)

(direct) / (none) 347(10.24%)

Banner_for_mobile_and_apps / Banner 283(8.35%)

google / organic 106(3.13%)

WACA-International / email 35(1.03%)

Date range is from March 15th to June 14th, 20153

Users from Singapore also do not spend much time on the WACA website

Date range is from March 16th to June 15th, 2015

Majority of users from Singapore spend less than 10 seconds.

Session Duration Sessions (% of Total) Pageviews

0-10 seconds 4145 (83.3%) 4,24211-30 seconds 165(3.3%) 36831-60 seconds 110(2.21%) 286

61-180 seconds 173(3.48%) 592

181-600 seconds 194 (3.9%) 838

601-1800 seconds 142 (2.85%) 698

1801+ seconds 47 (0.94%) 645

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Date range is from March 16th to June 15th, 2015

Most of the traffic from Singapore is thru mobile devices

Sessions%New Sessions New Users

Bounce Rate

Pages/Session Avg. Session Duration

mobile 2,554(51.33%) 74.82% 1,911(56.22%) 89.00% 1.21 0:00:36

desktop 1,230(24.72%) 51.06% 628(18.48%) 58.29% 2.55 0:03:19

tablet 1,192(23.95%) 72.15% 860(25.30%) 88.93% 1.21 0:00:32

As a result, your website needs to continue to provide seamless mobile and desktop content

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Most of the traffic from Singapore landed on pages related to the associate certification course and the free trial course. This means most of the traffic came thru ads.

Date range is from March 16th to June 15th, 2015

Page Page Views Entrances Bounce RateUnique Page Views

Avg Time on Page

%Exit

/en/associate-web-analytics-consultant-awac

3,767(49.12%) 3285(50.99%) 0:03:20 3218(64.67%) 89.71% 84.26%

/en/ 340(4.43%) 257(3.99%) 0:01:56 181(3.64%) 29.83% 29.71%

/en/certification/free-trial

324(4.22%) 278(4.32%) 0:01:40 228(4.58%) 93.86% 72.84%

/ 249(3.25%) 193(3.00%) 0:02:11 171(3.44%) 47.37% 46.18%

/en/events/associate-web-analytics-seminar-the-journey-begins-2/

214(2.79%) 205(3.18%) 0:03:41 202(4.06%) 94.55% 92.06%

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Recapping the problems for traffic from Singapore:

Session Duration is low,

Bounce Rate is high,

Organic search rate is low,

Inflow through banner and facebook ads is very high

We will attempt to solve these issue through different methods.

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Date range is from March 15th to June 20th, 2015

Age profile for users from Singapore

Age 18-24 7.2%

25-34 35.4%

35-44 27.9%

45-54 13.1%

55-64 10.5%

65+ 5.9%

Interest profile for users from SingaporeTechnopiles 6.53%TV Lovers 5.61%Movie Lovers 5.55%Travell Buffs 5.03%Shutterbugs 4.07%Business Professionals 3.79%News Junkies and Avid Readers 3.70%Political Junkies 3.34%News Junkies and Avid Readers/Entertainment & Celebrity News Junkies 3.33%Mobile Enthusiasits 3.28%

Based on seeing attendees at the free trials

and the classes, most students are in :

Marketing, Sales

Technical Field : I.T., Engineer

Entrepreneurs, Business Owners

Persona of Singapore Users

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Persona of Singapore Users

Age from 25 to 54 years oldWorking in Marketing, Sales, I.T., Engineering or a Business Owner/EntrepreneurInterests: Learning about Technology,

Watching movies and T.V.Loves to Travel and interested in Photography

You can target your marketing towards Singapore users who fit this Psychological Profile

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Based on the previous data and my experience of taking the course , the current state is :

Prospective Student

Free Seminars

Recommendations from other students

PPC Ads Direct to website

Mobile Banner Ads

FB Ads

Search Engine

Email Campaigns

Sign up for course onine

A majority of the access from Singapore users is thru mobile devices: tablets and phones

Communication Design

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The goal , the future state:

Prospective Student

Free Seminars

Recommendations from other students

Direct to websiteSearch Engine

Communication Design

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The Life Time Value of a customer sets an upper bound on your advertising expenses.

1. Assume the following are your current fees for a Singapore customer:

Associate 300SG $Senior 800SG $Masters 3000SG $

2. Assume the following is the current monthly schedule of your classes:

Number of SeminarsNumber of Students/Seminar

Total Students

Associate Seminiars 2 8 16Senior 1 8 8

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Average Monthly Sale per customer = (16*300+8*800)/24 = 466.67$

Estimate the Life Time Value of a Singapore Customer

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We will calculate Lifetime Value in three different ways and then take the average.

First, what is the average customer lifetime of a WACA Singapore customer? Most Singapore customers will take the associate course. A few will take the Senior Course.

So, the average customer lifetime will be around two months(in one month they will take the Associate course, and in some other month the Senior course) which is 0.167 years.

Method 1

#months in a year * average monthly sale per customer * average customer lifetimeLTV= 12 * 466.67*0.167 = 933.33 $

Method 2

average customer lifetime * (#months in a year * average sale per customer in a month *#visits in a month * profit margin per customer)

Assume profit margin per customer = 35% = 0.35

LTV = 0.167*(12*466.67*1*0.35) = 326.67 $

Method 3LTV = average gross margin per customer *(Customer retention rate / (1+rate of discount – customer retention rate))

Assume Customer retention rate: 20% = 0.2 (on the average 20% of customers come back for masters)Rate of discount = 10% = 0.1

LTV = 326.67 * (0.2/(1+0.1-0.2)) = 72.59$

Average Lifetime Value = (933.33 + 326.67 + 72.59) /3 = 444.2$

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From Google Analytics from Conversions->Goals for the segment Singapore_Users:

Date range is from March 15th to June 15th, 2015

Total Sessions Sessions that lead to conversions Sales from conversions

5024 3 60000Yen

Goal: Increase sales by 20% for the next quarter.

3*1.2 = 4

For the next quarter,

we will need four conversions to meet our goal.

Estimating Bounce rate and Inflow

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By how much should the bounce rate improve to increase conversions to 4 in the next four months?:

Date range is from March 15th to June 15th, 2015 for CURRENT data above

CURRENT NEWTotal Sessions 5024 5024Bounce Rate 81.31% 75.00%Sessions after Bounce Rate 938.99 1256Form Exit Rate 64.39% 0.64Sessions after Form Exit Rate 334.37 452.16CV 3 4.06CVR 0.01 0.01Sales 60000 72000

To increase sales by 20%, Bounce rate must improve from 81% to 75% assuming the total number of sessions and the conversion rate stay the same.

Bounce rates will be improved through the following methods: 1) Improve course sign up page through A/B testing 2) Improve PPC ads to match content of landing pages

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By how much should inflow improve to increase conversions to 4 in the next four months?:

CURRENT NEWTotal Sessions 5024 6626Bounce Rate 81.31% 81.31%Sessions after Bounce Rate 938.99 1238.42Form Exit Rate 64.39% 0.64Sessions after Form Exit Rate 334.3728 445.8304CV 3 4CVR 0.01 0.01Sales 60000 72000

To increase sales by 20%, inflow must go from 5024 to 6626 or increase by 31%. Assume the Bounce rate and conversion rate stay the same.

Inflows will be increased by three methods: 1) PPC campaign to attract users to sign up for Associate course,2) PPC optimization campaign to figure out keywords to use for SEO,3) Slowly increase organic search rate (through PPC optimization campaign and case studies page)

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Increase Sales by 20% over 4

months through more online signups

Increase Beginner CV

from 3 online to 4

online

Increase inflow by 31%

Reduce bounce rate from 81% to

75%

Implement PPC campaign for Associate

Course

PPC Optimization campaign to improve

SEO

Add ‘Case Studies’ Page to improve SEO

Course signup page A/B Testing

Improve PPC Ads to match content of

Landing Page

Logic Tree

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User intent is normally clearer when a user types in a longer search phrase in Google. For example when a user types in “Digital Marketing Training ” compared to “Digital Marketing “ the intent of the user is clearer. The user is interested in a course either online or offline in Digital Marketing.

Your past PPC campaigns were targeted towards attracting students towards your free trial and associate classes.So use the following combination of words in your PPC campaign to attract students to your associate course landing pages:

Digital Marketing Course, Digital Marketing Training, Digital Marketing Class, Digital Marketing Certification,

Search Engine Marketing Course, Search Engine Marketing Training, Search Engine Marketing Class, Search Engine Marketing Certification,

Web Analytics Course, Web Analytics Training, Web Analytics Class, Web Analytics Certification

The user intent is clear with the above keywords. The user is looking for a course to improve his/her digital marketing skills. These are going to be your highest converting customers.

But wait, are users in Singapore really using the above keywords to perform a search in Google Search?

PPC campaign for Trial Associate course

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There is a tool that uses the autocomplete feature of Google search that can tell us what users are searching for by location. It is Keywordtool.io . When I enter ‘Digital Marketing’ for google.com.sg the following results are returned:

Keywords: digital marketing course singaporedigital marketing agency

Digital marketing strategyDigital marketing jobs Singapore

Digital marketing agency SingaporeDigital Marketing Singapore

Digital Marketing ShowDigital marketing course

Digital marketing summit 2015 singapore

These two keywords ‘Digital Marketing Strategy’ and ‘Digital Marketing Course’ tells us the user intent is that the user wants to learn more about digital marketing.

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We do the same thing, i.e. use keywordtool.io for the phrases ‘Search Engine Marketing’ and ‘Web Analytics’

Keywords: search engine marketing singaporeSearch engine marketing google

Search engine marketing advantagesSearch engine marketing strategy

Search engine marketing techniquesSearch engine marketing pptSearch engine marketing jobsSearch engine marketing pdf

Search engine marketing servicesSearch engine marketing tools

Keywords : web analytics toolsWeb analytics metrics

Web analytics consultants associationWeb analytics definition

Web analytics Wednesday singaporeWeb analytics demystified

Web analytics an hour a day pdfWeb analytics association

Web analytics softwareWeb analytics 2.0

The highlighted words in red tells us the user intent is that the user wants to learn more about digital marketing

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Now we use the previous highlighted words in Google Keyword Planner to get an estimate of monthly searches, an estimate of future performance and an estimated CPC.

Overall estimate of future performance based on DAILY forecasts for the next seven days:

Max CPC Clicks Impr CTR Avg CPC Avg Pos25.76 1.27 82.72 1.50% 11.86 1.15

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Estimate of future performance and monthly searches from keyword planner:

Keyword

Avg. Monthly Searches (exact match only)

Competition

Suggested bid Est Clicks

Est impressions

Estimated Cost

Estimated CTR

web analytics metrics 20 0.1 0 0 0.32 0 0.00%

web analytics definition 10 0.03 0 0 0 0

web analytics demystified 10 0 0 0 0 0

digital marketing strategy 90 0.47 7.63 0 21.6 0 0.00%

digital marketing course 50 0.96 9.52 1.27 60.8 15.08 2.10%

search engine marketing advantages 10 0.55 0 0 0 0

search engine marketing strategy 10 0.58 0 0 0 0

search engine marketing techniques 10 0.79 0 0 0 0

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Now we create a PPC ad to be used with the previous keywords(highlighted in red). The Bounce rate for your previous PPC campaigns are very high. This normally happens when the content of the PPC ad does not match the contents of the Landing Page. Start backwards from the Landing Page. For example looking at the page of the free trial over here :https://www.web-mining.jp/en/events/trial-associate-web-analtyics-consultants-certified-seminar/

What are the key phrases and key words on this landing page? Web Analytics

Web Analytics ConsultantImprove Business Performance

Business FrameworksCertification

DataFree TextBook

The Ad for the Free Trial will have to contain: 1. Call to Action 2. Be tied to the Landing Page

The title of the PPC ad: Web Analytics Free Trial Course Then a link to the Trial Class PageDescription of PPC Ad: Free Web Analytics/Digital Marketing Course Attend course, get Free TextBook!

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Date range is from May 24th to June 23th, 2015

PPC optimization will be used to achieve the following goal:

Determine the keywords that will ultimately be used to drive traffic to your site(home page of waca.sg) through organic search.

We will implement this in a series of steps described below.

PPC optimization to improve SEO

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Step 1

First, determine the common English keywords that are being used for organic search from Google Analytics .

This is done from Acquisition->Search Engine Optimization -> Queries

Step 2

Then go to Google Adwords Keyword Planner and use the words from the previous list to get an estimate of the number of monthly searches on those keywords and phrases. Make sure in Keyword Planner you use Singapore for the location and specify that you are interested in only “Exact Matches”

Step 3

in Google Adwords Keyword Planner get a seven day forecast of the words obtained before (from step 1). Again you need to make sure you use Singapore as the location .

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Step 4Focus on keywords with higher

CTRs, positive monthly impressions and higher monthly searches to use for PPC ads to direct users to the Singapore

WACA homepage.

Step 5

Create PPC ad to match home page landing page. Run PPC ad and track performance: track CTRs of keywords associated with PPC ad.

Step 6

Measure Organic search results, let us say for a four month

period. If we still feel our organic search results are not improving,

we rerun the previous steps

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Query Impressions ClicksAvg Position CTR

15 web analytics certification 400(0.67%) 0(0.00%) 24 0.00%16 web analytics consultant 400(0.67%) 0(0.00%) 21 0.00%22 web analytics consultants 320(0.54%) 0(0.00%) 22 0.00%27 waca 250(0.42%) 170(6.02%) 4.1 68.00%28 web analytics association 250(0.42%) 0(0.00%) 14 0.00%39 web analytics 170(0.28%) 0(0.00%) 37 0.00%40 web analytics training 170(0.28%) 0(0.00%) 41 0.00%51 analytics consultants 150(0.25%) 0(0.00%) 30 0.00%52 how to improve sales 150(0.25%) 0(0.00%) 39 0.00%65 3c 4p 110(0.18%) 22(0.78%) 3.3 20.00%66 consultant web analytics 110(0.18%) 0(0.00%) 24 0.00%

67 how to improve online sales 110(0.18%) 0(0.00%) 28 0.00%

70 website analytics training 110(0.18%) 0(0.00%) 36 0.00%94 website analytics 90(0.15%) 0(0.00%) 72 0.00%110 4p 3c 70(0.12%) 12(0.43%) 3.3 17.14%

1. First, determine the common English keywords that are being used for organic search from Google Analytics .

This is done from Acquisition->Search Engine Optimization -> QueriesThe data is shown below.

Date range is from May 24th to June 23th, 201527

2. Then go to Google Adwords Keyword Planner and use the words from the previous list to get an estimate of the number of monthly searches on those keywords and phrases. Make sure in Keyword Planner you use Singapore for the location and specify that you are interested in only “Exact Matches” The results are shown on the next page.

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Keyword Planner: Forecast of Monthly Searches for SG

Keyword Currency

Avg. Monthly Searches (exact match only) Competition

Suggested bid

web analytics SGD 260 0.21 8.05web analytics association SGD 10web analytics consultant SGD 10web analytics certification SGD 10web analytics training SGD 10consultant web analytics SGDweb analytics consultants SGD 10 0.09waca SGD 40 0.01website analytics SGD 50 0.61 5.45how to improve sales SGD 40 0.6 4.023c 4p SGD 104p 3c SGD 10how to improve online sales SGD 10 0.45 0.31analytics consultants SGD 10website analytics training SGD 10

3. Next, in Google Adwords Keyword Planner get a seven day forecast of the words obtained before (from step 1). Again you need to make sure you use Singapore as the location . Shown below are the results on the next page:

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Keyword

Avg. Monthly Searches (exact match only)

Competition

Suggested bid

Estimated Clicks

Estimated Impressions Estimated Cost Estimated CTR

Estimated Average CPC

Estimated Average Position

web analytics certification 10 0 0 0 0.93 0 0.00% 1web analytics consultant 10 0 0 0 0 0web analytics consultants 10 0.09 0 0 0 0waca 40 0.01 0 0.26 4.09 0.64 6.40% 2.44 1web analytics association 10 0 0 0 0 0web analytics 260 0.21 8.05 0 18.42 0 0.00% 1web analytics training 10 0 0 0 0 0analytics consultants 10 0 0 0.04 6.33 0.57 0.60% 15.02 1how to improve sales 40 0.6 4.02 0.17 14.51 0.13 1.20% 0.77 13c 4p 10 0 0 0 0 0consultant web analytics 0 0 0 0 0 0

how to improve online sales 10 0.45 0.31 0 0 0website analytics training 10 0 0 0 0 0website analytics 50 0.61 5.45 0.17 14.88 0.53 1.10% 3.12 14p 3c 10 0 0 0 0 0

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4. Focus on keywords with higher CTRs, positive monthly impressions and higher monthly searches (highlighted in red in the previous step) to use for PPC ads to direct users to the Singapore WACA homepage. The keywords are web analytics certification, waca, web analytics, analytics consultants, how to improve sales, and website analytics5. We now need to create the PPC ad. We start by looking at the Singapore Home page. What are the keywords on the home page?: WACA, Certification, Analytics, Web Analytics course

Next we create a PPC Ad to match the contents of the Home Page and the keywords from step 4.

The Ad for the Home Page will have to contain: 1. Call to Action 2. Be tied to the Home Page

The title of the PPC ad: Web Analytics Courses Followed by a link to the Singapore home PageDescription of PPC Ad: Learn Web Analytics/Digital Marketing Quickly Improve your sales.

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5. Next we track the performance of the PPC Ad. We run the Ad say for a month, and we then determine the CTRs for the keywords associated with the Ad. The higher performing keywords(in terms of CTR) will be used in your content (title, meta description, etc) to improve SEO results.

6. After changing your content to incorporate the higher performing keywords from step 7, we start to measure Organic search results, let us say for a four month period. If we still feel our organic search results are not improving, we rerun the previous steps (1 through 5) again and measure results again.

Hence the word ‘optimization’ in the phrase ‘PPC optimization’.

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The majority of your traffic is comes in from Facebook Ads and Mobile Ads to the trial class page or the associate course page. When users land on these pages they bounce out, users are not staying on the page.

One method to reduce the bounce rate is to make sure the content of the referring page matches the content of the landing page. An other method is to try to make the landing page , in this specific case, the course description page, is more easier to use.

I present two versions of the course description page. You can perform A/B testing on these versions to determine the better version. I believe either of these versions will lead to reduced bounce rates and increased session durations.

A/B Testing on Course Description Page

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Issues with the associate and trial class pages

When the user hits the page, the user needs to scroll to figure out what the course is about. This is a problem, user should immediately get a description of what the course is about.

This should be a link on this page.

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Have a short video describing the course

Top of screen to

Line should be

immediately visible when

the page loads

Screen A

Drop down of

dates

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Screen B

Top of screen to

Line should be

immediately visible when

the page loads

Have a short video describing the course

Drop down of

dates

Takes user to sign up page

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Users are not spending time on your site. They are not looking for content to read on your site.

Your current blog contains some case studies. You need to make these case studies easier to find and also easier to access.

Create a separate link on the home page called “Case Studies”. This link will take users to a page where they can search by categories for Case Studies. Adding this “Case Studies” page will do a number of things: a) Increase Session Duration b) Improve SEO c) Give your site a distinguishing factor especially if your Cases are of high quality

Add a ‘Case Studies’

Link to the main menu

Case Studies Page

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Max of six cases to a pageUser clicks on a case and it takes them to a page with all the case details

Can search by categories

The sample case studies page :

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I compared WACA against three competitors in Singapore . They are sparkline.com, happymarketer.com and clicktrue.biz. I used a tool from quicksprout.com to compare www.web-mining/en/ to each of these competitors. The results are shown in the next few pages.

Competitor Analysis

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There were two primary takeaways from competitor analysis:1. Increase your social media shares count. This can be done with high quality content that people

want to consume and share. Hence, the suggestion behind the case studies page previously.

2. Minimize the use of iframes on the home page http://www.web-mining.jp/en/. Iframes make it more difficult for crawlers to crawl your content thereby affecting SEO.

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