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Pirate Metrics & Growth Hacks To Improve Your Profit

Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

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Discover the pirate metrics framework, the key metrics to track to be profitable and growth hacks from other companies.

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Page 1: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Pirate Metrics & Growth Hacks To Improve Your Profit

Page 2: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

INTRODUCTION Speakers

Anna Ruete Entrepreneurship Program Manager – La Salle Technova Barcelona [email protected]

Page 3: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

INTRODUCTION Speakers

Pol Valls Soler @polvallssoler Key Account Manager at La Salle Technova Creator of: iOS app for discovering people nearby: joinerapp.com Reddit for spanglish geeks: zumogeek.com [email protected] slideshare.net/polvallssoler

Page 4: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

INTRODUCTION Speakers

Juan Pérez Rodríguez Director – La Salle Technova Barcelona 10 years working with entrepreneurs and investors [email protected]

Page 5: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

INTRODUCTION Speakers

Page 6: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

EXERCISE 1 Metrics

Company A It is a social network for runners. They launched the platform in 2011. Closed 2013 with 2 Millions of users and 1.5 Millions of Euros of Net Profit. They expect the following KPI for 2014: Cost marketing: 600.000 € New users: 400.000 # Visits / day: 374.000 Conversion Rate: 5% Average time: 00:03:48

Company B It is a social network for pregnant. They are in the market since 2012. Closed 2013 with a community of 95.000 users and a Net Profit of 0.5 Millions of Euros. For 2014: Cost marketing: 100.000€ New users: 60.000 # Visits / day 42.000 Conversion Rate 5% Average time: 00:01:27

Which one of these two companies is the best for you?

Page 7: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

CONTEXT Before 2000 – After 2008

Before 2000 Sun Servers!Oracle DB!Exodus Hosting!12-24mo dev cycle!6-18mo sales cycle!<100M people online!$1-2M seed round!$3-5M Series A!Sand Hill Road crawl!!Big, Fat, Dinosaur Startup!

After 2008 AWS, Google, PayPal, FB, TW!Cloud + Open Source SW!Lean Startup / Startup Wknd!3-90d dev cycle!SaaS / online sales!>3B people online!<$100K incub + <$1M seed!$1-3M Series A!Angel List global visibility!!Lean, Little, Cockroach Startup!

Source:500startups!

Page 8: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Pirate Metrics for startup’s and mAAARRketing for startups

ACQUISITION ACTIVATION RETENTION REFERRAL REVENUE

PROFIT

Page 9: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Pirate Metrics for startup’s and mAAARRketing for startups

ACQUISITION Users come to the site; you have their attention BLOG EXAMPLE: users come to the site and stay for at least 2 minutes ! SaaS EXAMPLE (pdf to html conversion service): user signs up for the service

Page 10: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Pirate Metrics for startup’s and mAAARRketing for startups

ACTIVATION User performs some key activity that indicates a good first visit BLOG EXAMPLE: user signs up for RSS/newsletter ! SaaS EXAMPLE (pdf to html conversion service): user successfully makes a document

Page 11: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Pirate Metrics for startup’s and mAAARRketing for startups

RETENTION User continues to do that key activity indicating they like your product BLOG EXAMPLE: user reads at least one post a week or opens the newsletter ! SaaS EXAMPLE (pdf to html conversion service): user continues to make documents. As long as they're successfully making documents they will continue to use the service.

Page 12: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Pirate Metrics for startup’s and mAAARRketing for startups

REFERRAL User gets other users to join BLOG EXAMPLE: user promotes your blogs contests and drives traffic ! SaaS EXAMPLE (pdf to html conversion service): Users send other users to our web, possibly with a coupon code

Page 13: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Pirate Metrics for startup’s and mAAARRketing for startups

REVENUE User pays you BLOG EXAMPLE: user buys your ebook

SaaS EXAMPLE (pdf to html conversion service): yay!

money! !

Page 14: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR FUNNEL Customer Lifecycle / Conversion Behavior

Page 15: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR FUNNEL Customer Lifecycle / Conversion Behavior

Page 16: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR Conversion Metrics Example

Category User Status Conv % Est. Value Acquisition Visit Site

(or landing page, or external widget) 100% $.01

Acquisition Doesn't Abandon (views 2+ pages, stays 10+ sec, 2+ clicks)

70% $.05

Activation Happy 1st Visit (views X pages, stays Y sec, Z clicks)

30% $.25

Activation Email/Blog/RSS/Widget Signup (anything that could lead to repeat visit)

5% $1

Activation Acct Signup (includes profile data)

2% $3

Retention Email Open / RSS view -> Clickthru 3% $2 Retention Repeat Visitor

(3+ visits in first 30 days) 2% $5

Referral Refer 1+ users who visit site 2% $3 Referral Refer 1+ users who activate 1% $10 Revenue User generates minimum revenue 2% $5 Revenue User generates break-even revenue 1% $25

Page 17: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

AARRR FUNNEL Customer Lifecycle / Conversion Behavior

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AARRR CAC & LTV

CAC: Costumer Adquisition Cost

LTV: Costumer LifeTime Value

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EXERCISE 1 Metrics

Company A CAC=600.000€/400.000users= 1.5€ LTV= 1.500.000€/2.000.000users= 0,75€ LTV/CAC= 0,75 / 1,5 = 0,5

Company B CAC=100.000€/60.000users= 1,66€ LTV=500.000€/95.000users= 5,26€ LTV/CAC = 5,26 / 1,66 = 3,16

Which one of these two companies is the best for you?

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AARRR CAC & LTV

Page 21: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

KEY METRICS TO TRACK…

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ACQUISITION Key Metrics To Track:!!

•  Volume(#) !•  Cost ($)!•  Conversion (%)!

!

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ACQUISITION

Page 24: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION

Acquisition tips (for the top 10 - 100 words)!•  Your brand / Products!

•  Customer needs / Benefits!•  Competitor’s brand / Products (Steal traffic)!•  Semantic equivalents!

•  Misspellings !!

Page 25: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION

Extra tip: Reverse Engineered App Store’s ranking algorithm (approximation)!

! AppStore Ranking = H + D + R + E + S

H = # of installs weighted for the past few hours D = # of installs weighted for the past few days R = Reviews (star rating + number of reviews) E = Engagement (# of times app opened etc.) S = Sales ($)

!!

Extra tip: How to get your first 100 users!

1) What existing solution do you believe your product is better than? 2) Where can you find a critical mass of people who use the existing solution? 3) Go there. Talk to them. Show them your product.

Page 26: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACTIVATION

!!

Key metrics to track:!•  Pages per visit (2-3+ page views)!•  Time on site (10-30+ seconds)!•  Conversions (1 key feature usage)!•  Clicks (3-5+ clicks)!•  Bounce rate (low)!

Activation Tips:!•  Less is more!•  Focus on UX / Usability!•  Provide incentives & call to actions!•  Perform A/B tests and iterate fast!

Page 27: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

RETENTION

!!

Key metrics to track:!•  Source (email, RSS, affiliates…)!•  Volume (Low spam rating)!•  Conversions (20% open rate / CTR)!•  Visitor Loyalty (1–3+ visits per month)!•  Session Length!•  Long customer life cycle / Low decay!•  Identify fanatics and cheerleaders!

Page 28: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

RETENTION Retention Tips:!

•  Email is simple and it works!•  But make Unsubscribe easy!•  80% subject line / 20% body text!•  Actually… 99% subject line / 1% body text!

•  Status / “best of” weekly/monthly emails!•  “Something happened” emails!•  Lifecycle emails @ +3, +7, +30 days !•  RSS / News feeds!

•  Widgets / Embeds!•  Gamification!•  Fanatics = Virality + affiliate channels (like bloggers)!

Page 29: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REFERRAL Key metrics to track:!

Viral Growth Factor = X * Y * Z!!

!X = % of users who invite other people!!Y = average # of people that they invited!!Z = % of users who accepted an invitation!

A viral growth factor > 1 means an exponential organic user acquisition.!

Referral Tips:!•  Personal send to friend (Email / IM)!•  Social Media!•  Widgets / Embeds!•  Affiliates!

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REFERRAL

Page 31: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REVENUE Key metrics to track:!

•  Conversion to revenue (%)!

•  Volume ($$$)!

Revenue Tips:!

•  Don’t just rely on AdSense, iAd…!

•  Offer something free (at least when starting out)!

•  Subscription / Recurring transactions!

•  Qualify your customers / Traffic for lead generation.!

•  Sell somethig (physical or virtual)!

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REVENUE

Page 33: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

How do we improve the funnel?

Page 34: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Growth Hacking

Less Budget, More Creativity, More Automation -> Maximize Output

Page 35: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

As simple as…

Page 36: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Different landing pages according to traffic source!(Search Engines for SEO –> Footer vs Direct !Traffic -> No footer)!

Groupon ACQUISITION !

Page 37: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Groupon ACTIVATION & RETENTION!!

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Groupon RETENTION!!

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Groupon REFERRAL!!Sharing is in Groupon’s DNA

Page 40: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Linkedin ACTIVATION !!

Gamification example:

Page 41: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Linkedin RETENTION & REFERRAL!!

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Linkedin REVENUE!!

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Linkedin ACQUISITION & REFERRAL!!

This person passed away about a year ago. For the majority of her life, she ran a small hardware shop and she barely understood email, let alone LinkedIn.

From Linkedin’s People You May Know page…

(NOT THE BEST THING TO DO… people can hate you)

Page 44: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Dropbox ACQUISTION !!

Signup driven homepage:

Page 45: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Dropbox REFERRAL!!

Sharing simplicity and availability on Multiple Devices & Platforms:

Page 46: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Dropbox REFERRAL & REVENUE!!

Get more space

Page 47: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Dropbox ACQUISTION & REFERRAL!!Dropbox Great Space Race!

Page 48: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Dropbox REFERRAL & REVENUE!!

Dropbox growth hack in numbers…

1.  September 2008: 100,000 registered users!

2.  January 2010 (15 months later): 4,000,000!

3.  Mostly from word-of-mouth and viral:!

• 35% of daily signups from referral program!

• 20% from shared folders, other viral features!

• Sustained 15-20%+ month-over-month growth since launch!

Page 49: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

It doesn’t need to be online (initially)!

Page 50: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

It doesn’t need to be online (initially)!

Page 51: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

It doesn’t need to be online (initially)!

Page 52: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION: SEO hacks !

Page 53: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION !

Page 54: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION & REFERRAL!

PS: I Love You. Get Your Free Email at Hotmail

Page 55: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION & REFERRAL!

Page 56: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION & REFERRAL!

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ACQUISTION, ACTIVATION, RETENTION & REFERRAL!

ACQUISTION, ACTIVATION & RETENTION!

Page 58: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Extra tip: Reverse Engineered App Store’s ranking algorithm (approximation)!

AppStore Ranking = H + D + R + E + S !

!H = # of installs weighted for the past few hours!!D = # of installs weighted for the past few days!!R = Reviews (star rating + number of reviews)!!E = Engagement (# of times app opened etc.) !!S = Sales ($)!

!!

Luck? AppStore Bot? Dark pattern?

ACQUISITION, REFERRAL & REVENUE!

Page 59: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit
Page 60: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

ACQUISITION & PROFIT !

Page 61: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit
Page 62: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit
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REFERRAL!

Page 64: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REFERRAL!

Page 65: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REFERRAL!

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REVENUE & PROFIT !

Page 67: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REVENUE & PROFIT !

Page 68: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REVENUE & PROFIT !

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REVENUE & PROFIT !

Unlock all books is the clear top revenue generator.

Page 70: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

REVENUE & PROFIT !The $144,146,165 Button

When cabs were cash only, the average tip was roughly 10%. After the introduction of this system, the tip percentage jumped to 22%. Those

three buttons resulted in $144,146,165 of additional tips per year.

Page 71: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

When Growth

Hacking Goes Fail Hacking

Page 72: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Path Facebook blocked Path’s “Find Friends” access following spam controversy

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Path Path texts your entire phonebook

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Glide & Tinder Same…

Page 75: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Rap Genius: No SEO Genius

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Rap Genius fell from around 700,000 uniques a day to around 100,000.!

Rap Genius: No SEO Genius

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Facebook Fraud

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Facebook Fraud

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Tools for metrics analysis

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[email protected]

http://blogs.salle.url.edu/emprendedores

@LaSalleTechnova

https://www.facebook.com/LaSalleTechnova

Page 81: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Speakers

Anna Ruete Entrepreneurship Program Manager – La Salle Technova Barcelona [email protected]

Page 82: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Pol Valls Soler @polvallssoler Key Account Manager at La Salle Technova Creator of: iOS app for discovering people nearby: joinerapp.com Reddit for spanglish geeks: zumogeek.com [email protected] slideshare.net/polvallssoler

Speakers

Page 83: Pirate metrics and growth hacks to improve your profit

Juan Pérez Rodríguez Director – La Salle Technova Barcelona 10 years working with entrepreneurs and investors [email protected]

Speakers