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Software Club – SaaS Series Finance – Chad Varra SendGrid, Inc.

Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

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Chad Varra, CFO of SendGrid, leads a discussion with members of the Boulder and Denver Software Clubs. These slides show some of the numbers and concepts to which Chad spoke.

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Page 1: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Software Club – SaaS Series

Finance – Chad VarraSendGrid, Inc.

Page 2: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies
Page 3: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies
Page 4: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Key goals

Growth Profitability

Page 5: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

• Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR)• Customers

Measuring Growth

Page 6: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Growth

Increase in MRR/Customers

# of Deals

Deal Growth

Add New Product/Service

for upsell

Decrease in MRR/Customers

Churn

Deal Reduction

Page 7: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

JanuaryFebruary

Beginning MRR $1,000 $1,275New MRR 250 300Increased MRR 100 100Lost MRR (50) (60)Decrease MRR (25) (20)Ending MRR $1,275 $1,595

MRR = Monthly Recurring Revenue

Page 8: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

January FebruaryBeg Customer Count 5,000

5,130New Customers 150

200Lost Customers _(20)_ _(25)Ending Customer Count 5,130

5,305

Increase Customers 75 75Decrease Customers (10) (10)

Customer Count

Page 9: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Profitability

Customer

CAC

LTV

Financial Statement

Cash Flow

Income Statement

Per Employee

Revenue per Employee

Expenses per Employee

Page 10: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC)• What does it cost to acquire a customer?• How many months of MRR does it take to

recover your costs of acquiring that customer?

Page 11: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

CAC = (Sales + Marketing +Deploy Costs) # of Deals Closed

Sales Costs = $100,000Marketing Costs = $150,000# of Deals Closed = 600

$100,000 + $150,000 = $416 CAC 600

Page 12: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

How long does it take to recover the CAC?Payback Period = CAC/MRR per Customer

Average MRR Per Customer = $100$416/$100 = 4.16 months

Rule of thumb: 12 months or less is good.

Page 13: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Lifetime Value of Customer (Average Lifetime of a Customer * MRR/Cust)- Cost of Revenue- CAC= Lifetime Value of Customer

Lifetime of Customer = 36 mths 24 mthsMRR per Customer = $100 $100Margin = 80% 80%CAC = $416 (4.16 mth payback) $1,600 (16 mth payback)(36*$100)-$720-$416 = $2,464 (24*$100)-$480-$1,600 = $320

Rule of thumb: LTV that is greater than 3x CAC is good

Page 14: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

Churn

Churn

Sales

Customer Satisfaction

Product issues

Net Promoter Score

Impacts LTV

Page 15: Financial Considerations for SaaS Companies

So What Are Your Levers• Increase MRR per customer• Increase Customers• Manage CAC• Increase LTV• Decrease Churn