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10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
Performance Marke-ng
Search vs Display
10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
History
The Display Adver-sing ecosystem is changing drama-cally
10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
History Google transformed the ad market into an automated
stock market : Text Link in 2002
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ra.raper le train du digital
History Google transformed the ad market into an automated
stock market : Display in 2008
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ra.raper le train du digital
What is Performance ? Definition
Performance marketing is defined by getting measurable return on investment.
Unlike traditional marketing platforms such as TV, print or radio,
Performance Marketing implies pay-for-performance. This means that one
pays only a fixed amount per action or share of revenue per sale rather than
paying for advertising and then hoping for the best.
Advertisers pay a set price for a defined action such as a download, a visit, a lead,
a click, a registration, an information request, a purchase, etc.
Pricing is appealing to advertisers as the majority of risk is passed on to
Sales-House.
10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
How does it work ? Search : text link
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How does it work ? Social : text link
!"#$%&'()#*+%,#
,-.,-*/,#$/#0,-(&#'%#'(1(0-$#
8%G*<%"2*49*G%#,*F* Display : graphical
Skyscraper
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How does it work ? Conversion TAG
We absolutely need to place pixels to be able to measure the performance of your
campaign.
A pixel is a single line of HTML coding that is placed on the “Thank You” page of
a website, or the page directly following the conversion. When the “Thank
You” page appears, we receive a request from the browser for this 1x1 pixel
which alerts us that a conversion has occurred.
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Performance Marke-ng
Search Engine Marke-ng
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/"'#)0*H(.4("2*
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Campaign strategy
CAMPAIGN ORGANISATION
Network selection !
Format!
Geo-targeting & language!
Focus on brands,
products & strategies!
Timing & daily
budget!
Keywords & adtext!
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Keywords selec-on
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Successful Ads
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,-.,-*/,#$/#0,-(&#'%#'(1(0-$#
;<*#'(,*
Advertiser MaxCPC Quality Score
Rank Number
Position Actual CPC
A 0,40! 1,8 0,40 x 1,8 =
0,72 1 0,37!
(0,65/1,8 + 0,01)
B 0,65! 1,0 0,65 x 1,0 =
0,65 2 0,39!
(0,38/1,0 + 0,01)
C 0,25! 1,5 0,25 x 1,5 =
0,38 3 0,08! (= min bid)
!"#$%&'()#*+%,#
,-.,-*/,#$/#0,-(&#'%#'(1(0-$#
;<*#'(,*
More than Pay Per Click :
Rank = MaxCPC x Quality Score
!" Bidding System that requires active and ……frequent management for improving Quality.!
!"#$%&'()#*+%,#
,-.,-*/,#$/#0,-(&#'%#'(1(0-$#
;<*#'(,*
Advertiser MaxCPC Quality Score
Rank Number
Position Actual CPC
A 0,40! 1,8 0,40 x 1,8 =
0,72 1 0,37!
(0,65/1,8 + 0,01)
B 0,65! 1,0 0,65 x 1,0 =
0,65 2 0,39!
(0,38/1,0 + 0,01)
C 0,25! 1,5 0,25 x 1,5 =
0,38 3 0,08! (= min bid)
!"#$%&'()#*+%,#
,-.,-*/,#$/#0,-(&#'%#'(1(0-$#
;<*#'(,*
More than Pay Per Click :
MaxCPC :
!" You only pay when someone clicks on your ad!
!" The cost per click depends on the competition!
!" The max CPC is the maximum you’re ready to pay …..for a click!
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More than Pay Per Click :
Quality Score :
!" Keyword’s relevance to search query
!" Keyword’s historical CTR on Google
!" Account’s historical performance on Google
!" Other relevant factors!
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Advertiser! MaxCPC! Quality Score!
Rank Number! Position! Actual
CPC!
A! 0,40#! 1,8! 0,40 x 1,8 = 0,72! 1!
0,37" (0,65/1,8 +
0,01)!
B! 0,65#! 1,0! 0,65 x 1,0 = 0,65! 2!
0,39" (0,38/1,0 +
0,01)!
C! 0,25#! 1,5! 0,25 x 1,5 = 0,38! 3! 0,08"
(= min bid)!
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I%(1"#24%(*5#%)"22*
User searches through Google!
User visits site, resulting in conversion (purchase,
registration, etc.)!
User reaches !“Thank you” page and
sees Google image!
Advertiser account$is updated with conversion
data!
User clicks on !ad and cookie is placed!
User searches through Google
ad and cookie is placed User visits site, resulting in conversion (purchase,
Convertion page!Landing page!
“Thank you” page and sees Google image
«%Thank you%» Google!
is updated with conversion
10 lundis pour
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Performance Marke-ng
Display Marke-ng
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8%G*<%"2*49*G%#,*F*
2. Click
3. Conversion
1. Impression
Every impression / click / action generated is recorded within the ad server with date and time (via cookies).
Landing Page
Fill in
10 lundis pour
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Campaign priority
Adv. Imp. Clics CTR CONV CPM CPC CPA Budget eCPM Position
A 1.500.000 5.000 0,3% 2,00 € 3.000,00 € 2,00 € 4
B 1.250.000 5.000 0,4% 0,80 € 4.000,00 € 3,20 € 1 C 1.500.000 7.500 0,5% 0,50 € 3.750,00 € 2,50 € 3
D 1.000.000 5.000 0,5% 100 30 € 3.000,00 € 3,00 € 2
!"#$%&'()#*+%,#
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!%29K4&5#"224%(*12L*!%29K)64),*
The Click Through Rate is an inadequate
indicator undervaluing the ads
efficiency.
- 20% of conversions originate from clicks.
- Whereas 79.6% of conversions originate
from the contact with the advert
without clicking.
Distribution of the standard banner conversions in the world, Post-Impression vs Post-Click,
Q3 2009-Q2 2010 (% of total)
- 20% of conversions originate from clicks.
- Whereas 79.6% of conversions originate
Post-Impression Conversions
79,6%
Post-Clic Conversions
20,4%
Source: MediaMind, « Standard Banners-Non-Standard Results »
Beyond the click
10 lundis pour
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Retarge-ng
Retargeting pixels simply drop a cookie on a users machine when a page on the
clients website is visited, this identifies the user as being part of a population
for re-targeting should that user re-enter our network.
When setting up retargeting for an advertiser or a publisher, there are three steps:
- Setting up ad servers to read and write specific data to the cookie.
- Building the population.
- Targeting a media or campaign back to the population.
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N'24)KM"9'#."-(.*
Thanks to retargeting, we find your users back on the sites of
our network and show them your specific ads with a personalized message in priority
Only 2% of users buy on the site during their first visit
Banner 1 Banner 2 or nothing
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Campaign delivery When the concerned users go on our network, the customized ads are shown to the relevant users.
Product data collection (thanks to a cookie) We memorize the products of the users browsing / surfing on partners sites
Choice of the relevant strategies 1 – Products consulted 2- Similar products to the products consulted or placed in the basket page of the site
3- Complementary products to the product purchased
Data collection Strategy choices Diffusion
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37('&4)KM"9'#."-(.*
27
Hitech.com
500!
The user has seen a 46cm TV on the Hitech.com site
We personalize the banners by showing the products previously consulted by the user.
We personalize the banners by highlighting the products from the same category in the banners (TV size, price, brand, etc…)
We personalize the banners by highlighting additional products In this case, it could be a DVD player or home cinema sound system.
Product recall Recommendations Cross selling
The user has placed the TV in the basket page but has not bought the product.
The user has bought a 46cm TV
Hitech.com
300!
Hitech.com
100!
10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
Duplica-on
Duplication occurs when two or more online properties take the credit for the
same sale.
The industry uses the last click/impression/search as the means for determining
which property generated the sale/action.
This is fundamentally flawed because several number of exposures and touch
points are required to result in a sale. Also, this method does not factor in
the impact of any offline activity.
Short of asking a user it is impossible to determine what creative messages
influenced the user to buy/engage.
10 lundis pour
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Duplica-on The overlapped areas are the ‘risk of duplication’ for each network. The network with the largest spend will have the highest chance of being the last exposure. The network with the lowest spend will be ‘handicapped’. The conversion is firstly assigned to the last click or to the last impression.
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AdExchange
Display Network
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AdExchange : the explosion
353 million $ spent in the US in 2010 on Real-Time Bidding *
x 2 forecasted in the US in 2011 in terms of spending on Real-Time Bidding*
87% of US advertisers intend to try media buying via Real-Time bidding in 2011**
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Agencies -
Trading desks
DSP Demand side
platforms
Sales House
- Adnetworks
DEMAND SUPPLY AUTOMATISATION TECHNOLOGY
SSP Supply side platforms Editeurs Advertisers
Sales
Editeurs Publishers AdExchange
Ad Exchange are now in the middle of transactions between advertisers, sales houses, and publishers…
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SELL SIDE PLATFORM
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DEMAND SIDE PLATFORM
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TRADING DESK
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ADNETWORKS
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ADEXCHANGE
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RTB
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10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
Case Study
AOL
10 lundis pour
ra.raper le train du digital
Site Audience
• Customer: AOL
• Sector: travel
• Activity: renting of family holiday resorts
• Problematic: less and less sales via travel agencies
decrease of the website audience
• Target: Increase sales rapidly
• Proposition: Search Engine Marketing & Display Advertising
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10 lundis pour
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Search Engine Marke-ng
Natural Search
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SEO
SEO involves making the pages of a site more easily accessible to search engines spiders and emphasising the key topics relating to a specific site.
SEO
10 lundis pour
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Keywords Analysis
§ By basing ourselves on requests actually made on the main international search tools, we give the current trend of the market. !
§ To do this, we use a database which is updated daily and which contains the requests made on several of the main international search engines and directories : Bing, Google and Yahoo.!
§ To customize a search engine optimization work, it is necessary to focus the efforts on keywords and associations really used by internet users. !
§ By basing ourselves on the keywords which define the activity of the site, we undertake an analysis which allows us to determine the best keywords for search engine optimization.!
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SEO
10 lundis pour
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Content op-miza-on Page Titles
Content title
URL
Content
Navigation
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SEO FACTORS#Contributing to optimal rankings
URL FACTORS#- Search Engine Friendly URL’s - Site Structure - Domain Life Spam
ON-PAGE FACTORS - Content Relevance - Meta Tags - Keyword Density
OFF-PAGE FACTORS#- Inbound Links from Directories - Online Press Releases - Blogs, RSS Feeds & More
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Thank You
Vincent Delmoae vdelmoae@hi-‐media.com