How to Calculate Conversions from Content Marketing

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How to Calculate Conversions from Content Marketing

These are prospects who became customers

because of either helpful, useful and/or

entertaining content you provided them.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Percentage of people who take

a desired action.

WHAT TO MEASURE :

COST PER LEAD PERCENTAGE OF LEADS

SOURCED CONVERSIONS

Amount your brand spends

to acquire a lead.

Percentage of leads sourced by content

compared to other marketing programs.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Percentage of people who take

a desired action.

WHAT TO MEASURE :

COST PER LEAD PERCENTAGE OF LEADS

SOURCED CONVERSIONS

Amount your brand pays in

advertising to acquire a lead.

Percentage of leads sourced by content

compared to other marketing programs.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Percentage of people who take

a desired action.

WHAT TO MEASURE :

COST PER LEAD PERCENTAGE OF LEADS

SOURCED CONVERSIONS

Amount your brand pays in

advertising to acquire a lead.

Percentage of leads sourced by content

compared to other marketing programs.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

HOW TO CALCULATE THE VALUE OF:

COST PER LEAD

Calculating content marketing’s cost

per lead is crucial in order to benchmark your

program’s effectiveness against

other marketing programs.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Determining this is quite simple. To begin,

we need to know the costs accrued to create

and distribute the content.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CONTENT ACTIVITY COST

ROI Guide Creation $3,000

ROI Guide Sponsored Email $10,000

Strategy Guide Creation $3,000

Strategy Guide Sponsored Webinar $20,000

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

In this example, we’ve created two pieces of content:

•  For the ROI Guide, we spent $3,000 to create and invested $10,000 to distribute.

CONTENT ACTIVITY COST

ROI Guide Creation $3,000

ROI Guide Sponsored Email $10,000

Strategy Guide Creation $3,000

Strategy Guide Sponsored Webinar $20,000

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

In this example, we’ve created two pieces of content:

•  For the ROI Guide, we spent $3,000 to create and invested $10,000 to distribute.

•  For the Strategy Guide we also spent $3,000 to create, but spent $20,000 to distribute.

•  Combining these costs, we can see that the ROI Guide cost us $13,000 and the Strategy Guide cost us $23,000.

CONTENT ACTIVITY COST TOTAL COST

ROI Guide Creation $3,000 $13,000

ROI Guide Sponsored Email $10,000

Strategy Guide Creation $3,000 $23,000

Strategy Guide Sponsored Webinar $20,000

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

In this example, we’ve created two pieces of content:

•  For the ROI Guide, we spent $3,000 to create and invested $10,000 to distribute.

•  For the Strategy Guide we also spent $3,000 to create, but spent $20,000 to distribute.

•  Combining these costs, we can see that the ROI Guide cost us $13,000 and the Strategy Guide cost us $23,000.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see

how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130

Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see

how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.

•  Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130

Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see

how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.

•  Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.

•  To calculate cost per lead, we want to take the total cost ($13,000) divided by the total number of qualified leads (205).

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130

Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see

how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.

•  Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.

•  To calculate cost per lead, we want to take the total cost ($13,000) divided by the total number of qualified leads (205). •  $13,000 / 205 = $63

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177

Now that we know how much our content cost to create and distribute, let’s see

how the content did in terms of lead generation to calculate cost per qualified lead.

•  Our ROI Guide generated 550 new leads, 205 of which were qualified leads.

•  To calculate cost per lead, we want to take the total cost ($13,000) divided by the total number of qualified leads (205). •  $13,000 / 205 = $63

•  Therefore, our ROI Guide cost $63 per qualified lead.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177

To determine an accurate average total cost per lead of content marketing, we’d

want to take a larger sample, but for the purpose of this guide, we’ll simplify and

average these two costs.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177

To determine an accurate average total cost per lead of content marketing, we’d

want to take a larger sample, but for the purpose of this guide, we’ll simplify and

average these two costs.

$63 + $177 / 2 = $120

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

CHANNEL COST NEW LEADS MQLs CPMQL

ROI Guide $13,000 550 205 $63

Strategy Guide $23,000 700 130 $177

To determine an accurate average total cost per lead of content marketing, we’d

want to take a larger sample, but for the purpose of this guide, we’ll simplify and

average these two costs.

$63 + $177 / 2 = $120

Therefore our average total cost per lead for content marketing is $120.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

HOW TO CALCULATE THE VALUE OF:

PERCENTAGE OF LEADS SOURCED

In order to determine the

percentage of leads from content marketing,

we first need to gather total number of leads

sourced from other marketing programs.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Looking at this gathered data, we see that content marketing accounts for 205 of the

total 710 marketing qualified leads.

PROGRAM MQLs

Content 205

Events 300

Advertising 30

Email 100

Public Relations 75

Total 710

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

Looking at this gathered data, we see that content marketing accounts for 205 of the

total 710 marketing qualified leads. To find the percentage, we take 205/710 to find that content marketing accounts

for 28.9% of total qualified leads.

PROGRAM MQLs PERCENTAGE

Content 205 28.9%

Events 300 42.2%

Advertising 30 4.2%

Email 100 14.2%

Public Relations 75 10.5%

Total 710 100%

EVENTS

ADVERTISING

CONTENT

EMAIL

PUBLIC RELATIONS

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

HOW TO CALCULATE THE VALUE OF:

CONVERSIONS

Finally, to determine the actual revenue

sourced by content marketing, we need

to look at conversions.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE

AVERAGE SALES VALUE

Content 205 50% $500

For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%

and the average sale is worth $500.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE

AVERAGE SALES VALUE

Content 205 50% $500

For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%

and the average sale is worth $500.

•  To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE

AVERAGE SALES VALUE CONVERSIONS

Content 205 50% $500 102.5

For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%

and the average sale is worth $500.

•  To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.

•  205 * 50% = 102.5 conversions

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE

AVERAGE SALES VALUE CONVERSIONS

Content 205 50% $500 102.5

For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%

and the average sale is worth $500.

•  To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.

•  205 * 50% = 102.5 conversions •  Based on that finding we assume these sales will average $500, so to find the total value we

•  multiply 102.5 * $500 = $51,000

BRAND AWARENESS BRAND HEALTH CONVERSIONS

PROGRAM MQLs CONVERSION RATE

AVERAGE SALES VALUE CONVERSIONS TOTAL CONVERSION

VALUE

Content 205 50% $500 102.5 $51,000

For this example, let’s say our content marketing has a conversion rate of 50%

and the average sale is worth $500.

•  To find our total conversions, we need to multiply our total qualified leads by 50%.

•  205 * 50% = 102.5 conversions •  Based on that finding we assume these sales will average $500, so to find the total value we

•  multiply 102.5 * $500 = $51,000

•  Therefore, our total content marketing conversions are worth $51,000

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