Digital Marketing for Designers

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Digital Marketing For DESIGNERS

Tim Robertson RGD

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Brand

Brand Evolution

LogoBrand

Promise

Brand Values

Brand Personality

The Design Continuum

Brand

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

MagnetContent

Marketing

Social Media Advertising

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

Webinars

PPTs

Landing Pages

Videos

Sales Videos

Product Videos

ReportsBlog

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Logical Reasonable Rational

Analytical

Emotional

Planning, Concepts, Abstract Thinking

Neocortex

Social Emotional

Mid Brain (Limbic)

“Croc” Brain (Reptilian)

Shiny Object

Designing pitch here!

Designed pitch with Croc brain in mind

• Limited Processing Power • Short Attention Span • New Ideas - threat! • Radically Summarizes • Survival

Characteristics of the Croc Brain

• Fast or Moving • Novel • Concrete • Visual • High Contrast

Croc Brain Likes

• Link Bait • Lead Magnets • Sticky Headlines • Intriguing Offer

Croc Brain Likes

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

$500M

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Glengarry Glen Ross

Alec Baldwin

Sales Process

“Um…”

Sales ProcessCollateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

MagnetContent

Marketing

Social Media Advertising

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

Webinars

Landing Pages

Videos

Sales Videos

Product Videos

ReportsBlog

PPTs

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

Magnet

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

PPTs

Landing Pages

Lead Magnet

Social Media Advertising

Sales Process

Webinar Demo Sale

Social Media Advertising Videos

Webinars

Sales Videos

Product Videos

Content Marketing Reports

Blog

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

Magnet

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

PPTs

Landing Pages

White Paper

Landing Page

Sales Process

Product Video

Trial Sale

Social Media Advertising Videos

Webinars

Sales Videos

Product Videos

Content Marketing Reports

Blog

Collateral

PPC

Sales FunnelsLead

Magnet

Social Media Campaigns

Sales Material

Websites

Apps

White Papers

PDFs

PPTs

Landing Pages

Lead Magnet

Social Media Campaign

Sales Process

Sales Video

Sample Subscription

Social Media Advertising Videos

Webinars

Sales Videos

Product Videos

Content Marketing Reports

Blog

Sales Process Problems• Not mapped out (no schematic) • Elements that are incomplete • Order is wrong, or broken • No ownership • Inconsistent branding

Sales Process is Important!

• Gets Leads!

• Gets Sales!

• Generates Revenue!

• Grows the Company!

Prospect

Lead Client/

Customer

Qualified Lead

Optin

SOLD

Opt-In

Sale

A step closer !

!

Conversion Rate 15%

That step closer is a “conversion”

!

Sale

Upworthy

This Kid Just Died. What He Left Behind Is Wondtacular.

Zachary Sobiek“My Last Days”

Croc

yep!

Mid

$$

Neocortex

$$$

Sale

“Organic”“Paid Traffic”

Prospects

Traffic

Landing Page

Sale

Opt-In Newsletter

Sale

Sale

Quiz

Sale

Webinar

Sale

Trial

Sale

why are all the women wearing

blue pants?

Consistency Increases Conversion

Rates!

?

AD

Landing Page

Word

News Letter

WebinarPPT

Website Email Book Room

EcoLodge

Website

Sales Video

Webinar

Email

DemoSale

Ad Landing Page

Newsletter

EcoLodge

Accounting Software Platform

Book Room

Amazon Book

Website

Sales Video

Sales Page

Webinar

Email

Quiz

DemoSale

Book Room

Ad Landing Page

Newsletter

Free TrialSubscription

EcoLodge

Golf Instruction Course

Accounting Software Platform

3What is…?

“Um…”

Lifetime Customer ValueRoughly defined, LCV is the projected revenue that a customer will generate during their lifetime.

Investment Advisor

$1800 x 10 = $18,000

Customer Acquisition CostFor example, if a company spent $100 on marketing in a year and acquired 100 customers in the same year, their CAC is $1.00.

Investment Advisor

$10,000 on Marketing 10 Customers = $1,000

Conversion Rate (of Anything)

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

50

1,000

Report

50

Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 5%

1,000 Conversion Rate: 30%

“Croc” Brain (Reptilian)

Shiny Object

300

1,000

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

Lead Magnet

Social Emotional

Mid Brain (Limbic)

300 100

1,000

$7

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

$700 Sales

Killer Problem Solver

Lead Magnet

Planning, Concepts, Abstract Thought

Neocortex

300 100 30

1,000

$7 $3,000

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

$700 Sales $90,000 Sales

Core Product

Killer Problem Solver

Lead Magnet

300 100 30

1,000

$7 $2000

300 Mailing List

Conversion Rate: 30%

$700 Sales $60,000 Sales

300 100 30

1,000

$3.00 $450

300 Downloads

Conversion Rate: 30%

$300 Sales $13,500 Bookings

Weekend Offer

Insiders Guide Kindle

Apple Google Play

Guide

Context

BrainCalifornia

Hollywood

Ideas Your Clients Will

Love

bottle of scotch and $18 Billion

Logo

Client

Logo

Tim Client

Logo

PPT

Tim Client

Logo

PPT

“By the way…what is your

SALES PROCESS?

Tim Client

“Do you have a

Mailing List?

Tim Client

Tim Client

!

40,000 “Yes..I believe it’s

..or something like that.”

Tim Client

“How about doing an online course?”

“It’s not

40,000 it’s actually

400,000!”

Tim

• Newsletter • Free E-Book • MP3 Download - $ • Online Course - $$ • Live Seminar Training - $$$ • Personal Coaching - $$$$

Product Ladder

!

1,200,000!”

“It’s not

400,000 it’s actually

1,200,000 x $15,000

$18Billion

Tim

$$$$$$

20%!

“By the way…what is your

SALES PROCESS?

Question .

tim@timrobertson.ca

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